40 57.14%
  • Hibbie

24 34.29%
  • Other

6 8.57%

Hibees or Hibbies

For a bit of fun.

I've noticed a few times that some people use the term Hibbies on here and Twitter. Other like myself write it as Hibees.

I've always written Hibees or singular Hibby.

What is your preferred option or do you have a completely different spelling

Hibees is correct imo.

As the song says 'Hibee hibernian'. Not hibby hibernian

@hibs.net private member mutley's Avatar

PSN ID: mutley074
    It's a tough one, but i suppose I would say that I am a Hibby that supports the Hibees.

Not that it matters as we are all one big happy Hibee family.

Just interested to see what most of us write or say when we talk about ourselves.

i am a hibby, we are the hibees, male hibs fans are hibby's...a single female hibs fan is a hibbyette, a group of female hibs fans are hibbyettes...end of

Quote Originally Posted by cabbageandribs1875 View Post
    i am a hibby, we are the hibees, male hibs fans are hibby's...female hibs fans are hibbyettes

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    i am a hibby, we are the hibees, male hibs fans are hibby's...female hibs fans are hibbyettes

Please tell me you aren't serious.

I am a Hibee. End of.
    Last edited by --------; 02-11-2015 at 11:02 AM.

oh aye and something else

it was the coo shed, it was never a 'cave' caves are underground dammit...therefore>>> it WAS the coo shed...or cow shed for politeness

Team: Hibees

One Fan: Hibby

Two Or More Fans: Hibbies.

One fan: Hibee
    2 or more fans: Hibees

Simple.

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibayernian View Post

Correct.

And an individual Hibs player is a Hibee (unless of course they're a Hibs-supporting Hibee, which would make them a Hibby).

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    Quote Originally Posted by Albanian Hibs View Post
    One fan: Hibee
    2 or more fans: Hibees

Simple.

I've always been a Hibee.
    Mature, sensible signature required for responsible position. Good prospects for the right candidate. Apply within.

Sums it up perfectly.

Me, my auld man, my laddie and my late grandad are all, or were, Hibby's that support the Hibees

I say someone's 'a good Hibby' and that I'm off to see the Hibees

Hibbie for me ..

i am a hibby, we are the hibees, male hibs fans are hibby's...a single female hibs fan is a hibbyette, a group of female hibs fans are hibbyettes...end of
    We've just done a local straw poll, all four of us, and this is the answer

Many years ago, when the number 1 bus was a circle route, there used to be a guy who would get on somewhere around Fountainbridge iirc, and proudly, and repeatedly, announce to everyone on the bus, "Ah'm a Hibby".

I prefer to shout "Come on Hibs" than "Come on Hibees", but "Hibees, Hibees, Hibees" is fine.

I'm a Hibby and my pals are Hibbies. Female Hibs fans are Hibbies too.

Baby fans are Hibettes.

I'm a Hibby but when I'm at game I shout for the Hibees.

In my wee super duper Collins Scots dictionary, published 1995, it defines:

Hibee (pronounced High-bee or Hib-bee). A Hibee is a supporter of Hibernian Football Club, who are nicknamed the Hibees.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    This thread would be like shooting fish in a barrel for the Grammar Police.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    This thread would be like shooting fish in a barrel for the Grammar Police.
    Your avatar States you are a Hibs private members prediction winner there are also several members viewing this thread. I thought members' was the correct term, saying that I got c for o grade English so I'm sure someone will correct me

Correct

@hibs.net private member Speedy's Avatar

@hibs.net private member surreyhibbie's Avatar
    oh aye and something else

it was the coo shed, it was never a 'cave' caves are underground dammit...therefore>>> it WAS the coo shed...or cow shed for politeness
    Always called it the Cave, never heard it called the coo shed until a couple of years ago on here. Will always be the Cave to me !
    Alcohol IS the answer, but I forget the question...

Hibby`s , Hibee`s, Hib`s... or even Hibo`s... im a Hibby...

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Stax View Post
    Your avatar States you are a Hibs private members prediction winner there are also several members viewing this thread. I thought members' was the correct term, saying that I got c for o grade English so I'm sure someone will correct me
    I've no idea what my avatar states as I didn't write the accompanying text and I can't see it on my mobile anyway.

I am a Hibby, who along with other Hibbies goes to watch the Hibees.