hibs.net Messageboard

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    First Team Breakthrough

Time to join the English league?

This is talked about every year in terms of the old firm going. But if they go, we might as well all go. The Rotherham thing really puts it in perspective and look at clubs like Bournemouth and Wigan too. We just can't compete. Is there any point in keeping on isolating ourselves?

I know the question is would they let us in? But if they can make exceptions for Swansea and Cardiff...

I'm not a lawyer but I also wonder if they could stop us (under EU law), if we were prepared to work our way up from the bottom.

One thing is for sure if it's not on our agenda and we leave it up to the Old Firm, we will be nothing but an afterthought in the whole debate.

2. Log in to remove the advert

@hibs.net private member
    Unless any real investment is made into Hibernian and we can afford to double what these clubs are offering our staff and players then there isn't much we can do.... Same for every club in Scotland bar sevco and celtc.

I quite like going to away games so...no?

@hibs.net private member hibbyboy1's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by macd123 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    This is talked about every year in terms of the old firm going. But if they go, we might as well all go. The Rotherham thing really puts it in perspective and look at clubs like Bournemouth and Wigan too. We just can't compete. Is there any point in keeping on isolating ourselves?

I know the question is would they let us in? But if they can make exceptions for Swansea and Cardiff...

I'm not a lawyer but I also wonder if they could stop us (under EU law), if we were prepared to work our way up from the bottom.

One thing is for sure if it's not on our agenda and we leave it up to the Old Firm, we will be nothing but an afterthought in the whole debate.