Thread: Eh?

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar

Eh?

Dundee-Celtic: United States could host Scottish Premiership match - http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/34906274

Sent via the bushes @ EM

Just heard it on radio trying for Boston or Philadelphia

WTF? Nae famous involved!

Dundee are well known in the States
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

Can we not keep the domestic competitions domestic, please?

If this is the direction football is going then I'm not interested.

Testimonial Due Billychaotic182's Avatar

Gamertag: Billy Chaotic PSN ID: BillyChaotic
    Nothing wrong with thus. The NFL come to the U.K. For games

@hibs.net private member GreenLake's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Baldy Foghorn View Post
    Dundee are well known in the States
    The Americans like Dundee Cake.

Quote Originally Posted by southern hibby View Post
    Just heard it on radio trying for Boston or Philadelphia

Boston would make sense if it's Celtic they're going to show, considering the large amount of people from Irish descent who live there.

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    Wonder if Dundee season ticket holders - i.e. supporters who have paid to watch the game - will be pleased.

Outsourcing competitive games will be the death of football, at least to the fans.

Dundee are only five points above the playoff spot. However have they spoiled the suspense by arranging a game for next season in effing USA. I admire their confidence, if not their arrogance. If we don't get automatic promotion, I'd love us to meet Dundee in the playoffs final. Get the passports out folks.

I am sure I heard correctly on the evening news (stv?) that the owner of Dundee was a texas business man? or someone from o'er the pond and that's what this is all about.

just read the link. canny see any problem with it. business is business, nothing personal and all that. hope the Dee dinnae end up sleeping with the fishes:

London Irish are going to play a league game over there next season as well. If it helps promote our game then I'm lol for it.

United we stand here....

@hibs.net private member worcesterhibby's Avatar
    I hate modern football

I just want one crack at heckling Scott Allen.

Quote Originally Posted by Billychaotic182 View Post
    Season ticket holders might disagree that there's nothing wrong with it. Doing them out a game.

Quote Originally Posted by Billychaotic182 View Post
    That's because they are trying to expand their league and sport beyond their own borders. Unless we are planning on opening a franchise over there it seems to be no more than a vanity project.

Hope clubs respond in their pricing of season tickets

Would be good if Celtic just stay there after the game an aw!

Quote Originally Posted by AZhibee View Post
    You'll need to get there early and catch him getting off the team bus...

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    The part of the article that really had me shaking my head was that the Tims are considering setting up a franchise in the US!

They'd better not play at Fenway!!!
    Last edited by Sylar; 24-11-2015 at 06:55 AM.

First Team Breakthrough Coults1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by AZhibee View Post
    Who?

@hibs.net private member LancsHibs's Avatar
    This is all for Celtic who will be pushing it, it will be packaged as the SPFL wanting to promote our game in the U.S. But that's bull the yanks won't be interested in our game, they are promoting their own MLS to their general public. This is about Celtic wanting to tap into the merchandise market over there and where better than Boston already has a basketball team the Boston Celtics and a plastic oirish population that dwarfs Parkheads!

Quote Originally Posted by LancsHibs View Post
    This is all for Celtic who will be pushing it, it will be packaged as the SPFL wanting to promote our game in the U.S. But that's bull the yanks won't be interested in our game, they are promoting their own MLS to their general public. This is about Celtic wanting to tap into the merchandise market over there and where better than Boston already has a basketball team the Boston Celtics and a plastic oirish population that dwarfs Parkheads!
    Yep.

Let's be honest the Americans aren't going to suddenly give up on the NFL, NBA, NHL, MLS, MLB and the various college sport championships to start watching the SPFL regardless of how aggressively we market it. It's all about allowing Celtic a wee money making jaunt and dressing it up as 'promoting our game'.

They'd be better off trying to promote our game positively in this country before worrying about the US. Every time anyone from the league, media, SFA etc speaks it seems to be doom and gloom.

Modern football is rubbish. Rebuild the terraces.

Quote Originally Posted by monktonharp View Post
    just read the link. canny see any problem with it. business is business, nothing personal and all that. hope the Dee dinnae end up sleeping with the fishes:
    You see no problem with playing a home league game 3,000 miles from home, in a different country? The NFL do it but those teams are franchises. We should be more protective of our heritage.

By the way, there is a huge opportunity for Hibs in North Eastern USA. I would love us to do a summer tour there. But not moving League games.

Yep.

Let's be honest the Americans aren't going to suddenly give up on the NFL, NBA, NHL, MLS, MLB and the various college sport championships to start watching the SPFL regardless of how aggressively we market it. It's all about allowing Celtic a wee money making jaunt and dressing it up as 'promoting our game'.

They'd be better off trying to promote our game positively in this country before worrying about the US. Every time anyone from the league, media, SFA etc speaks it seems to be doom and gloom.
    Americans wouldn't have to give up any of the sports you mentioned to take an interest in Scottish football. I watch loads of other sports whilst retaining my passion for Scottish football. If we can make some money from selling our game to American tv networks, then why shouldn't we try?

United we stand here....

Surely no matter how much they want it, EUFA and FIFA will say no.

EPL tried it a couple of seasons ago didn't they? Looking to play a 39th round of fixtures and the powers that be were against it.

A promotion exercise for Sellik, nothing more, nothing less. How will a game that empties all the plastic paddy O'rish bars in Boston to watch them demolish a sacrificial lamb like Dundee help promote Scottish football in general or Dundee in particular?

The Celts would be better doing something about their domestic audience .... I could be wrong, but from the pictures on Sportscene on Sunday if the actual crowd inside Darkheid was over 30,000 I'm a Yam.

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    Americans wouldn't have to give up any of the sports you mentioned to take an interest in Scottish football. I watch loads of other sports whilst retaining my passion for Scottish football. If we can make some money from selling our game to American tv networks, then why shouldn't we try?
    If American TV networks want to pay for Scottish football that is played in Scotland then barry. Thats not what is being proposed here though is it?

They can ram their stupid idea.