Missed Game - biggest regret ?

What his the one Hibs game you missed that you regret the most ?

For me, it was the 72 League Cup Final. To my shame, I chose not to go as I'd just been subjected to the 6-1 loss to Celtic in the SCF, I didn't give Hibs a hope.

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    There a couple of historic ones I've missed through the years however, the only one I've regretted missing by choice was the Athens game.

I've missed a few big games and NOT regretted it - the 1993 League cup final for one. I've actually missed both the games at ER when we've been relegated so in spite of going to 95% plus games home and away for the past 20 years I've not seen us relegated. I've not missed many home games at all but I missed both of those.

I came a bawhair away from missing a certain game in May. A late change of heart (after taking serious strop following the Falkirk debacle) and some good fortune at Cardiff airport (I had no photographic ID and had to get a flight on the Saturday morning) saw me make it back.

Quote Originally Posted by Onion View Post
    What his the one Hibs game you missed that you regret the most ?

For me, it was the 72 League Cup Final. To my shame, I chose not to go as I'd just been subjected to the 6-1 loss to Celtic in the SCF, I didn't give Hibs a hope.
    snap

Some games I missed that I regret

Hibernian 6-2 Hearts
    Hibernian 4-0 Rangers
    Rangers 0-3 Hibernian (Ivan Hat trick)
    Rangers 0-3 Hibernian (Miller, Rankin Dickoh)
    Hearts 0-1 Hibernian (Riordan pen)
    Hearts 0-3 Hibernian
    Celtic 1-3 Hibernian

Some games I didn't miss

Ross County 1-0 Hibernian x2
    Inverness 3-0 Hibernian x4 (yes four)
    Ayr 1-0 Hibernian x2
    Kilmarnock 6-2 Hibernian
    Livingston 4-1 Hibernian
    St Johnstone 5-1 Hibernian

Quote Originally Posted by My_Wife_Camille View Post
    Some games I missed that I regret

Hibernian 6-2 Hearts
    Hibernian 4-0 Rangers
    Rangers 0-3 Hibernian (Ivan Hat trick)
    Rangers 0-3 Hibernian (Miller, Rankin Dickoh)
    Hearts 0-1 Hibernian (Riordan pen)
    Hearts 0-3 Hibernian
    Celtic 1-3 Hibernian

Some games I didn't miss

Ross County 1-0 Hibernian x2
    Inverness 3-0 Hibernian x4 (yes four)
    Ayr 1-0 Hibernian x2
    Kilmarnock 6-2 Hibernian
    Livingston 4-1 Hibernian
    St Johnstone 5-1 Hibernian

Pleased to be able to say I saw all the games you missed. And regrettably all the ones you attend that you wish you had not....I was also at these and many more painful day/nights!!

It's the poor people who decided not to go on 21 May 2016 (and I know a few) that I feel sorry for. All the pain of previous years were washed away for that drunken weekend of celebration. if your a football fans its all about highs and lows. And we all know that being a Hibs fan it's a roller coaster ride.
    Last edited by 0762; 17-11-2016 at 12:43 AM.

Regret missing millennium Derby. Got married that day in Portsmouth. Swear to god I wish I'd missed the wedding and went to the game. However did leave reception and meal and went to pub next door and watched it with the wife and about 50-60 guests.

I didn't go to the 4-4 league cup game v Celtic when we put them out on penalties (I was at Powderhall for Edinburgh Monarchs v Sheffield Tigers).

@hibs.net private member Allant1981's Avatar
    I missed the league cup final in 07, had to decide on a weekend away which had been booked for ages or the game and decided to go away for the weekend so we didnt lose money, got to see the game though

reigning hibs.net poker champion Wembley67's Avatar

Gamertag: Happyhibs62
    The final!
    "You opened the box....and your soul belongs to me...."

The final couldn't make it and I'm still gutted

@hibs.net private member Speedy's Avatar
    Killie cup final. Felt like a bogey at the time and didn't even watch the game.

First Team Breakthrough muzzando's Avatar
    Couldn't make the final. Most recent one apart from that would have to be the 4-0 against rangers

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    100% the game at tynecastle last season. There had been an issue with my loyalty points and I was 1 point short so couldn't get a ticket.

The SC Final. Had dropped the thick end of £500 to come over for the LC Final (which was in itself a massive, MASSIVE scunner), was paying off my wedding etc.

It wasn't happening, but I'll forever regret not just going "**** it".

Still, I won't be making that mistake EVER again.

6-2 game. My mum booked us a holiday to turkey 🙄 had to watch it on teletext..

First Team Breakthrough VivaHiberña's Avatar
    4-0 away vs Killie. I would have done one or the other, but travelling to and watching the game on my own from Aberdeen seemed like too long a day. Kicking myself at FT.

@hibs.net private member California-Hibs's Avatar

PSN ID: BringTheCairds
    Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post
    The SC Final. Had dropped the thick end of £500 to come over for the LC Final (which was in itself a massive, MASSIVE scunner), was paying off my wedding etc.

It wasn't happening, but I'll forever regret not just going "**** it".

Still, I won't be making that mistake EVER again.
    Almost exactly my situation too. Came over for the League Cup Final after begging the wife. We were in the middle of house hunting and almost closing at the start of May and there was no chance with all the cash that that was taking, especially after laying down a whack for a flight home for March's final. But just why oh why oh why did I not just say - to hell with it!

The wife will sometimes say when I'm talking about it, or watching videos related to it, like this past week, watching the DVD she'll say - I'm so sorry honey, obviously we weren't to know just what was going to happen but I really wish we had decided to just let you go for it and head over. I see how much it means to you.

Each time I smile and say something along the lines of - 'it's ok, the timing was bad and there was just no way to know what would happen' .......although on the inside it's more of a me going ballistic and screaming (TOO BLOODY EFIN RIGHT I SHOULD OF JUST WENT!!!!! 😡)

I was at all the 22 in a row games. Missed the game Hunter scored to win!

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    Missed the 6-2 game.
    We had just had our first bairn and I think he was unwell so I didn't go.
    My hearts supporting mate was a steward in the FF upper though
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

The semi final vs Dundee United (pens)

Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    I was at all the 22 in a row games. Missed the game Hunter scored to win!
    Yea missed that and 6-2 and Athens (ER*) due to a combination of working in London and not having any holidays left. I also missed the CIS cup as my boy was not long born (missed the League Cup Final vs Ross Country) didn't regret those finals as it was my kids birth/birthday party it was a surreal experience tho'.

* my wife doesn't really follow the football but she said the noise from ER that night was incredible - and that was from London road! (used to live not too far from the now Safari Lounge).
    "We know the people who have invested so far are simple fans." Vladimir Romanov - Scotsman 10th December 2012
    "Romanov was like a breath of fresh air - laced with cyanide." Me.

@hibs.net private member Frazerbob's Avatar
    Liege away - I was still at school so couldn't go with my pals who were all a couple of years older. I still get stick for missing a great trip.

Trinidad & Tobago tour - my biggest regret is being skint at the time so couldn't go. Some of the stories are brilliant and it's definitely a never to be repeated experience.

@hibs.net private member Stevie Reid's Avatar
    I missed the 2-0 'unbeatable' derby in 2005. Was a sair yin.

The Hearts replay on the way to winning the cup. Was in Disney Paris at the time

Missed the 6-2 game as loaded with flu. Hardly able to lift a head off the pillow as we scored but still regret not making the effort. The only home game I had missed for about 5 years

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    2007 League Cup Final. Not an ST holder at the time and missed out in the public sale.

Quote Originally Posted by BoomtownHibeys View Post
    The Hearts replay on the way to winning the cup. Was in Disney Paris at the time
    The jambos were in Disney qualify at the time

United we stand here....

@hibs.net private member hibee_girl's Avatar
    I missed the Hamilton play offs as we were on holiday, in a weird way it felt worse not being there.

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar
    Without a doubt it was the Final in May. Was at my wife's best friends wedding. Hadn't missed a Scottish Cup Final up to that point, and the one I miss was the one that no Hibee should have missed. It was finally the payback for years of *****.

TBH it was on the back of the LC Final and the Falkirk playoffs, I was pretty scunnered by then.

Also leaving at half time for the 4-3 semi v Falkirk. Again, it was time for a bit of redemption from the 5-1 the season before v them and we were 3-0 down at half time.

I clearly wasn't the only one who felt kicked in the baws.