Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Tynecastle

Tynecastle

An absolute ****hole.

if your looking for an argument on here, you wont get one

I quite like the place

It's a disaster waiting to happen and has been for a long time, but health and safety doesn't even seem to register on Hearts fans' list of priorities. Perhaps because they spend most of their time at Easter Road.

Quote Originally Posted by 3pm View Post
    An absolute ****hole.
    That's deeply insulting to ****holes.

Embarrassing stadium

Even if it was a half decent stadium, the colour of it would still make me boak. Rotten **** colour stadium

Testimonial Due The Captain....'s Avatar
    It's a ****ing toilet...like stepping back into the 1970s. Pink monstrosity.

Quote Originally Posted by 3pm View Post
    An absolute ****hole.
    It's obviously improved since I was last there over twenty years ago.
    Mature, sensible signature required for responsible position. Good prospects for the right candidate. Apply within.

I enjoyed the "7-0 **** you's" graffiti in the toilet from our last visit where the 7 had been vigorously scrubbed out by a jambo with the key to his sisters chastity belt.

I know Hearts fans tend to be the runts of the Edinburgh litter but the seats aren't big enough for adults. Tiny by name Tiny by nature. It was a bit strange with the "main stand" being allowed to be occupied when shut. They surely could have had a few thousand extra Hibs fans in there.

First Team Regular Topographic Hibby's Avatar
    What was the redevelopment work that caused the main stand to be closed?

The super-glue holding the ramshackle tin-hut together wasn't quite dry yet?

First Team Regular EastCalderHibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Eyrie View Post
    It's obviously improved since I was last there over twenty years ago.
    you can thank the wee scrot black for his painting of the steps for that

@hibs.net private member hibee_girl's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by wookie70 View Post
    I know Hearts fans tend to be the runts of the Edinburgh litter but the seats aren't big enough for adults. Tiny by name Tiny by nature. It was a bit strange with the "main stand" being allowed to be occupied when shut. They surely could have had a few thousand extra Hibs fans in there.
    Their turnstiles are also tiny!

Last time I was there I thought that about the seats as well, they certainly seem to be about an inch at least narrower than the ones at Easter Road, it didn't feel all that comfy and I'm not a big guy .... I wonder what the capacity would be if they put proper adult sized seats in, probably about 15,000

First Team Regular EastCalderHibby's Avatar
    Strange thing is everything is tiny except the (BIG ) team

Only one exit out of the Wheatfield? Slum.

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    Last time I was there I thought that about the seats as well, they certainly seem to be about an inch at least narrower than the ones at Easter Road, it didn't feel all that comfy and I'm not a big guy .... I wonder what the capacity would be if they put proper adult sized seats in, probably about 15,000
    People were smaller 50 years ago.

Quote Originally Posted by hibee_girl View Post
    Their turnstiles are also tiny!
    I'm slimmer than Kate Moss and even I had to breath in to get through the turnstiles. I was speaking to a fellow Hibby at half time who said that he had a Jambo mate who had to lose weight as he once got wedged in at the turnstiles.

The upside was the hot water in the gents toilet. That took me by surprise.
    Last edited by iwasthere1972; 21-01-2017 at 11:10 PM.

Total dump.

Quote Originally Posted by 21.05.2016 View Post
    Embarrassing stadium

Even if it was a half decent stadium, the colour of it would still make me boak. Rotten **** colour stadium
    Like most Hibees I can't stand 'Maroon' but accept that it's their colours so fair enough - but you'd think if they were so proud of it, they'd at least buy a better quality of paint that would at least stay true to it's colour and not start to fade after one or two showers ! I think the PBS has only ever been genuinely 'Maroon' once, just after the last stands(s) were built. Ever since then, it's been pink, which admittedly is a lighter shade of Maroon.

Maybe that's how you become a 'Big team' - all the money spent on players rather than bills, charities, taxes etc ??

Don't know if it's as bad as we make out with our green tinted specks on ... it's certainly not perfect but it at least has a good atmosphere

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    I wasn't even there today but can confirm that it's a *****hole. It's not one new stand they need, it's a whole stadium.

Quote Originally Posted by dp00 View Post
    Don't know if it's as bad as we make out with our green tinted specks on ... it's certainly not perfect but it at least has a good atmosphere

Only when Hibs are there!

The ground is unarguably inferior to Easter Road, in every respect. No green tinted specks needed to notice that.

Testimonial Due Booked4Being-Ugly's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by dp00 View Post

Well it is, it's a total dump.

It's an absolute hovel. It looks really **** from the outside and when you enter sideways through the 1950s turnstiles you immediately enter the 1940s facilities. Everything about the stadium and the general feeling around that place is cheap. I didn't quite understand the mothe/sister/daughter toilets that had urinals and a selection of soft porn.

United we stand here....

Quote Originally Posted by EastCalderHibby View Post
    Strange thing is everything is tiny except the (BIG ) team
    Seats are smaller to allow more of the 400,00 support in.

Quote Originally Posted by calumhibee1 View Post
    I wasn't even there today but can confirm that it's a *****hole. It's not one new stand they need, it's a whole stadium.
    And that is the real problem. They don't have the money (not a concern for the famous) or the space (unlike money, you can't magic that out of thin air) to really do what is required so anything they do will be half-ar#ed compromise.

@hibs.net private member GreenLake's Avatar
    Utter crap shack. If Scotland became a third world fascist dictatorship then Tynecastle would probably be where they would carry out mass executions.

The toilets are a shambles!! No entry or exit signs!!
    Caused one guy no end of distress, screaming at people coming in
    the opposite door from him. I'll put it down to the stress of having to
    spend a few hrs in Mordor, albeit a few very happy ones for most of us.

Everything about it screams "all expenses spared". As we entered the Wheatfield I was explaining to my son while we call the stadium "the pink bus shelter". It really is an affront to bus shelters. My favourite part was the cheap planks of wood used to narrow the turnstile entrances to pygmy size.