Thread: Next weeks draw

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar

Next weeks draw

Not sure if this has been covered, but see Monday's Europa draw, will we find out for definite who we play or is there the potential for a tie v the winners of the previous round??

Just for booking up and getting holidays and giving work enough notice should I want to change. As it stands I've booked the fortnight off which isn't leaving me with many more days holiday should we progress and I need to keep some days back for Chrismas etc.
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

@hibs.net private member hibee_girl's Avatar
    I would guess there's potential for us to draw one of the first round teams and according to this - http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuropaleague...hes/index.html those games aren't played until the 30th June & 7th July.

We might draw a team like us though who has gone straight into it in the 2nd round.

We might not find out exactly who we'll play on the 20th but at least we'll find out the home and away leg dates. Just found this on the uefa website:

Draw procedure
    • Each side in each seeding group is allocated a number. Balls containing the seeded numbers are placed in one bowl, with balls for the unseeded numbers in the same group positioned in another.
    • A ball is taken from each bowl and put into a large empty bowl in the middle, where they are shuffled.
    • The clubs whose numbers correspond to the first ball drawn play their first game at home, against the teams whose numbers match the next ball drawn.

It might have been posted before but this is another good site for info:

http://kassiesa.home.xs4all.nl/bert/uefa/seedel2016.html

Cheers.
    Last edited by Cluny Hibs; 14-06-2016 at 06:36 PM. Reason: duff link

@hibs.net private member Green Man's Avatar

Gamertag: TheMightyJag PSN ID: FiveOClockHero
    There are 12 confirmed seeds for the second qualifying round. The other 21 seeds will have progressed from the first qualifying round. There's a good chance therefore that we won't know our actual opponents until the week before, bit of a pain for folk making travel arrangements.

Quote Originally Posted by Green Man View Post
    There are 12 confirmed seeds for the second qualifying round. The other 21 seeds will have progressed from the first qualifying round. There's a good chance therefore that we won't know our actual opponents until the week before, bit of a pain for folk making travel arrangements.
    So we play a seeded team, and when we beat them we become a seeded team in the third qualifying round.

@hibs.net private member CapitalGreen's Avatar
    If a round 2 seed is eliminated in round 1, the team that eliminated them assumes their seeding in round 2.

@hibs.net private member CapitalGreen's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Marco G View Post
    So we play a seeded team, and when we beat them we become a seeded team in the third qualifying round.
    Only if that team would have been seeded in round 3.

Only seeded teams confirmed so far are;

Genk
    Maribor
    Austria Vienna
    Partizan Belgrade
    Maccabi Haifa
    Hajduk Split
    Grasshopper Zurich
    Stromsgodset
    Osmanlispor
    Slavia Prague
    BK Hacken
    Panionios

If we get drawn against any of these sides, we will know by next Monday who we are playing and when we are playing the home and away legs.

If it's any other tie then we won't know until 7th July who we are playing against, although we will still know when the home and away legs will be.

Quote Originally Posted by CapitalGreen View Post
    Only if that team would have been seeded in round 3.
    So does that mean there are more unseeded teams than seeded in round 2? I had assumed we would play a seeded team or a team that had beaten a seeded team which comes to the same for us being seeded in round 3?

Quote Originally Posted by Sir David Gray View Post
    Only seeded teams confirmed so far are;

Genk
    Maribor
    Austria Vienna
    Partizan Belgrade
    Maccabi Haifa
    Hajduk Split
    Grasshopper Zurich
    Stromsgodset
    Osmanlispor
    Slavia Prague
    BK Hacken
    Panionios

If we get drawn against any of these sides, we will know by next Monday who we are playing and when we are playing the home and away legs.

If it's any other tie then we won't know until 7th July who we are playing against, although we will still know when the home and away legs will be.
    Couple of revenge missions there. Surprised I haven't heard of Osmanlispor before, Turkish team would be a nightmare but there are a few great away teams in there.

That said, there's gonna be so many other teams added it's unlikely to be one of them.

So does that mean there are more unseeded teams than seeded in round 2? I had assumed we would play a seeded team or a team that had beaten a seeded team which comes to the same for us being seeded in round 3?
    Half and half I think. We'll definitely be unseeded.

Out of the teams who are confirmed to enter at the second qualifying round, there's 12 seeded teams and 6 unseeded teams (including us).

If we win our first tie, we'll become seeded for the third qualifying round.

The seedings for each round are done based on the club's UEFA coefficient (ours is 3.960 which places us firmly in the unseeded half of the second round draw). As the draws for the second and third rounds are made before all of the qualified teams are known, the higher coefficient is used for seeding purposes (e.g. Videoton enter in the first round but their coefficient would put them in the seeds for the second round, so whoever wins that tie will be seeded). I'm not sure if I've explained that very well, but my head hurts a bit from thinking about it so hopefully I have.

If we win our first tie, we'll become seeded for the third qualifying round.
    That's not definite - if we beat a team with a fairly low coefficient e.g. Brondby or Slavia Prague, we would be unseeded in the third round.

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    Logistical nightmare this is gonna be booking up for. I'd be happy with any the mentioned seeded teams but Prague or Greece would be brilliant
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

Quote Originally Posted by .Sean. View Post
    Logistical nightmare this is gonna be booking up for. I'd be happy with any the mentioned seeded teams but Prague or Greece would be brilliant
    Watching Hibs in Prague would be a dream for me, I love the city. If the away leg is first I can't make it, so it would be Sod's law for us to draw Slavia!

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    For once, can we please not get a "our season starts in Spring so we're raring to go" Scandinavian team? Would like to see us with a chance this time.

That's not definite - if we beat a team with a fairly low coefficient e.g. Brondby or Slavia Prague, we would be unseeded in the third round.
    True, forgot about that.

As long as I can get the dates off work sorted next week the travel arrangements should be fine.

If we avoid Israel, Ukraine and Turkey I'll be pretty happy.

As long as I can get the dates off work sorted next week the travel arrangements should be fine.

If we avoid Israel, Ukraine and Turkey I'll be pretty happy.
    Don't really fancy a match against Partizan Belgrade either to be honest!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=792I7sFEGy4

True, forgot about that.
    Can't blame you for that, there's a lot to get your head round with the qualification process!

Aye that looks 'interesting' right enough.

In the interests of personal safety (not that I'm adverse to a ruck, but...) I will not be travelling to Serbia, nor Turkey. I might put Russia on that list and any far flung Russian independent backwater 5 time-zones away. Other than that, I'm game for wherever.

Can't blame you for that, there's a lot to get your head round with the qualification process!
    My head hurts and tbh I'll just see what the draw brings

Shocking behaviour! Having a wee bonfire and no marshmallows or sausages!

WTF?

@hibs.net private member One Day Soon's Avatar

Gamertag: 4 PSN ID: 6 Wii Code: 5
    Watching Hibs in Prague would be a dream for me, I love the city. If the away leg is first I can't make it, so it would be Sod's law for us to draw Slavia!
    Yeah, I'd love Prague. Just nowhere Russian please.

I had an Uncle who played for Partizan Belgrade

don't want Maribor, scary people. think they'd sort oot the Russian hooligan probs nae bother Austria, Hungary,good. Cyprus (not been) and the Estonia areas would be nice but anywhere near UKE/Crimea/Ruski might be risky and I know it's hard to get cash in this country for their currency

Better be Barca or Real or I'm not going.