Thread: The Hibs Club

The Hibs Club

Just introducing ourselves - The Hibernian Supporters Association have taken the plunge and joined Hibs.net.

We'll not be bombarding you with news about our latest cabarets (although you're all very welcome to come along to them) but we will be using this profile to keep everyone interested updated with match day opening times, special events, updates on our sponsorship with HFC, deadlines for membership renewals etc etc.

http://hibsclub.co.uk/

Quote Originally Posted by TheHibsClub View Post
    Just introducing ourselves - The Hibernian Supporters Association have taken the plunge and joined Hibs.net.

We'll not be bombarding you with news about our latest cabarets (although you're all very welcome to come along to them) but we will be using this profile to keep everyone interested updated with match day opening times, special events, updates on our sponsorship with HFC, deadlines for membership renewals etc etc.

Sorry pal you need tae Ken someone to sign you in if yer no a member....

Welcome aboard.

Mind and put your posts on a tray before you send them

I always had a couple of questions about the hibs club and no one has been able to answer.
    What year was the hibs clubs first opened? And was the site for it picked as it is on the site of our original ground? (Or is was that just a coincidence?)

Quote Originally Posted by fat freddy View Post
    And woe betide you if any round comes to more than a tenner..

Yam.

Quote Originally Posted by Waxy View Post
    I always had a couple of questions about the hibs club and no one has been able to answer.
    What year was the hibs clubs first opened? And was the site for it picked as it is on the site of our original ground? (Or is was that just a coincidence?)
    Club opened at Sunnyside in 1965 - previously located at Carlton Terrace, the granting of our first licence there was mentioned in the programme for the home leg against Djurgaarden in 1955.

The site itself is a happy coincidence as far as we know but we are working on getting a plaque put in the club to mark the original ground.

Quote Originally Posted by Stax View Post
    Sorry pal you need tae Ken someone to sign you in if yer no a member....

We're a far friendlier place these days!

In our defence the quality of the trays has improved in recent years!

Club opened at Sunnyside in 1965 - previously located at Carlton Terrace, the granting of our first licence there was mentioned in the programme for the home leg against Djurgaarden in 1955.

The site itself is a happy coincidence as far as we know but we are working on getting a plaque put in the club to mark the original ground.
    Excellent thanks.

@hibs.net private member Craig_HFC's Avatar
    Are you signing up to The Bounce as well?
    PERSEVERE
    Verb: pə:ːsɪ'ˈvɪə/
    To not give up.
    To go the distance.
    To stop at nothing.

Never been in the Hibs club

Quote Originally Posted by Craig_HFC View Post
    Are you signing up to The Bounce as well?
    We will be.

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    You're more than welcome to pay us a visit!

@hibs.net private member Craig_HFC's Avatar
    We will be.
    Excellent
    PERSEVERE
    Verb: pə:ːsɪ'ˈvɪə/
    To not give up.
    To go the distance.
    To stop at nothing.

You're more than welcome to pay us a visit!
    Thanks

Gamertag: Nick T Muir
    Only been in a few times but always had a decent night.

The Hibs Club

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    Geeze oh Billy I remember taking the kids through to the x mass party when they were tiny ,so thats over 26 years ago The wife hated it , but they were both there with me to see us lift the Scottish Cup ( any excuse to mention that ).
    Further back than that ,The Famous Fife Hibs Supporters Branch used to meet there
    Haven't been inside For yonks though

Last edited by Ronniekirk; 18-06-2016 at 09:29 PM.

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    I used to play football with a tied up scarf on the dance floor in there nearly 40 years ago.
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

Thanks to the HSA for their generous donation towards Kicks for Kids STS. £750, for the second year running GGTTH

@hibs.net private member BroxburnHibee's Avatar

Gamertag: CoolHibeesdaft PSN ID: Hibeesdaft
    Pound each in the box please......
    Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, vodka in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming, "WOO HOO what a ride!"

Member of the club since 1966 (juvenile) welcome to the net, many on here club members and a lot of potential members too.

Hilarious, well done!
    I joined the supporters assoc. in'63 when they were based at 7 Carlton Terrace. Haven't been in Sunnyside for a few years but would be interested to hear what's happening

@hibs.net private member Bishop Hibee's Avatar
    Joined a few weeks ago for the first time through the St Patrick's Branch. Been to many a good night there over the years though.
    "Washing one's hands of the conflict between the powerful and the powerless means to side with the powerful, not to be neutral.' - Paulo Freire

@hibs.net private member green day's Avatar
    Hibs Club website suggests you can become a member by being part of a branch - and that Hibs.net is a branch.

Have I read that right?

I was a member years ago but lapsed now. Thinking about signing up again how do you go about it?

First joined the Hibsclub in 1967, and still have a 1975 membership card in my possession, despite emigrating in 1974.

When holidaying in Auld Reekie it is/was my main drinking den.

Used to be like Fort Knox to get into on a wet Thursday night when there were no more than a dozen or so people inside though...hope it's changed in that regard.

Thinking about rejoining. Are "Fags n Matches" or the gadgie from the Brotherhood of Man still gigging or has the "cabaret" moved into the 1980s

Pre smoking ban walking into the Hibs Club used to be like walking into a Fire Brigade training exercise , wall to wall smoke. Its improved hugely since then and not just because of that. There used to be a lot of animosity between the custodians of the Hibs Club and Hibernian FC but since the tin pot dictator Riley got the bullet, everyone seems to be pulling in the same direction.

Great place for a cheap pre match pint among great folk.