Celtic to change words on our song

Im hearing celtic crowd next week are slightly changing the words to one off our songs, then they played the celtic and suddenly it dawned to win the spl, you know the rest

First Team Regular Highland_Hibee's Avatar

Gamertag: Amusing Munch PSN ID: Amusing_Munch
    That's not the version I heard. The one I heard from them I posted in the Sevco meltdown thread.

Not like Celtic fans to steal something from us.

They'll be claiming it as one of their own songs next.
    Mature, sensible signature required for responsible position. Good prospects for the right candidate. Apply within.

Hibs forever leading, celtc following.
    First to wear the green😉

Sent from my HTC One mini 2 using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member Godsahibby's Avatar
    To be fair we did steal it from The Rangers

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Sir David Gray View Post
    Not like Celtic fans to steal something from us.
    Not just us.

The way they misappropriated "You'll Never Walk Alone" is shameless.

I'm no Liverpool fan but that song should be theirs and theirs alone, to acknowledge and remember Hillsborough IMO
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

Quote Originally Posted by Godsahibby View Post
    To be fair we did steal it from The Rangers
    Doesn't count, they've not been around long enough to qualify for a proper football song.

Sent from my HTC One mini 2 using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member CallumLaidlaw's Avatar

PSN ID: Cal_hibby
    Quote Originally Posted by Leith's finest View Post
    Im hearing celtic crowd next week are slightly changing the words to one off our songs, then they played the celtic and suddenly it dawned to win the spl, you know the rest
    And it's not even the spl anymore

Am I the only one who doesn't know what song this is about?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    Am I the only one who doesn't know what song this is about?
    The Warburton song.

First Team Regular Billy McKirdy's Avatar

Gamertag: N?A Wii Code: N?A
    They can take it and never give us it back.
    Never liked it never will.
    TRIFC are an irrelevance to me now.
    Bring back let's all do the Hibees Bounce

Sick of hearing us singing about Rangers all game anyway

Quote Originally Posted by Mibbes Aye View Post
    Not just us.

I'm no Liverpool fan but that song should be theirs and theirs alone, to acknowledge and remember Hillsborough IMO
    I couldn't agree more.
    You'll Never Walk Alone is unquestionably the anthem of Liverpool FC.
    It was adopted by and sung by the legendary 25,000 strong Liverpool Kop shortly after Gerry and The Pacemakers took it to the top of the charts way back in 1963. It was a time when Mersey side (The Mersey Beat) conquered the world, led by, of course, The Beatles. Celtic have latched onto it despicably.
    Imagine another team adopting Sunshine On Leith as their anthem!!

Quote Originally Posted by HibsNutter View Post
    Sick of hearing us singing about Rangers all game anyway
    Is that you Gail?

Quote Originally Posted by Albanian Hibs View Post
    Is that you Gail?

She's busy on Follow Follow today.

Didn't we sing You'll Never Walk Alone in the early nineties? I wholeheartedly agree with what's being said about it just have a niggle in the back of my brain somewhere.

@hibs.net private member CallumLaidlaw's Avatar

PSN ID: Cal_hibby
    Quote Originally Posted by JDT View Post
    Didn't we sing You'll Never Walk Alone in the early nineties? I wholeheartedly agree with what's being said about it just have a niggle in the back of my brain somewhere.
    It was sung at the hands off Hibs rally by the proclaimers.

@hibs.net private member Ringothedog's Avatar
    We sang it during the 60's to the 90's. Don't know why we stopped.

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Not just us.

Nah, it's a song about a sentiment, not a place and Celtic fans were singing it long before Hillsborough, as did Hibs fans on ocassion. What about us singing Glory, Glory or Hail , Hail. Neither were originally Hibs songs. Shameless, my erse.

On the subject of fitba songs .... My first wife was brought up in the Salvation Army and I used to go to some of their services with her. Imagine my horror and amusement at one service when the pianist started banging out the Hearts song. Turns out that Mr Nicol had derived more than a little inspiration from an old Sally Army hymn written by Fanny Crosby called 'blessed assurance' ..... I don't know if he ever acknowledged where he got the idea for the Hearts song from, but if he didn't .....naughty Mr Nicol

Cant get a link to work, but have a look on You Tube

First Team Regular Highland_Hibee's Avatar

Gamertag: Amusing Munch PSN ID: Amusing_Munch
    Quote Originally Posted by superfurryhibby View Post
    Nah, it's a song about a sentiment, not a place and Celtic fans were singing it long before Hillsborough, as did Hibs fans on ocassion. What about us singing Glory, Glory or Hail , Hail. Neither were originally Hibs songs. Shameless, my erse.
    I was always fairly certain we were the first adaptation of glory glory into a football chant.

@hibs.net private member WhileTheChief..'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Ringothedog View Post
    We sang it during the 60's to the 90's. Don't know why we stopped.
    Yup, we also sang part of it in double time with a clap - clap thing going on that Liverpool never did.

Quote Originally Posted by WhileTheChief.. View Post
    Yup, we also sang part of it in double time with a clap - clap thing going on that Liverpool never did.
    we did indeed and sometimes it finished

"and you'll never walk again"

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    On the subject of fitba songs .... My first wife was brought up in the Salvation Army and I used to go to some of their services with her. Imagine my horror and amusement at one service when the pianist started banging out the Hearts song. Turns out that Mr Nicol had derived more than a little inspiration from an old Sally Army hymn written by Fanny Crosby called 'blessed assurance' ..... I don't know if he ever acknowledged where he got the idea for the Hearts song from, but if he didn't .....naughty Mr Nicol

Loads of (older) football songs come from church songs, including Glory Glory to the Hibees by that same Mr Nicol (original is Glory Glory Hallelujah). Another example is the peerless classic You're Not Singing Anymore, which adapts the chorus of Guide Me O Thou Great Redeemer.

Most of these songs will be old enough to be public domain anyway.

@hibs.net private member Mr White's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Highland_Hibee View Post
    I was always fairly certain we were the first adaptation of glory glory into a football chant.

I read it was adopted by spurs first then us then man utd. I can't remember the source though and it could well be wrong.

Left by mutual consent! Rougier45's Avatar
    Not just us.

it was being sung a long time before Hillsborough

what about Liverpool singing the fields on annfield RD!

Promising Youngster Fambo Jannies's Avatar
    The East Stand sang YNWA towards the end of the 6-2 game. Clear as a bell on the DVD.

Anyone know how to get it downloaded as a ringtone.

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post

It's actually an amalgam of 3 songs: Blessed Assurance (this is my story), Flanders & Swann's Hippopotamus Song (mud mud glorious mud) and the Old Orange Flute (away up in Gorgie etc).

So basically they're manky Orange *******s with a misplaced faith.