Football strips that you really dislike

There have obviously been some monstrous kits launched down the years, with even Hibs guilty of some shockers, but I'm talking more about the strips traditionally associated with certain clubs.

For me I've never found Celtic's supposedly classic hooped strip easy on the eye. Before they had numbers on the back it was sort of OK and the simple Lisbon Lions era effort was the best of the bunch. Overall though, Hibs win the battle of the green and white strip design hands down.

Similarly, Liverpool's all-red affair has always been a turn-off. Red shirts and white shorts works but all red is unpleasant. Ditto for Aberdeen. During the great years for both clubs it seemed to give them an air of menace but these days it's just not a good combo.

Never been a fan of Newcastle and St Mirren's black vertical stripes either. No real reason, just doesn't work for me.

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Hearts tops.
    Mon the Hibs.

Inter Milan have the best strip in football IMO. Classic black and blue stripes.

Have always thought teams with yellow as their main colour stand out and when the whole end is in yellow it looks class ie Dortmund.

Never been keen on all white strips.

Hertz.

Left by mutual consent! greenteam's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by danhibees1875 View Post
    Hearts tops.
    Just that

Left by mutual consent! greenteam's Avatar
    Always liked Argentina and brazil tops.
    Nowadays its white strips. .must be going colour blind.

@hibs.net private member Don Giovanni's Avatar
    Anything maroon

:boak:

Hearts and Celtic's, we had the hoops 1st they borrowed it and kept it, couldn't even be arsed designing their own strip.

Hearts strips being the most obvious one. Maroon is just minging.

I've never liked West Ham or Aston Villa strips though. Claret and sky blue is a horrible combination.

@hibs.net private member Hibs Class's Avatar
    Always disliked celtic's hoops, partly because of the history and partly because I never liked them being allowed to have numbers on their shorts when every other club had shirt numbers
    ​#PERSEVERED

First Team Breakthrough WWFTWTG's Avatar
    ***** doesn't show on a maroon jersey

Maroon.its the bottom of the bin colour. The last colour left colour. Not fit to be a colour. Bloodied turd iv'e heard a few folk describe it.

The godawful skintight numbers that are in vogue at the moment.

Rangers particularly guilty of this. Ian Black needed no help at all in looking like a fanny, but if anyone's ever looked dafter wearing a football kit I've yet to see it.

Partick Thistle with red yellow and black have a great combination of colours to come up with some great strips, but they rarely do, this seasons effort is particularly minging. ... last seasons was actually quite nice, but utterly ruined by that daft sponsor's logo.

ICT are another one .... Its an amalgamation of two clubs Caley blue and Thistle red, but they continually kick ex Thistle fans in the baws with a nearly all blue effort, I don't think since they entered the league ICT have managed a single strip that was nice to look at.

Apart from that, any club with tops, shorts and socks the same colour is utterly boring and one of the reasons I hate seeing Hibs home top combined with green shorts, because the traditional Hibs kit is one of the best in football.

In that England West Brom probably win the rubbish strip stakes every year, its usually so bland it even makes the likes of Newcastle look exciting.

Further afield I do have a liking for the River Plate strip, pretty classy.
    Last edited by NAE NOOKIE; 12-09-2016 at 05:03 PM.

Gamertag: gringotodd
    This abomination is clearly the worst thing in creation

010289706255000.jpg

(yeah, I know it probably doesn't count. BUT LOOK AT IT!)

Out of interest and as i dont live in Scotland are there many hearts away tops being worn in Edinburgh or to their matches? That really is a horror show!

First Team Breakthrough Green Cabbage 7's Avatar
    Hearts top, in the words of the pub land lord, nobody chooses to wear maroon.

Dundee United's bright tangerine is shocking. Nobody can look good wearing that.

Anything maroon

Hearts current away top is so bad it's unbelievable. I haven't seen a Yam brave enough to be seen wearing that shocker around town.

Quote Originally Posted by wpj View Post
    Out of interest and as i dont live in Scotland are there many hearts away tops being worn in Edinburgh or to their matches? That really is a horror show!

Fat at jakey lad walked past me the other day in Livingston shopping centre wearing it....I was tempted to ask him if he had the only strip that made it out in public

Never liked the blue and white hoops of QPR. Hoops can make supporters look like barrels, particularly the short and stocky.

As for best strips, agree about Inter Milan, in fact Italians IMHO, tend to make better examples of club colours. Always liked the Sampdoria strip, blue with a unique central bands matching the club crest. It'd be good to see Hibs incorporate aspects of our badge eg subtle harp motif in differentiated greens on our kit, given textile technology.

Quote Originally Posted by Albanian Hibs View Post
    Hertz.
    Exactly!

I mean a reddish brown colour - eek!!

@hibs.net private member Craig_HFC's Avatar
    Spurs kits are always rank.

ICT kits are usually difficult to look at.

Never liked Dundee Utd's kits either.
    PERSEVERE
    Verb: pə:ːsɪ'ˈvɪə/
    To not give up.
    To go the distance.
    To stop at nothing.

Good shout on the ICT strip. It could be half decent with that colour combo but is never pleasant.

And how could I have forgotten to mention the all-maroon Hearts kits. The ultimate anti-style statement. Truly awful. We may not always have enjoyed the best of derby records but when it comes to strips that are easy on the eye we hammer them every time. The Hibs strip in its classic format of green shirt with white sleeves and white shorts is truly a thing of beauty and you'll find there are fans of our club who were drawn to supporting us because of that strip.

Never liked hoops.They make players look unfit and overweight somehow.Celtic,Hamilton,Kilmarnock,Motherwell,Part ick and Stirling Albion all played in hoops when I was a kid.The only ones who looked OK were Queens Park who then as they do now had very narrow hoops and the jerseys outside the shorts-quite classy.

Wolves strips are alway hideous

United we stand here....

Quote Originally Posted by wpj View Post
    I've got a Scotland replica top from Toffs in the same colours, needless to say that won't see the light of day again! :-)

Quote Originally Posted by danhibees1875 View Post
    Hearts tops.

Hit the nail right on the head.

Gamertag: GlasMatt PSN ID: mrxblaikiex
    Orange rangers away top from years back, obviously pandering to that element of their support.