Quote Originally Posted by 70KevinHFC62 View Post
    Official now
    Until 15th Jan

Quote Originally Posted by California-Hibs View Post
    Anyone else share my views? Honestly over the moon with this. It's the rumour I've followed the closest and hoped for the most.

Superb signing for Hibs. A guy who has bags of English Premier League experience, Titles won at Celtic and mega Champions Leagues experience and goals at that level too! Not to mention his games to goals ratio (which for a midfielder is incredible and he's got to have one of the most impressive ratios in the whole of the UK).

Even though he won't quite be at those heights anymore of course, at 33 he'll still have enough in the tank to offer, and in the Scottish Championship he'll shine!

Not too often we sign a player who's played at Champions League standard and not even that long ago either. Major credit to everyone who's been involved in this deal. From the Lennon factor to Dempster.

Delighted Hibee here!
    He only played in the english lower divisions but other than that, I agree.

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    Until 15th Jan
    No inside info but think this will be extended. Could there be a rule somewhere that if the emergency loan went beyond the end of January window it could not be extended during the initial loan period

Best of luck Kris you gave us some great memories, hope he makes the deal permanent and batters the goals in which I'm sure he will.

Fancy taking Henderson and GMS in January too?

Was a great player in his day, no games in how long?

Will wait and see before making any judgement on him, if he can play anywhere near what the smellies got then we will have a player on our hands.

That 15 top should get him off to a good start.

I was'nt keen on signing hIm because I didn't think the expense could be justified, I also thought he was to old but this will give us an opportunity to see just what he contributes before making a decision on the rest of the season. On that basis, good luck Kris !

@hibs.net private member Oscar T Grouch's Avatar
    Welcome tae the Hibees Kris.

Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former.

Fantastic signing if, and only if, he actually does the business for us.
    I expect him to be ring-rusty if he plays at Morton, but would be over-the-moon if he makes an immediate impact and helps us to beat a stuffy and difficult opponent.
    Oh yes, welcome Kris !

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    I'm always hopeful when we sign a player. Clearly Lennon feels he can come in and make an impact, here's to Kris Commons, hope it's a productive few weeks.

Hibs biggest signing in years was, and still is, John McGinn.

That said, I hope Kris Commons can make a real difference and make a telling and immediate impact straight away at ER. We'll have a better idea after he's played a few games.

I don't doubt his ability. It's his level of match fitness which slightly concerns me. Match fitness is not the same as just simply being fit.

Biggest signing in years

Simmer, it's a month long loan.

First Team Breakthrough hibeequinn's Avatar

Gamertag: Quinaldo 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by MichaelTheCelt View Post
    Best of luck Kris you gave us some great memories, hope he makes the deal permanent and batters the goals in which I'm sure he will.

In a heartbeat

Quote Originally Posted by sunshineonleith View Post
    biggest signing in years

yam

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    Quote Originally Posted by Franck Stanton View Post
    Agree with the OP , go as far as to say this is a signing on a par with Sauzee coming to us.
    Absolutely NOT.

Quote Originally Posted by SunshineOnLeith View Post
    Biggest signing in years

An awful lot of fuss about a short-term loan - more like he's using Hibs as the shop-window with a view to him moving on elsewhere in January.

I wouldn't exactly call a one month signing the "biggest signing in years".

Maybe if it works out well and we then sign him long term

First Team Breakthrough esjorto's Avatar
    Welcome Kris. Now do the business!

Gamertag: Iainhfc PSN ID: Iainhfc
    Great bit of business . Hopefully extended after 28 days

On paper a very good signing ..... but I have some reservations, When did he last kick a ball in anger? the point being if he has signed to plug the gaps being left by the absence of McGinn, Fyvie and McGeough is he going to be fit enough to last 90 minutes?

The one thing I do like about him is that he has a decent long range shot and can score goals from distance, something we usually lack from midfield.

Quote Originally Posted by Franck Stanton View Post
    Agree with the OP , go as far as to say this is a signing on a par with Sauzee coming to us.
    I very much doubt I will ever see a player of the calibre of Le God pull on the green and white jersey of Hibernian Football club.

I will give you Commons is a quality signing but to say he is in a par with Le God is way off the mark IMHO!

@hibs.net private member Heisenberg's Avatar
    Needs to lose some weight in my opinion...
    Attached Images Attached Images

@hibs.net private member ian cruise's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Heisenberg View Post
    Almost had a whoosh moment there, thank God for smilies

Aye fat as **** like eh 🙄

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    On paper a very good signing ..... but I have some reservations, When did he last kick a ball in anger? the point being if he has signed to plug the gaps being left by the absence of McGinn, Fyvie and McGeough is he going to be fit enough to last 90 minutes?

The one thing I do like about him is that he has a decent long range shot and can score goals from distance, something we usually lack from midfield.
    Reasonable to question his fitness, focus etc. If there was no question, you'd expect bigger clubs than Hibs to be in for him on a Jan loan or permanent deal. Going by similar types of loan deals, we should expect he'll take a few games to get up to speed - even in the Championship.

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    Given where the shot was taken and the smile on his face, maybe he's just done that.

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    Quote Originally Posted by Aldo View Post
    I very much doubt I will ever see a player of the calibre of Le God pull on the green and white jersey of Hibernian Football club.

I will give you Commons is a quality signing but to say he is in a par with Le God is way off the mark IMHO!

Absolutely. No comparison. Way OTT.

As far as I know, Commons hasn't kicked a ball in anger this season, so I would expect him to be well short of match-sharpness and fitness.

I hope I'm wrong, but I'm not holding my breath here.

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by MichaelTheCelt View Post

Throw in Sparky and we'll think about it.

Quote Originally Posted by Doddie View Post
    Absolutely. No comparison. Way OTT.

As far as I know, Commons hasn't kicked a ball in anger this season, so I would expect him to be well short of match-sharpness and fitness.

I hope I'm wrong, but I'm not holding my breath here.
    I that no this will be an inspired signing Doddie. Hopefully his quality in the final 3rd will provide the strikers with more chances.

Will get the benefit of the doubt from me.

I do however get that he has not played since April but hopefully by the time he has done his stint on the pitch the game will have already been won!