Hearts and sectarianism

Not using this as point scoring in any shape or form, merely interested for your opinions on the matter.

Below is a photo from yesterday of a couple of Hearts fans up at Dundee. Celebrating Britishness next to a Nazi salute has always baffled me...

Anyway the reason I was posting was as a slightly younger fan, I was interested to see if people feel their relation to sectarian behaviour has increased or decreased over the last few decades? Interested for your thoughts

https://www.facebook.com/30243937663...type=3&theater

(Can't work out how to post a photo, apologies for the link)

Gamertag: xoROOSKYox
    3 little tramps. That is all.
    Combined age of about 28.

@hibs.net private member Hibby70's Avatar

Gamertag: Hibby70
    That boy in the middle has lost all of his dignity as well as his teeth.

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    We have our own Union Flag, extended arm saluting weirdos. Funny, I questioned it on social media, was challenged and looked at the boys posts. Funnily enough he was a fan of EDL and was asking me if the could'nt be Scottish and British. Eh, aye whatever.

I started watching Hibs 40 years ago and there is no doubt the level of sectarianism has fallen dramatically over the years as has racism and homophobia. Hibs fans have done better than most. Unfortunately, most clubs have there ********s and the ugly sisters have stand fulls of them. Even Hearts didnt belt out Billy boys on Tuesday for the first time in a long time.

Quote Originally Posted by wookie70 View Post
    I started watching Hibs 40 years ago and there is no doubt the level of sectarianism has fallen dramatically over the years as has racism and homophobia. Hibs fans have done better than most. Unfortunately, most clubs have there ********s and the ugly sisters have stand fulls of them. Even Hearts didnt belt out Billy boys on Tuesday for the first time in a long time.
    That's what made me think to bring it up, it was the first derby I could remember in years where that wasn't sung, even by a minority

Quote Originally Posted by Malongoals View Post
    https://www.facebook.com/30243937663...type=3&theater

(Can't work out how to post a photo, apologies for the link)
    I'd be more concerned if I was a wee Jambo laddie on the left as it looks like his Jambo sister has also travelled up to Dundee with their bairn looking to get the child maintenance that he owes.

I would arrest them all anyway just for being Jambos.

The vast majority of the Hearts fans I know are good folk who support their team. They've always had minority of bigoted clowns who mimic The Rangers, but they seem to be on the decline, in line with prejudice in most areas of society. Obviously, it isn't something that can be eradicated overnight, but Scotland (The Rangers excepted) is a more tolerant place than it was even a generation ago. We're a multicultural society, and the vast majority recognise this; indeed, most welcome it. I wouldn't take the daftie kids in that picture to be a fair representation of the wider Hearts support. More than ever, the rivalry between the Edinburgh teams is purely football based, largely free from the religious and political intolerance of Glasgow.

that oddball yin in the middle looks like he's straight out of the set of the film Deliverance, what an odd looking creature
    Last edited by cabbageandribs1875; 21-02-2016 at 01:15 AM.

They will argue it's the red hand of Ulster.

Glad our club remember our roots but don't celebrate stupid politics.

Quote Originally Posted by Malongoals View Post
    That's what made me think to bring it up, it was the first derby I could remember in years where that wasn't sung, even by a minority
    The only reason they didn't sing that was because they were singing hee haw for 90 mins due to getting humped by the Cabbage.

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    Whilst they are just three kids who will hopefully grow out of that kind of posturing, the facts are that they will probably grow up to be the obnoxious total pain in ***** like the vast majority of Hearts fans are. With some mild sectarianism thrown in for good measure.

I'd love to think that they will refrain from singing their bile but as has been said thatsbeen more to do with them realising they ain't very good and we are a damn tough team right now. Most hertz fans I just find annoying and find it futile to have a conversation about football. The sad thing was only 2 years ago that there was 2 thousand of them singing the Billy boys. I'm sure Queen budge would like to get rid of the hardcore bigots but will happily take their money. I'm immensely proud to support a club where any ism is unacceptable and it's up to other clubs to follow suit. Unfortunately as Scottish football is driven by the bigot Bros and their charming rivalry it's unlikely that we will be rid of it in many a generation.

@hibs.net private member Simkin911's Avatar
    I could use a few words but pathetic is probably sufficient.

Tramps who are still living in the past while watching Football Factory on a sat morning to get them going.

Where did they get the flag? Poundland? It's not even close to the correct colour.

I drink in a pub that's full of them and I reckon only one is sectarian. The rest would be offend as we are with Nazi salutes, I think if their parents saw this photo they'd slap the little ****s senseless. Surely you can support your club without that crap. 30 years ago republican songs were sung by Hibs fans but they were stamped out by the fans. I have never heard Hibs fans sing racist or homophobic songs but there is no doubt we have some supporters who are right wing

@hibs.net private member malcolm's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by mjhibby View Post
    I'd love to think that they will refrain from singing their bile but as has been said thatsbeen more to do with them realising they ain't very good and we are a damn tough team right now. Most hertz fans I just find annoying and find it futile to have a conversation about football. The sad thing was only 2 years ago that there was 2 thousand of them singing the Billy boys. I'm sure Queen budge would like to get rid of the hardcore bigots but will happily take their money. I'm immensely proud to support a club where any ism is unacceptable and it's up to other clubs to follow suit. Unfortunately as Scottish football is driven by the bigot Bros and their charming rivalry it's unlikely that we will be rid of it in many a generation.
    I'd be devastated if we did not support our forwards' opportunism in and around the box

Quote Originally Posted by LithgaeHibby View Post
    The only reason they didn't sing that was because they were singing hee haw for 90 mins due to getting humped by the Cabbage.
    Exactly what I was going to say. They lost Tuesday's game in the last 10 mins at Tiny so were on a downer.

Quote Originally Posted by wookie70 View Post
    Agree with this. Hearts fans are as against sectarianism as we are.

Whether it's falling amongst old firm supports is another question.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Where did they get the flag? Poundland? It's not even close to the correct colour.
    Everything they touch turns to pink like some sissy version of King Midas.

Hearts can at least say it's a genuine small minority among their support.
    I'm pleased to say it's almost non existent at Hibs now.
    The page appears to be taken down so can't see the photo.

Found it.

@hibs.net private member erin go bragh's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    Hearts can at least say it's a genuine small minority among their support.
    I'm pleased to say it's almost non existent at Hibs now.
    The page appears to be taken down so can't see the photo.

It wasn't a small minority singing about Tony Mowbrays dead wife or Dean Sheils one eye . Huns without the bus fares when dead Rangers were winning everything . Now there just diet Huns .

PSN ID: JonnyLifeForce

Found it.

It's like three wee boys tried to dress up like casuals from the 80s for Halloween

Quote Originally Posted by Holmesdale Hibs View Post
    Agree with this. Hearts fans are as against sectarianism as we are.
    Not all of them it would seem.

Look up Heart of Midlothian Flute Band, and their hangers on.

Quote Originally Posted by emerald green View Post
    Not all of them it would seem.

Look up Heart of Midlothian Flute Band, and their hangers on.
    I'm not so sure that crowd has got any connection to the fitba club at all.

Found it.

That is quite possibly the worst attempt at casual attire I have ever seen...

Found it.

Why do you think the guy in the middle has a glove puppet?