@hibs.net private member Heisenberg's Avatar

John Park leaves Celtc

http://www.celticfc.net/news/11447

Would Hibs try and bring him back? Was he the man behind the golden generation?
    Last edited by Heisenberg; 14-10-2016 at 03:19 PM.

@hibs.net private member Jack Hackett's Avatar
    Where's the 'fingers crossed' smiley when you need it? He's worked with Lennon, so there must be a chance. :fingerscrossedsmiley:

@hibs.net private member California-Hibs's Avatar

PSN ID: BringTheCairds
    Quote Originally Posted by Heisenberg View Post

Yep, I believe he was!

I hope Hibs at least give him a call.
    Space to let

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Heisenberg View Post

Donald Park

Quote Originally Posted by silverhibee View Post
    Donald Park
    Wrong Park bud

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Donald_Park

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/foot...ic/6291133.stm
    Last edited by Jack Hackett; 14-10-2016 at 05:21 PM.

Hopefully both he and Donald Park fancy the gig Brian McLair just chucked with the SFA. We're fine with George Craig.

Quote Originally Posted by zlatan View Post
    Hopefully both he and Donald Park fancy the gig Brian McLair just chucked with the SFA. We're fine with George Craig.
    From the BBC article linked above

"Garry O'Connor, Kenny Miller, Kevin Thomson, Derek Riordan and Scott Brown have all emerged from Easter Road while Park was youth academy director."

George Craig has been with us for 2 years now and I'm at a loss to think of anyone even close to the players named above currently at Hibs

Edit

...Steven Fletcher doesn't get mentioned in that article, but he was one of Parks boys as well. The Hibs academy was rightly lauded 10 years ago, unlike now when you'd struggle to find any mention of it anywhere
    Last edited by Jack Hackett; 14-10-2016 at 05:37 PM.

George Craig role is Director of Football not Academy manager or Chief Scout. So it's not his job to develop players

If John Park is available he's a far better option than George Craig

Quote Originally Posted by Jack Hackett View Post

"Garry O'Connor, Kenny Miller, Kevin Thomson, Derek Riordan and Scott Brown have all emerged from Easter Road while Park was youth academy director."

George Craig has been with us for 2 years now and I'm at a loss to think of anyone even close to the players named above currently at Hibs

Edit

...Steven Fletcher doesn't get mentioned in that article, but he was one of Parks boys as well. The Hibs academy was rightly lauded 10 years ago, unlike now when you'd struggle to find any mention of it anywhere
    Whittaker? Arguably the one has played at the highest level for the longest period.

Also Murray, albeit he was at Dundee utd until 16.

Great idea and hopefully the SFA at least contact him about a role. The nation is in a horrible state and as a club we're doing alright just now so would prefer the focus to be on the country

Donald Park
    John Park scouted them all.

Donald Park then coached them all.

Both equally responsible for golden generation

I don't think it helps that we've had 3 managers in a row who pretty much refuse to play our youth players. Riordan, brown et al wouldn't be half the players they were if they weren't put into the first team at a young age and allowed to express themselves.
    Last edited by PiemanP; 14-10-2016 at 05:49 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Jack Hackett View Post

Edit

It'll take longer than 2 yrs.

There also must have been a few years when no one of note came through either which could suggest we got a bit lucky.

@hibs.net private member BoltonHibee's Avatar
    Hull, amongst other English clubs were after him a wee while back. Maybe with Bruce going to Villa he's off there.

Quote Originally Posted by lucky View Post
    George Craig role is Director of Football not Academy manager or Chief Scout. So it's not his job to develop players
    You are correct!

John Park was the Academy director and a top talent scout for Hibs too. Donald Park was a well respected youth coach during John's tenure at the academy.

The Golden Generation were all brought through under John and Alistair Stevenson's time there.

Its funny how this has all come up after a picture of him with Petrie was published on facebook and he had been reported as having attended two youth development games recently too.

Watch this space maybe?

They can use my HSL money to tempt him back

Sent from my HTC One mini 2 using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by AlbertK86 View Post

John Park never scouted O'Connor or Riordan and a few others that have been mentioned.

Donald had a bigger influence getting these players to the club.

Quote Originally Posted by dmc1875 View Post
    If John Park is available he's a far better option than George Craig
    Is anyone speaking from first hand experience here - spoken to folks ? Just wondering the basis for comparison ?

In my time watching Hibs (since Miller time) I've can recall a time when recruits hit the ground running. With the academy it's more than one individual. That takes time to nurture. It's never as easy as flipping a switch esp where Hibs are concerned.
    "We know the people who have invested so far are simple fans." Vladimir Romanov - Scotsman 10th December 2012
    "Romanov was like a breath of fresh air - laced with cyanide." Me.

Our "Academy" is "producing" no one that seems capable of playing in the second tier of Scottish football.

Either not being run properly or is a waste of time and money.

The consensus on Kerrydale Street is that it's a Brenden Rodgers' sacking and a long term commitment to Celtic. They are over the moon at his departure. They're crossing fingers that Lawwell will be the next for the chop. Does Rogers hold that power?

@hibs.net private member BoltonHibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    The consensus on Kerrydale Street is that it's a Brenden Rodgers' sacking and a long term commitment to Celtic. They are over the moon at his departure. They're crossing fingers that Lawwell will be the next for the chop. Does Rogers hold that power?
    He has brought in an awful lot of dross of late, some of which have been questioned. I heard he was punted also.

Quote Originally Posted by GreenNWhiteArmy View Post
    Great idea and hopefully the SFA at least contact him about a role. The nation is in a horrible state and as a club we're doing alright just now so would prefer the focus to be on the country
    no way would I prefer him to concentrate on the "Scottish scene" . I'd be delighted to see him back with us, even if it meant bringing in a new position of high heid yin of yoof fitba'. Park was the best of the rest imho. him being pinned on to the Scotland situation would be a waste. over the years and also right now, we see national managers bringing in players from the English leagues, that were born doon there and we don't know or cant emphasise with. most have been journey men, and don't have the guts and determination required for a small nation to improve.

Quote Originally Posted by AlbertK86 View Post

Quote Originally Posted by piemanpilley View Post
    I don't think it helps that we've had 3 managers in a row who pretty much refuse to play our youth players. Riordan, brown et al wouldn't be half the players they were if they weren't put into the first team at a young age and allowed to express themselves.
    I think Bobby Williamson should get a bit of credit for giving the players a chance in the first team, a chance they all took.

Just get him back !

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    I think Bobby Williamson should get a bit of credit for giving the players a chance in the first team, a chance they all took.
    I will never give credit to that man. apart from being another cup final loser against a real diddy team, his team played some horrendous fitba'. Nope, nae blobby prize

Quote Originally Posted by monktonharp View Post
    I will never give credit to that man. apart from being another cup final loser against a real diddy team, his team played some horrendous fitba'. Nope, nae blobby prize
    Bobby Williamson dismantled a team of high earners, gave a lot of young players opportunities at a time when there was ridiculous financial doping going on by other clubs and didn't ever come close to getting us relegated.

I don't exactly long for the glory days of his tenure but I'm happy to acknowledge some of his achievements.

He left a decent platform for Mowbray to build on, a better one than most of our other managers in recent years have left behind.

Quote Originally Posted by piemanpilley View Post
    The only reason Blobby played them was because Hibs were skint and couldn't raise the cash to sign Bobby Mann.

@hibs.net private member hibees 7062's Avatar
    John Park never scouted O'Connor or Riordan and a few others that have been mentioned.
    -