Fascinating old footage from the 60's

Of the whole football and matchday experience, and pretty high quality too.

https://youtu.be/z8W0mnX2TNQ

Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post

Cannae open the link

The narration is atrocious, but at least we get to see Dyson fixing a hoover.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar

Brilliant footage. I love stuff like this, it just goes to show that even though fashions, the way we speak, technological advancements and politics all change, people don't.

Link through quote gave me access.

Commentary by presenter of TV's top "news" magazine type programme, called "Tonight" which aired on the BBC...Cliff Michelmore.

The Bill Brown in the programme was Scotland's goalie at the time, and joined Spurs I think from Dundee.

Gawd..I'm getting old......

Scary thought. When I was a kid in the 70s this was like looking at old newsreels from the 1930s 😳

Enjoyed that. Before my time but I love all that stuff, nostalgic for a time I never knew.

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    Enjoyable look back to when the track suit trouser was only seen on the footballer. Liked the footage of the guys retrieving their unchained bikes left leaning against the wall outside - different days alright. Unless of course they were really half-inching them!

Loved this. Especially the closing remarks from the ex manager

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=dKK9gfQBhWw

Ah, those were the days. Walk to the match and keep the bus fare for a programme. A shout of "Mister gona gie me a lift over ?" got you into the game for free. Collect the empties near the end and take them back to the shop. Get a pie supper with the money. Talk to your pals about the game when back at school on Monday. Get the belt for talking in class. 45 years on I still love our club.

Great stuff lyon. Thanks.

@hibs.net private member Mr White's Avatar
    Really enjoyed that, cheers for posting it.

Quote Originally Posted by Tory Hibby View Post
    Scary thought. When I was a kid in the 70s this was like looking at old newsreels from the 1930s 😳
    I listened to Satisfaction by the Rolling Stones on the car radio this morning. It was released in 1965 - over 50 years ago.

Using your example, it'd be like listening to a song from the 20s.

Shirts, ties, raincoats, caps etc. Going to football was an event so people took more of a pride in their appearance. I suppose it's the influence of the military still around then.

loved the bit at 4.38 with the guy brushing his eye brows

The guy wearing his crash helmet in the crowd. Brilliant.

Quote Originally Posted by Carheenlea View Post
    Enjoyable look back to when the track suit trouser was only seen on the footballer. Liked the footage of the guys retrieving their unchained bikes left leaning against the wall outside - different days alright. Unless of course they were really half-inching them!
    If you look again, there's a guy giving money to one of the boys. Watch yer bike, mister?

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    Shirts, ties, raincoats, caps etc. Going to football was an event so people took more of a pride in their appearance. I suppose it's the influence of the military still around then.
    I remember well lots of the blokes used to go to the match wearing a suit, shirt and tie.

Hibs scarf then stuffed in our jacket pockets if going straight out on the Saturday night after the match. Essential when pubs shut at 10pm. Hard to believe now with practically round the clock drinking available.

Who's the team Spurs are playing? Bradford City?

I like the wee boys taking the mick out of the band!

Who's the team Spurs are playing? Bradford City?

I like the wee boys taking the mick out of the band!
    I gather it's Man City and it's April 1960.

Great footage. The one thing that stuck out for me was the state of the pitch. That would be deemed "unplayable" by most of the big softies that play nowadays.

Great footage, I notice they were planning and training on throw in routines in the 60s. That must have stopped by the time I started watching Hibs in the 70s

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Forza Fred View Post
    Commentary by presenter of TV's top "news" magazine type programme, called "Tonight" which aired on the BBC...Cliff Michelmore.
    Pretty shocking that he couldn't pronounce Mackay properly!

Or much more likely to be people going straight from work.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by wookie70 View Post
    Great footage, I notice they were planning and training on throw in routines in the 60s. That must have stopped by the time I started watching Hibs in the 70s
    Hibs had one of the greatest throwers of a ball that you're ever likely to see in the 70's.

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    If you look again, there's a guy giving money to one of the boys. Watch yer bike, mister?

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk
    Good spot Maybe romanticising things too much by thinking you could just leave unattended bikes outside for a couple of hours!

Quote Originally Posted by ancient hibee View Post
    Or much more likely to be people going straight from work.

People just didn't have as many clothes, and 1960 was a still pretty conservative society. So you wore the clothes you had.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    Hibs had one of the greatest throwers of a ball that you're ever likely to see in the 70's.
    Was that Shades. It was the very late 70s I started watching and he came back for a second spell. I can't recall throw in routines at any point.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by wookie70 View Post
    Was that Shades. It was the very late 70s I started watching and he came back for a second spell. I can't recall throw in routines at any point.
    Throw it to the far post for Alan Gordon to nod in.

Quote Originally Posted by jacomo View Post

People just didn't have as many clothes, and 1960 was a still pretty conservative society. So you wore the clothes you had.
    That's a good point. Not that the fans on view looked exactly impoverished. I think it was more that clothing styles were less varied. No jogging trousers and hoodies for a start! The concept of "leisure wear" was yet to come.