First Team Breakthrough zemmamarama's Avatar

Did Anyone Leave Early?

I was just reading another thread and a guy said he left with 15 mins to go. I'm not sure whether he was joking or not but there may have been people who left before we scored number 3.

Imagine that? You'd be ****ing suicidal!

The guy in front of me took his wee boy to the bog right on 90 mins. No doubt to miss the rush between full time and the start of extra time......

Quote Originally Posted by Ged View Post
    The guy in front of me took his wee boy to the bog right on 90 mins. No doubt to miss the rush between full time and the start of extra time......
    Someone has written about that experience on here.

I'm pretty sure the reference to leaving 15 mins early was a joke.

So far as I'm aware, there was no one left feeling like those Liverpool fans who left the Istanbul stadium at half time in 2005...

First Team Breakthrough zemmamarama's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by jacomo View Post

So far as I'm aware, there was no one left feeling like those Liverpool fans who left the Istanbul stadium at half time in 2005...
    I did a search for "leaving early" but nothing came up for the final.

I also thought that guy was joking but it made me think - what if?

There were quite a few who left after Rangers 2nd, though like the Falkirk semi when we were 3 down they won't say who they are.

A couple folk around me walked up the stairs shaking their heads just after 75 mins. Nae joy if they missed the best 15 mins I've ever had supporting hibs

I left after 4 minutes because I knew we had the game wrapped up already...........

Quote Originally Posted by Sas_The_Hibby View Post
    I left after 4 minutes because I knew we had the game wrapped up already...........
    Yeah all sewn up we just let Rangers score twice make a fist of it

Quote Originally Posted by Sas_The_Hibby View Post
    Yeah all sewn up we just let Rangers score twice make a fist of it

After halliday scored and signalled to the zombies not to worry he had this, I decided to nip out the back of the east for a quick fag and was standing at one of they red barriers when about 5/6 folk walked out and right down the steps, a wee woman about 40ish 5ft tall came out for a smoke and shouted down to them "where the f*** are you rats going, get back here ya sh*******, funniest thing I've seen, we stood talking, finished our fags went back in and after the presentation as we where leaving I seen her leaving and ran over and gave her a big kiss and cuddle.

Boy beside me went to the toilet and missed the equaliser then at 90 he said he was going again as he didn't want to miss extra time. Came back delighted but I would have been raging. I had cramp for some reason the majority of the game.

There were quite a few who left not long after Rangers second goal, I doubt many will admit it though.

I know for a fact there were 2 radges at the game who missed all 3 of Hibs goals...

Quote Originally Posted by Gail View Post
    There were quite a few who left not long after Rangers second goal, I doubt many will admit it though.
    Thought those who left at HT when we were 0-3 down to Falkirk made a bad call. Those who left at 1-2 to the Huns in the SC Final, there is simply no consolation. Missed the greatest ending to any Hibs game... EVER.

I know a couple of folk who left with 15 minutes to go at the pbs. Gutted doesn't even nearly sum up how they felt, they were only at haymarket by the time we equalised.

United we stand here....

If you left before the end then get it right round you, no sympathy whatsoever ...... how anybody can chuck the toys oot the pram in a cup final with the team only 2 - 1 down and 25 minutes still to go is beyond me.

Quote Originally Posted by zemmamarama View Post
    I was just reading another thread and a guy said he left with 15 mins to go. I'm not sure whether he was joking or not but there may have been people who left before we scored number 3.

Just to clear it up. I was joking, but on my phone so couldn't do a smiley.

Didn't leave early in 12 or 13 so certainly wouldn't in 16!

My bro in law (60 and a hibby from birth) left at TWO - TWO later saying that he couldn't face another defeat and was sure The Rangers would score again probably in extra time. WE HAD JUST EQUALISED and starting to flow again and HE LEFT. Waited all his life and missed the greatest celebration I have ever witnessed.

First Team Breakthrough Yuillsy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Gail View Post
    There were quite a few who left after Rangers 2nd, though like the Falkirk semi when we were 3 down they won't say who they are.
    I left the Falkirk semi as soon as it went to 3-0. I have no problem admitting that, it was stupid and done in the heat of the moment.
    I can't believe anyone would've left the final early though??
    Even when Halliday scored I thought we were still well in the match, all we needed was a lucky break or a decent set piece. Happily we got 2!!!

First Team Breakthrough hibbypostie's Avatar
    guy in my work left at 75mins he still looks suicidal

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Would shirley make more sense to leave after 75 mins at 2-1 down than to miss the third (ie leave at 2-2 with ET to come - especially with ET being a Hibby).

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    I can't believe with one goal in it that anyone would leave early. Even at 90 minutes I would never leave, even if it was a league game against Dumbarton, never mind the SC final.

Had Falkirk got a 4th that day, i think many more would have left .
    I may well have.
    Thankfully i did not leave at 3-0 and witnessed the comeback.
    On the Final
    I met a guy in the Clermiston Inn the day after.
    The guy in question admitted to leaving the game after they scored their second goal.
    He sauntered off to Montfords, cursing the missed chances .. had 3 tequilas rapid and a pint.
    Then watched Anthony head the equaliser on the pub screen ;-)
    He ran back to the Stadium and was allowed back in.
    So all is well that ends well, i suppose.
    Personal note
    Being 64 yrs of age, thank God we did it at last !

Spirits in the Sky !!
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 10-06-2016 at 06:40 PM.

@hibs.net private member Newry Hibs's Avatar
    I was in the very back row of the east and there were about 4 guys appeared behind us just about as we equalised and stayed there until the end. So it may have looked like they left.

I think Andy Halliday clocked off a minute or 2 too early as well.

@hibs.net private member CraigHibee's Avatar
    anyone that left before the end will be physically spewing, I've learned my lesson about leaving early before and haven't done it since :)

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Yuillsy View Post
    I left the Falkirk semi as soon as it went to 3-0. I have no problem admitting that, it was stupid and done in the heat of the moment.
    I can't believe anyone would've left the final early though??
    Even when Halliday scored I thought we were still well in the match, all we needed was a lucky break or a decent set piece. Happily we got 2!!!
    I left at 3-0.

Won the game just as our taxi pulled up outside the Harp and Castle.

Big regret. That and going to my wife's wedding three weeks ago!

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    I sat disconsolate in the concourse for ten mins after Rangers scored their second. Back in my seat for 2-2 tho
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

My missus called me a psycho for making my laddie sit till the end of the final that ended us as club...He was greetin leaving the ground that day as I told him our day will come & times like this will make it all the sweeter....
    Understatement of the Century as it turned out but when the tears stopped & we were shell shocked on the bus home after pumping the Huns he gave me a wee nudge and said 'you were right Dad'.

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    This is genuinely painful to read. Can you imagine…