Thread: Aidan Connolly

Aidan Connolly

I see this young guy's leaving D Utd. When I first saw a him playing in a few highlights he looked a really good young player in the making. Looks like his confidence has been shot since. I suppose he's another player playing in a position we've already got plenty of competition, but I still reckon he could have been a good player for a team like Hibs. Thoughts?

Quote Originally Posted by ekhibee View Post
    I see this young guy's leaving D Utd. When I first saw a him playing in a few highlights he looked a really good young player in the making. Looks like his confidence has been shot since. I suppose he's another player playing in a position we've already got plenty of competition, but I still reckon he could have been a good player for a team like Hibs. Thoughts?
    He was linked to Hibs in the last window, Stanton/Connolly swap. Can't get in the United team though

Noticed Mcgowan has left United too, back to China

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    Mixu dismantling the team there?!

@hibs.net private member GordonHFC's Avatar
    Thought he was supposed to be signing a pre contract with Abersheep?

Quote Originally Posted by Iain G View Post
    Mixu dismantling the team there?!
    They are not really a team anyway. He has to do something.

@hibs.net private member NORTHERNHIBBY's Avatar
    Needs strong characters up for the fight.

Good to see Mixu getting in about it.

They've got a stinking squad of players and nae money so he had to try something. My mate says he's been starting to get abuse these past few weeks so it's good to see he's not taking it lying down and by shipping out big earners and players who aren't cutting it at least he stands a chance of doing some wheeling and dealing and turning it around.

I'm no Dundee United fan whatsoever but I'd love to see the big guy turn this around (although obviously not at our cost). He was a great player for us and he got a raw deal from us as manager (I include myself in this) and I'd like to see him succeed from what is a difficult situation.

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar

Was he not one of their better defenders?

@hibs.net private member hibees 7062's Avatar
    Sheep wanted McGowan

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    Was he not one of their better defenders?
    Naw, he's been brutal for them whenever I've seen them. He'll probably have been on a decent wage and they can get better IMO. Was hoping he'd sign for Aberdeen or Hearts again so disappointed to hear he's off to China.

Connolly has looked ok when i've seen him, but the fact he can't get in a terrible Dundee United team speaks volumes.

Surprised to see McGowan has left, though personally if he's in China he's not far enough away.

Hope Mixu can turn things around, dyou think he'll get the sack if they go down?

They must have got wind of this news over there, hence the recent economic growth figures being the worst they've been for 25 years.

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    Surprised to see McGowan has left, though personally if he's in China he's not far enough away.

Hope Mixu can turn things around, dyou think he'll get the sack if they go down?
    Is Mixu's contract not up at the end of the season or did they give him a 2 year deal? Either way, reckon he'll be gone when they go down.

Quote Originally Posted by DH1875 View Post
    Is Mixu's contract not up at the end of the season or did they give him a 2 year deal? Either way, reckon he'll be gone when they go down.
    Not sure mate, I'd imagine he would go if they go down.

@hibs.net private member Stevie Reid's Avatar
    Connolly looked a good wee player on the few occasions that I saw him, always looking to get on the ball and make things happen. Must be one of the smallest players to ever play in the SPL mind you, he's tiny.

Would be surprised if we pursued him.

Testimonial Due NadeAteMyLunch!'s Avatar
    McGowan is an utter tubesteak. Just thought I'd add that.

Dun Utd are down no matter what Mixu does, it's to big a job, and Hamilton are doing what we did, sinking like a stone. It would be ironic if we don't win this league, that we could be facing them in the play off!!

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Connolly has signed for Raith Rovers until the end of the season.

@hibs.net private member Bayern Bru's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Stevie Reid View Post
    Connolly looked a good wee player on the few occasions that I saw him, always looking to get on the ball and make things happen. Must be one of the smallest players to ever play in the SPL mind you, he's tiny.

Would be surprised if we pursued him.
    5ft 4in - same height as Feruz, actually.

Didn't realise he was Paddy Connolly's son! (Aidan, not Feruz).

See they are wanting to send out Charlie Telfer on loan as well.