Thread: Pat Fenlon

Pat Fenlon

Seen on Twitter that he is coming over for the game tomorrow. I remember when he left, he did an interview for one of the papers and said he would love to be amongst that Hibs fans if we ever got to another final.

Class act.

Always liked Pat.

@hibs.net private member Ryan91's Avatar
    Always seemed like a nice guy, think many would have rather kept Pat than suffer through Butcher

Quote Originally Posted by Ryan91 View Post
    Always seemed like a nice guy, think many would have rather kept Pat than suffer through Butcher
    Always felt it was a bit of a knee jerk reaction from the fans, club & Pat for his leaving.

Good on him.

Personal opinion is we would still be in the Premier if he hadn't been bulleted.

I was speaking to someone last week that was telling me that PF was on his supporters bus for the final

Good guy

Quote Originally Posted by Ryan91 View Post

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Absolute gent. Came across for David Pauls funeral as well, he's a real classy guy.
    Last edited by Northernhibee; 20-05-2016 at 02:05 PM.

Left by mutual consent! Dunbar Hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    Absolute gent. Came across for David Golds funeral as well, he's a real classy guy.
    Eh? David Gold hasn't died?

Absolute gent. Came across for David Golds funeral as well, he's a real classy guy.
    The former hibs youngster???

@hibs.net private member Craig_HFC's Avatar
    David Paul.

Quote Originally Posted by Dunbar Hibee View Post
    Eh? David Gold hasn't died?
    Think he means David Paul.

Quote Originally Posted by BOB MARLEYS DUG View Post
    Phew.

Left by mutual consent! Dunbar Hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BOB MARLEYS DUG View Post

Ah, ok. But yeah, didn't know that, very good of PF.

Quote Originally Posted by SpaceBob View Post
    Always felt it was a bit of a knee jerk reaction from the fans, club & Pat for his leaving.
    Agreed, could never understand why some fans had so much anger towards him.

I remember thinking when he left it was probably the right decision because we were stagnating between 5th-7th for a while. Oh little did we know what would be to come...

Anyway, never any doubting Pat's commitment or class as a person.

Quote Originally Posted by Ken View Post
    I was speaking to someone last week that was telling me that PF was on his supporters bus for the final
    Thays excellent hes geting right involved with the fans rather than going corporate

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Apologies guys, unfortunate brain fade there.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Quote Originally Posted by SpaceBob View Post
    Hardly. Knee jerk would have been right after the Hearts cup final (which is when he should have gone), or right after the Celtc cup final, or right after the embarrassment of Malmo.

Instead he went after a run of 5 games, with 1 win, scoring just 2 goals. His final game being a 1-0 defeat at home to quite literally the worst Hearts team I can remember in my time watching Hibs - which was the second time we'd lost to them without scoring a goal in the space of 2 months.

That's not knee jerk at all.

But, that's all in the past, hope he enjoys tomorrow, and is celebrating with the rest of us.

First Team Breakthrough Jonny1875's Avatar

PSN ID: Jonny1875
    Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    Hardly. Knee jerk would have been right after the Hearts cup final (which is when he should have gone), or right after the Celtc cup final, or right after the embarrassment of Malmo.

Instead he went after a run of 5 games, with 1 win, scoring just 2 goals. His final game being a 1-0 defeat at home to quite literally the worst Hearts team I can remember in my time watching Hibs - which was the second time we'd lost to them without scoring a goal in the space of 2 months.

That's not knee jerk at all.

But, that's all in the past, hope he enjoys tomorrow, and is celebrating with the rest of us.
    Was just about to argue this, completley agree! Had to go, seemed a nice fella but wasn't up to the job. Simple.

Fenlon had to go, at the end of the season. Punting him when we did is the reason we went down

Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    Fenlon had to go, at the end of the season. Punting him when we did is the reason we went down
    Employing Butcher was the reason we went down, not emptying Pat.

Pat wasn't good enough at all IMO. However enjoy the game Pat you did try.

Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    Hopefully in the next 5 years or so we can get back to a situation where a Hibs manager has to go when the team is sitting in 5th place and been to the last 2 Scottish cup finals!

Great for him to make the effort to come for the game. Seemed a decent guy and hope he is smiling at the end of it.

@hibs.net private member Alex Trager's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Ken View Post
    That is hugely sweet

Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    Hopefully in the next 5 years or so we can get back to a situation where a Hibs manager has to go when the team is sitting in 5th place and been to the last 2 Scottish cup finals!
    What took you so long? ;-)

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    Failed to turn up in consecutive Scottish cup finals, and took a record pumping in Europe. I'm in nae rush to get back to that.

You need only play well for 4/5 games to reach a cup final. It could be your day to play well on cup days. Better managers better players havent got near cup finals and Pat Fenlon proved to me it doesnt take a great manager or even a great team to get to a final it takes 4/5 wins over the course of 3/4 months.

Unfortunatley for us it has been one game to many in the final or when getting knocked out that was just one of those days. I am very hopeful that tomorrow isnt a game we lose, think we are just due that wee win.

Quote Originally Posted by HibbySpurs View Post
    Good on him.

Personal opinion is we would still be in the Premier if he hadn't been bulleted.
    That is an absolute certainty