Thread: Players Value

First Team Breakthrough since90plustwo's Avatar

Gamertag: FIN1875

Players Value

Realistically, how much would you think it would take to prise our players away from us (not including add ons or anything)? Going by last nights teamsheet..

Oxley - 100-200k
    Gray - 100k
    Fontaine - 60-100k
    McGregor - 300k
    Stevenson - 200k
    Keatings - 150k
    Bartley - 300k
    McGinn - 1.5m
    Cummings - 1m

El Alagui - 50k
    Handling - 100k
    Boyle - 150k
    Thomson - 50k
    Dagnall - 70k

Hanlon - 750k
    Fyvvie - 300k
    McGeoch - 500k

Quote Originally Posted by finlayhughes View Post
    Realistically, how much would you think it would take to prise our players away from us (not including add ons or anything)? Going by last nights teamsheet..

Oxley - 100-200k
    Gray - 100k
    Fontaine - 60-100k
    McGregor - 300k
    Stevenson - 200k
    Keatings - 150k
    Bartley - 300k
    McGinn - 1.5m
    Cummings - 1m

El Alagui - 50k
    Handling - 100k
    Boyle - 150k
    Thomson - 50k
    Dagnall - 70k

Hanlon - 750k
    Fyvvie - 300k
    McGeoch - 500k
    Cummings and McGinn probably worth quite a bit more, Fyvie and McGeouch maybe about right and the rest will be way less. Infact there will be quite a few with little to no transfer value at all.

Dundee just let Thomson walk out the door for free?
    Handling has already been told he can leave for free.
    Only McGinn and Cummings would attract a fee at all just now.

Quote Originally Posted by finlayhughes View Post

Oxley - free
    Gray - free
    Fontaine - free
    McGregor - free
    Stevenson - free
    Keatings - free
    Bartley - free
    McGinn - 2-3m
    Cummings - 1-2m

El Alagui - free
    Handling - free
    Boyle - free
    Thomson - free
    Dagnall - free

Hanlon - free
    Fyvvie - free
    McGeoch - free
    Based on the real world and clubs who have money to buy a player wanting and being able to buy ours/hibs being willing to sell/let go....

@hibs.net private member Fergus52's Avatar

Gamertag: Zazu rafike
    Quote Originally Posted by SeanWilson View Post
    Based on the real world and clubs who have money to buy a player wanting and being able to buy ours/hibs being willing to sell/let go....
    Hanlon for free, aye?

Quote Originally Posted by Fergus52 View Post
    Hanlon for free, aye?
    He's out of contract.

Quote Originally Posted by Fergus52 View Post
    Hanlon for free, aye?
    Based on the real world and clubs willing to pay a fee/us wanting to let him go..... Has he signed a new deal yet?

Dylan would never be worth half a million at the moment. He has had far too many injuries in a short space of time. This depreciates a players value

Be amazed if anyone paid over 2 million for McGinn at the moment. Celtic paid 1.5/1.6 for Stuart Armstrong last year and he had been a stand out in the top league for 2-3 years.

Quote Originally Posted by giro playboy View Post
    Dylan would never be worth half a million at the moment. He has had far too many injuries in a short space of time. This depreciates a players value
    Yea. He is far too injury prone to be worth that.

They're only worth what someone would be willing to pay and the club willing to accept. Only McGinn and Cummings would be worth over 100k I would reckon (although those two would realistically be worth around 600-800K).

Fyvie could be a core player in any SPL midfield for 10 years, would be mad to let him for free.

@hibs.net private member R'Albin's Avatar

Gamertag: Razza96
    Taking real life contracts out of the situation (as I can't be arsed finding them all) and imaging they all had two years remaining, this is what I believe Hibs would be willing to sell at:

Oxley - FREE
    Gray - 40k
    Fontaine - 60k
    McGregor - 100k
    Stevenson - 40k
    Keatings - 40k
    Bartley - 75m
    McGinn - 1.5m
    Cummings - 1m

El Alagui - FREE
    Handling - FREE
    Boyle - 20k
    Thomson - 10k
    Dagnall - 10k

Hanlon - 1m
    Fyvie - 500k
    McGeouch - 1m

There's so many factors to something like this though which makes it impossible to be anywhere near accurate. For example, Hibs may be willing to allow David Gray to leave if we were getting another right back in order to get him off the wage bill. As well as what period it is in the transfer window among other things.

we could do with knowing Hendersons value and whether we can afford it.

Quote Originally Posted by R'Albin View Post
    Taking real life contracts out of the situation (as I can't be arsed finding them all) and imaging they all had two years remaining, this is what I believe Hibs would be willing to sell at:

Oxley - FREE
    Gray - 40k
    Fontaine - 60k
    McGregor - 100k
    Stevenson - 40k
    Keatings - 40k
    Bartley - 75m
    McGinn - 1.5m
    Cummings - 1m

El Alagui - FREE
    Handling - FREE
    Boyle - 20k
    Thomson - 10k
    Dagnall - 10k

Hanlon - 1m
    Fyvie - 500k
    McGeouch - 1m

There's so many factors to something like this though which makes it impossible to be anywhere near accurate. For example, Hibs may be willing to allow David Gray to leave if we were getting another right back in order to get him off the wage bill. As well as what period it is in the transfer window among other things.
    You certainly rate Bartley!

@hibs.net private member R'Albin's Avatar

Gamertag: Razza96
    Quote Originally Posted by bernz View Post
    You certainly rate Bartley!
    I was worried I underrated him

Left by mutual consent! majorhibs's Avatar
    Another guffy thread that does Hibs nae good, but plenty takers, life wi nae internet & its adherents, back tae the good stuff, would dae me. Experts in the pub could be outdrunk, but the sober slavers never end.

They should keep McGinn for as long as possible.
    if we are promoted and he continues to have the same impact and stays fit his value will keep rising.
    Probably worth £1million at the moment.
    In two years that could easily rise to at least £3 million.
    A class act.

Cummings has a lot to learn.
    Importantly he has a strikers instinct.
    That alone is valuable.
    However, he needs to improve his decision making and awareness.
    Hopefully this will come in time.
    At the moment he just gets the heid doon and goes at defenders totally unaware of the position of team mates around him.
    probably only worth £500k at the moment.
    Think he would badly fail in the English Championship at the moment.
    Needs to stay at Hibs and develop his game.
    could even try to work on his right foot!

Of the others who belong to Hibs
    Bartley, Hanlon and Fyvie are valuable to us with the last two still developing.

McGeogh's injury problems are a worry. He is our quarterback, the link between midfield and the forwards. Worth nothing at the moment but £300-500k if fit.

As I see it all of the 6 players in my posts above have a long term place in an improving team.

None of the other players are worth a bean and could be replaced by better players if we can find and afford them in the future.

Does anyone think any other players than the 6 named above should be kept long term.

It would be great if we could keep Henderson but I can't see Celtic parting with him.
    He will be a large void to fill next season.

Sorry, forgot about McGregor.
    Worth nothing on the transfer fee front but a great player for us.
    Gutted to see he is 30 but could still be a vital player for us for another 4 seasons?
    That makes 7.

McGregor
    Hanlon
    McGinn
    Fyvie
    McGeogh
    Bartley
    Cummings

A great basis for a potentially great team

Quote Originally Posted by TheFall View Post
    Cummings has a lot to learn.
    Importantly he has a strikers instinct.
    That alone is valuable.
    However, he needs to improve his decision making and awareness.
    Hopefully this will come in time.
    At the moment he just gets the heid doon and goes at defenders totally unaware of the position of team mates around him.
    probably only worth £500k at the moment.
    Think he would badly fail in the English Championship at the moment.
    Needs to stay at Hibs and develop his game.
    could even try to work on his right foot!
    Pish. He's at least as good as Fletcher was at this stage. Both are/were completely one-footed. Fletcher has managed a decent career at low level EPL teams and Jason will do the same at some point. You must realise playing with better players raises their game as well. Also, there is huge money available in England that it would ludicrous to let a talent like Jason go for sweeties.

Player are only valued what people are prepared to pay.

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by majorhibs View Post
    Another guffy thread that does Hibs nae good, but plenty takers, life wi nae internet & its adherents, back tae the good stuff, would dae me. Experts in the pub could be outdrunk, but the sober slavers never end.
    Brilliant
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

Quote Originally Posted by Geo_1875 View Post
    Pish. He's at least as good as Fletcher was at this stage. Both are/were completely one-footed. Fletcher has managed a decent career at low level EPL teams and Jason will do the same at some point. You must realise playing with better players raises their game as well. Also, there is huge money available in England that it would ludicrous to let a talent like Jason go for sweeties.
    I don't disagree with what you say about Cummings other than the comparison with Fletcher.
    The thrust of my post is captured in the sentence of my post you highlighted i.e. he is not ready to move at the moment.

He needs another 2 seasons at Hibs to become stronger, improve his link and hold up play etc to a level that a big move would be a success for him.
    This would obviously benefit Hibs including his value increasing 4 fold.

I am concerned that he has IIRC the same agent as Scott Allan.
    There is a right and wrong time to move and his agent may not be the right person to advise on that given the conflict of interests.

Re Fletcher. He was 22 when he moved (Cummings is only 20) had played twice as many games as Cummings currently has, had been Voted Scottish Young Player of the Year a couple of times and importantly was playing and scoring for Scotland.
    He was not as good a goal scorer as Cummings but a far better footballer with great technique, link up and hold up play.
    Time will tell.
    Last edited by TheFall; 18-03-2016 at 02:21 PM. Reason: Tidy up

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    Player are only valued what people are prepared to pay.

And as we're not in a transfer window, nobody is able to pay anything so technically the players are worthless.

By the time the next transfer window opens all the players could be premier league players and medal winners which will multiply their values.

Alternatively they might be players with a track record of failing to get out of a piss-poor division, a track record of blowing chances to win trophies or may even have picked up a long-term injury.

Basically - I think it's hard to put a price on a player right now.

Particularly at a time when Chinese clubs can come in and pay silly money for relatively obscure players.

Yeah, the Chinese market is a real game changer

Quote Originally Posted by majorhibs View Post

Pretty much where I'm at...(but a bit less confrontational )

Quote Originally Posted by Geo_1875 View Post
    Have a word, Fletcher was a better player in a better league and scored 2 goals for us in a cup final. Jason will do very well to have a career as good as Fletcher.