Disappointed today

I expect at least one blast of 'Warburton's a fanny' every game.

Nothing today. We must all do better.

Quote Originally Posted by 3pm View Post

I was at a smoker last night. John Rowbotham was a speaker. He said hands up Celtic supporters in room only 1. Said same for Rangers there was a few. Same for Hertz there was a few. Then when he said any Hibs fans in tonight my torrets kicked in and I blasted oot in a room of 100 folk I didnae ken, Warburtons A Fanny. Place was in stitches. I'm with you on that one. But I think you will find it sung mostly at away days. The rendition at Dunfermline last week was great.
    Last edited by Itsnoteasy; 29-10-2016 at 06:50 PM.

Brondby non attendee 😄

Maybe everyone was too busy singing songs about Hibs,eh? Shame on them.

Quote Originally Posted by khib70 View Post

Quote Originally Posted by gorgiegreens View Post
    I was at a smoker last night. John Rowbotham was a speaker. He said hands up Celtic supporters in room only 1. Said same for Rangers there was a few. Same for Hertz there was a few. Then when he said any Hibs fans in tonight my torrets kicked in and I blasted oot in a room of 100 folk I didnae ken, Warburtons A Fanny. Place was in stitches. I'm with you on that one. But I think you will find it sung mostly at away days. The rendition at Dunfermline last week was great.
    Lol. Good on you mate. I wish I'd been there.

I think the Warburton song is & should stay a Hibs song forever more.
    Many moons ago we used to sing YNWA. What did that have to do with Hibs.

rowbotham...big Fife hun... Fact!

@hibs.net private member GreenLake's Avatar
    I hope someone video'd it.

I've never understood why we would sing about a team in a higher division than we are when we're not playing them.

Quote Originally Posted by Loopz View Post
    I've never understood why we would sing about a team in a higher division than we are when we're not playing them.
    The song is about an individual. So your saying we cannae sing aboot Hertz either this year.

Quote Originally Posted by vuefrom1875 View Post
    rowbotham...big Fife hun... Fact!
    Said he was a RR fan

Aye, Ra Rangers 😉
    This is how it feels

Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post
    Aye, Ra Rangers 😉

Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post
    Aye, Ra Rangers 😉

@hibs.net private member Libby Hibby's Avatar
    Is the Warburton song not a Hibs song?

Quote Originally Posted by Libby Hibby View Post
    Is the Warburton song not a Hibs song?
    I would say yes

He's a fanny.

The song is about an individual. So your saying we cannae sing aboot Hertz either this year.
    It will be OK when we play them in the SC final.

First Team Regular Highland_Hibee's Avatar

Gamertag: Amusing Munch PSN ID: Amusing_Munch
    How can anyone say the Warburton song is not a Hibs song? Is that the same as 1902 not being a Hertz song? It's about an individual who represented an establishment that deemed themselves superior to all and would never succumb to the likes of us. We then went on to very much show them otherwise.

Quote Originally Posted by Highland_Hibee View Post
    How can anyone say the Warburton song is not a Hibs song? Is that the same as 1902 not being a Hertz song? It's about an individual who represented an establishment that deemed themselves superior to all and would never succumb to the likes of us. We then went on to very much show them otherwise.

It's not a Hibs song, it's an anti-The Rangers song. Yeah, it was a laugh for a wee while but now I just cringe every time I hear it.

The cup final was the greatest day I've had as a Hibs supporter and I'd prefer to sing about Hibs rather than the manager of the runners up.

First Team Breakthrough H113EE5's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by SuperAllyMcleod View Post
    It's not a Hibs song, it's an anti-The Rangers song. Yeah, it was a laugh for a wee while but now I just cringe every time I hear it.

The cup final was the greatest day I've had as a Hibs supporter and I'd prefer to sing about Hibs rather than the manager of the runners up.
    Why are we singing about a manager and team not even in our league, in all senses. It is embarrassing

The Warburton song isn't really just about him or Rangers though is it? A pretty major part of the song is about Hibs winning the Scottish Cup.

Agree absolutely nothing embarrassing about it. Sums up the day very well.

Yeah it didn't get a rendition at the game but I am pleased to report the whole dancefloor were singing it in a nightclub I was in later that night.

I didn't find it embarrassing - and apparently neither did the one gentleman who replied by singing a chorus of 'the sash' in response

Testimonial Due NadeAteMyLunch!'s Avatar
    Haha how can folk say it's not a Hibs song? It's a song about the day we won the Scottish cup. The greatest day in the history of our club. Just because it mentions the manager of our opponents that we beat doesn't mean it's not relevant to us.
    We've had literally dozens of songs over the years about Hearts players, managers and chairmans that mention Hibs far less than the Warburton song.

@hibs.net private member WhileTheChief..'s Avatar
    I see the Still Game clip in my head every time I hear the song. Guaranteed to bring a smile to the face.

Quote Originally Posted by NadeAteMyLunch! View Post
    Haha how can folk say it's not a Hibs song? It's a song about the day we won the Scottish cup. The greatest day in the history of our club. Just because it mentions the manager of our opponents that we beat doesn't mean it's not relevant to us.
    We've had literally dozens of songs over the years about Hearts players, managers and chairmans that mention Hibs far less than the Warburton song.
    Was just thinking that ma self. Cheer up JJ
    Cheer up CL. Cheer up GR. Cheer up RN. Oh what can it mean to a sad Jambo ******** & a s***e fitbaw team. Been sung every year we play them & no mention of hibs,hibees or hibernian in the song

Testimonial Due NadeAteMyLunch!'s Avatar
    Was just thinking that ma self. Cheer up JJ
    Cheer up CL. Cheer up GR. Cheer up RN. Oh what can it mean to a sad Jambo ******** & a s***e fitbaw team. Been sung every year we play them & no mention of hibs,hibees or hibernian in the song
    Spot on. Far less relevance to Hibs than the Warburton song. Same for songs about Romanov, Mercer, Skacel, Craig Thomson, Fulton being ugly or Jamie Walkers sisters pants.

Quote Originally Posted by NadeAteMyLunch! View Post
    Spot on. Far less relevance to Hibs than the Warburton song. Same for songs about Romanov, Mercer, Skacel, Craig Thomson, Fulton being ugly or Jamie Walkers sisters pants.
    Yeah, but these songs only get sung when we play the Jambos. The Warburton song is sung whoever we play.

Each to their own though, if people want to sing it they will, if not, it will die away like so many songs before it.

We hate Glasgow Rangers we hate Celtic too is that regarded as an acceptable song by the X factor judges of Hibs songs? Come on tae ****, the Warbarton song is a Hibs classic. It commemorates that great day and should be sung loud and proud every week. It went down a storm a Lewis "both cup winners medals" Stevenson testimonial dinner