T2 Trainspotting

The new trailer came out a few days ago. Looks good. Couple of Hibs references in the trailer - a hibs scarf in Sick Boy's pub at 0.07 and Sick Boy wearing a green strip which I assume is a reference to hibs.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EsozpEE543w

@hibs.net private member mutley's Avatar

PSN ID: mutley074
    It does look good, hope they keep to the same style as the original

First Team Breakthrough NZ Green's Avatar
    Looks pretty good, cant wait for it. I don't think it will be as good as the original as it was exactly that, original. I think it will be similar to the first one but just a 2016 version, so it wont be quite as surprising.

If there's no Scottish Cup reference I'll be disappointed.

PSN ID: hibee-87
    Quote Originally Posted by SteveHFC View Post
    If there's no Scottish Cup reference I'll be disappointed.
    I was talking about this the other day, not sure if filming finished before or after the 21st

@hibs.net private member Mr White's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibee87 View Post
    I was talking about this the other day, not sure if filming finished before or after the 21st
    It was still going in July.

There will be plenty of hibs references. Hopefully they snuck a wee Scottish cup poster in somewhere.

Outside the super-rich TV deal and corporate sponsored clubs, Hibs must be one of the most famous local clubs in the world, on a cool-exposure-to-trophies ratio. Maybe St Pauli.

So hip it hurts. So Hib it hurts.

First Team Regular ruthven_raiders's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by St David Gray View Post
    There will be plenty of hibs references. Hopefully they snuck a wee Scottish cup poster in somewhere.
    If they were still filming you would hope they might ha e filmed some of the scenes on Sunday and incorporated a few seconds into movie 😊

Depends when the film is based. They say 20 years after Trainspotting which is around 1990 or so which would make it avout 2010. Maybe we'll see a Matt Thornhill strip... ;)

Quote Originally Posted by KWJ View Post
    Depends when the film is based. They say 20 years after Trainspotting which is around 1990 or so which would make it avout 2010. Maybe we'll see a Matt Thornhill strip... ;)

I was hoping they meant 20 years after the movie which would be 1996 so 2016 would fit in well for the final

Wasn't the original set in the early 80s?

If so, 20 years later would see us losing the LC Final to Livingston....

Gamertag: Supergogs
    Quote Originally Posted by Keekaboo View Post
    Wasn't the original set in the early 80s?
    :
    Only if the rave/acid house scene starred 10 years earlier than it actually did.

It's set in the late 80s.

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by mutley View Post
    It does look good, hope they keep to the same style as the original

No input from Irvine Welsh, with some other guy scripting it. I am sceptical, but hope it works out fine.can't help yhinking this factor alone will diminish the Hibees content.

Quote Originally Posted by superfurryhibby View Post
    No input from Irvine Welsh, with some other guy scripting it. I am sceptical, but hope it works out fine.can't help yhinking this factor alone will diminish the Hibees content.
    No input from Irvine

Someone's been winding you up

Irvine has been an executive on the project, however you're right in saying the story has nothing to do with Porno as Danny's boyle apparently didn't like it as a film adaption.

If it is set around 2010 I hope to see one of them say they have a bet on the cabbage for the big cup in 2016!!!

It'd be great if the cup win was somewhat involved, but like others I'm confused with the timeline. They were definitely filming at the end of July. I came back my holidays and was working at Greendykes House in Niddrie, whilst they were filming. Said building is in the trailer.

That "some other guy" would be John Hodge who wrote the original screenplay 20 years ago 😂

Trailer shows Renton on the trams. Definitely set in today's world. A wee Easter egg reference to the cup is all I ask for!

"smother the pain with an unknown dose, of an unknown drug made in somebody's kitchen"

Genuinely laughed out loud at that :)

Subplot of begbie getting jailed for sticking the nut on Lee wallace on the pitch at hampden.

Quote Originally Posted by St David Gray View Post
    Subplot of begbie getting jailed for sticking the nut on Lee wallace on the pitch at hampden.
    Franco does hate a grass right enough

Quote Originally Posted by SeanWilson View Post
    Irvine has been an executive on the project, however you're right in saying the story has nothing to do with Porno as Danny's boyle apparently didn't like it as a film adaption.
    Read that it's very loosely based on Porno.

Do hope we get someone playing Juice Terry, killing it and leading to a few Juice Terry films like A Decent Ride and maybe even Glue although I've nae idea how they'd make that into a film.

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by joe breezy View Post
    No input from Irvine

Someone's been winding you up
    Aye your right enough.

" they've given me a load of money and said I can be executive producer, but that could mean anything or nothing. I don't really know if that means get over here and do some work or keep the **** out of the way"

Sounds like Irvine role is key here then right enough.

Coaching Staff The Green Goblin's Avatar
    Aye your right enough.

" they've given me a load of money and said I can be executive producer, but that could mean anything or nothing. I don't really know if that means get over here and do some work or keep the **** out of the way"

He has already been doing promotional interviews with the cast. That suggests he had some involvement.

Quote Originally Posted by KWJ View Post
    Read that it's very loosely based on Porno.

Do hope we get someone playing Juice Terry, killing it and leading to a few Juice Terry films like A Decent Ride and maybe even Glue although I've nae idea how they'd make that into a film.
    I've always thought Glue would make a really good film if done properly. Probably only behind Trainspotting in my favourite Welsh books.

A Decent Ride I wasn't a fan of. More could have been done with the Juice Terry character imo.

Quote Originally Posted by NZ Green View Post
    Looks pretty good, cant wait for it. I don't think it will be as good as the original as it was exactly that, original. I think it will be similar to the first one but just a 2016 version, so it wont be quite as surprising.
    The original was good but not as good as the book. This might be a better movie.

Aye your right enough.

Don't believe everything you read