Thread: Deek

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar

Deek

Signed for Edinburgh City till end of season.

Hope he can still do it at that level.

Could've done a job at centre half.

Has played 33 games in the last 5 years and is now 34.
    Can he be bothered to get himself back up to speed.
    We shall see.

Left by mutual consent! IlDiavola's Avatar
    He should still be playing at a much higher level.

Deeks had talent in abundance.

@hibs.net private member AgentDaleCooper's Avatar
    could still do a job for us in this league

Quote Originally Posted by AgentDaleCooper View Post

Somebody to watch the corner flags?

Defo.

bring him home

They desperately need a goal sorer.Defensive record is very good.

Hope does very well for them and can get finish his career with a bit of a flourish.with the natural talent he had/has he deserves it.

@hibs.net private member green day's Avatar
    I love deek - anyone criticising him should maybe rewatch the Youtube stuff to see what WE actually mean to him.

That he may not have done enough in his later career is neither here nor there - he did well when he was here, is a dyed in the wool Hibby and despises the Jambos, thats enough for me.

Some right radges on here, honest tae god.

Hope he can still pull it off these days. I seem to remember when he was at Eaat Fife recently he managed to score a couple and do okay before leaving quickly again. Even today if he's on his game and at his best he could do the job for anyone.

Good luck Deeks!

You missed out 'anybody think he'

He's never given up trying to find a new club

So fair play to him

Do they still have Craig Beattie playing up front for them as well?

I know jumbo Jeffries (director of football at city) rated him in his top 3 best Scottish players in recent years, the only player the yams worried about when they played us, changed days now of course

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Onceinawhile View Post
    Could've done a job at centre half.
    Mon the Hibs.

Quote Originally Posted by green day View Post
    I love deek - anyone criticising him should maybe rewatch the Youtube stuff to see what WE actually mean to him.

That he may not have done enough in his later career is neither here nor there - he did well when he was here, is a dyed in the wool Hibby and despises the Jambos, thats enough for me.

While he played for hibs was a superb player.when on form was as good as forward as I've seen in over forty years. His goals against Hertz showcase his talent. Sad the way his career has petered out but no denying the joy he has given hibs fans.

Quote Originally Posted by green day View Post

👍one of our own. Goalscorer par excellence and a Hibby. Wish him well

Deek, one of my favourite ever Hibs players!

Delighted he's managed to get himself a club. One of my favourite hibs players growing up, an absolute joy to watch and gave me some fantastic memories.

All the best Deek

Good luck Deek, hope it works out for him. 👍

Wish him nothing but the best.

He made the odd mistake but on the park he had talent in abundance. Scored some of the best goals I've seen from a Hibs player and plenty of them. Hope he does well at City.

Its just frustrating he never did more with his career. What a talent, wasted at celtic under Strachan. He could have made it down in England at very least Championship level, probably even EPL in his day IMO. Also should have gone on to be a regular starter for Scotland.

He saw the money and the big move to celtic but in the end it ruined him. Youngers players these days in a similar position should take note. He's not the first and won't be the last young talent to be ruined by one of the OF sadly.

Met him a couple of times and he's genuinely a very nice guy who was really happy to take time out to get pictures and autographs. A bit like Griffiths in the sense that the papers love to print a bad story about him and make him out to be a wee ned and a troublemaker and sure, he's had his problems and done silly things but unlike some players he never came across as arrogant or a "billy big baws" type. Certainly not the times I've met him anyway, was very kind and happy to have a chat etc.
    Last edited by 21.05.2016; 27-02-2017 at 07:51 PM.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Bring him back as cover for Leigh

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Quote Originally Posted by 21.05.2016 View Post
    Met him a couple of times and he's genuinely a very nice guy who was really happy to take time out to get pictures and autographs. A bit like Griffiths in the sense that the papers love to print a bad story about him and make him out to be a wee ned and a troublemaker and sure, he's had his problems and done silly things but unlike some players he never came across as arrogant or a "billy big baws" type. Certainly not the times I've met him anyway, was very kind and happy to have a chat etc.
    Exactly my experience too. Came across as a really decent down to earth guy and I made sure to tell him what joy he'd given hibs fans over the years. Wish him all the best too. Won't ever forget those years watching the "golden generation"!

Quote Originally Posted by LithgaeHibby View Post
    Exactly my experience too. Came across as a really decent down to earth guy and I made sure to tell him what joy he'd given hibs fans over the years. Wish him all the best too. Won't ever forget those years watching the "golden generation"!
    100%. The "golden generation" were an absolute joy to watch. Fantastic football and on our day we could beat anyone in the country and did!

Some of the best football i've ever seen at ER.

@hibs.net private member staunchhibby's Avatar
    hope it works out for you Deek

Good way to end his career if he has a positive contribution in keeping Edin c a league club because they are in soapy bubble.