Thread: Stephen Thomson

Stephen Thomson

I just caught the very tail end of an interview with Stephen Thomson, where he was talking, I think, about a Hanlon goal and glowingly about Hanlon in general. Anybody hear it?

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    I just caught the very tail end of an interview with Stephen Thomson, where he was talking, I think, about a Hanlon goal and glowingly about Hanlon in general. Anybody hear it?

Yeah, it was a piece about an amateur team where their 34yr old right back, named Hanlon, scored 3 peaches of goals in a hattrick. Says it is a hit on You Tube. To be fair, they were all very well taken goals.

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    He might have been on about a player from a weegie junior team who scored a spectacular hat trick I think.

@hibs.net private member aljo7-0's Avatar
    Yes but it was not Paul Hanlon he was talking about. It is some junior player that scored 3 pretty great strikes for a hat trick that BBC had footage of

Quote Originally Posted by Grumpy Auld Git View Post
    Yeah, it was a piece about an amateur team where their 34yr old right back, named Hanlon, scored 3 peaches of goals in a hattrick. Says it is a hit on You Tube. To be fair, they were all very well taken goals.
    Pollock Juniors actually.

@hibs.net private member alhibby's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post
    He might have been on about a player from a weegie junior team who scored a spectacular hat trick I think.
    That wouldn't surprise me, he really struggles to say anything complimentary about Hibs, particularly when we're playing The Rangers.

Quote Originally Posted by ekhibee View Post
    That wouldn't surprise me, he really struggles to say anything complimentary about Hibs, particularly when we're playing The Rangers.
    Yes my last memory of Thomson with Paul Hanlon is when he came on as sub absolutely halved Hanlon and then ran up and high fived Goodwin. Disliked him since.

Quote Originally Posted by bookert View Post
    Yes my last memory of Thomson with Paul Hanlon is when he came on as sub absolutely halved Hanlon and then ran up and high fived Goodwin. Disliked him since.
    Yep, a big talentless huddy who got his day in the sun with the team that used to be Rangers. Now he's the world's biggest St Midden fan. He's the kind of ex-player that The Rangers and Hearts fans must love, they probably remember him fondly as 'a grafter.'

Quote Originally Posted by bookert View Post
    My vivid memory of him is last season at ER he had a horrendous dive near the touchline. Funny how, when talking about walker diving, he said that he never dives🙄.

big Stephen Thompson was never a Hibs lover, but, I wont knock him for that. as far as I am aware, and I have heard him being interviewed, he is quite a well educated young guy with possibly Law qualifications? doesnae bother me. he came across as more of a buddies fan, than other.

Why do people struggle with the Thompson/Thomson divide so much?

Quote Originally Posted by Cocaine&Caviar View Post
    To annoy people like you.

Because it's so easy to distinguish between Stephen and Steven.

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    Why does it bother you ? You clearly know what is meant..
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

Quote Originally Posted by ekhibee View Post
    Yep, a big talentless huddy who got his day in the sun with the team that used to be Rangers. Now he's the world's biggest St Midden fan. He's the kind of ex-player that The Rangers and Hearts fans must love, they probably remember him fondly as 'a grafter.'
    Also noticed the caption stating that he got 16 caps for Scotland!!

How did that happen??

@hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Drumlanrig View Post

How did that happen??
    Errrm he played for Rangers.

Gamertag: jayjaygrant
    Quote Originally Posted by Lago View Post
    Pollock Juniors actually.
    Juniors- amateurs- Jobby- ***** 😉

Some people just like to take the pee.
    Mature, sensible signature required for responsible position. Good prospects for the right candidate. Apply within.

@hibs.net private member 500miles's Avatar

How did that happen??
    He was a great player, and would've been an asset to our team at any point prior to last season.

It's one of the conundrums of the age.

Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    It's one of the conundrums of the age.
    it certainly is, however we are all Jock Thompson/Thomson's bairns.

Quote Originally Posted by SonOfDavidFrancey View Post
    Because it's so easy to distinguish between Stephen and Steven.
    My point being he is called Steven

Quote Originally Posted by 500miles View Post
    He was a great player, and would've been an asset to our team at any point prior to last season.
    You are enttled to your opinion 500, but when asked to list great Scottish players I don't think he will be first on my list?

I see, now. You guys are talking about Steven Thompson of St Mirren. My OP was about a guy down in England called Stephen Thomson.

How did that happen??
    Exactly the same number of caps as Pat Stanton! What a utter joke!

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by monktonharp View Post
    it certainly is, however we are all Jock Thompson/Thomson's bairns.
    Tampson, Shirley.

Quote Originally Posted by delbert View Post
    Exactly the same number of caps as Pat Stanton! What a utter joke!
    Not really a comparison is it? Different positions, different eras.

I see, now. You guys are talking about Steven Thompson of St Mirren. My OP was about a guy down in England called Stephen Thomson.
    If it wasn't for ST training ground javelin throw we wouldn't have got SJM,just a thought👍