Page 2 of 12 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Rugby World Cup

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    I wonder what the coach put in there half time drink?!!

change of personnel cotter was resting a few players and it backfired

Quote Originally Posted by cabbageandribs1875 View Post
    Glad they've brought Laidlaw on. Missed a couple of penalty kicks in the first half which Laidlaw would have probably converted. Need another quick try to settle the nerves.
    Last edited by iwasthere1972; 27-09-2015 at 02:59 PM.

yanks giving too many penalties away...a wee yellow card on the horizon me thinks

at last... and a wee brucie bonus

That will do.

Quote Originally Posted by iwasthere1972 View Post
    That will do.
    More like it but they need to keep grip

Quote Originally Posted by Colr View Post
    More like it but they need to keep grip
    I know. It's not over yet.

39-16 ft

at last... and a wee brucie bonus
    What do points make. Good game good game. Lets have a look at the old scoreboard.

Scotland 39 v USA 16

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    Nae danger. On to St James Park next week. Bring on the Boks!

Aye, I realised that.

The points system is mad. South Africa won one game but have seven points.

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    usual negative tactics from scotland when given a penalty...we ALWAYS want to take the 3 points even if the kick is from the halfway line, 6-3 up with USA already having very poor line-outs so what do we do...yup take a shot at goal from the halfway line with the penalty instead of kicking to touch for a line-out

That worked well for England last night ....

World Cups are won by squads, not XV's. Coach seems to be making sure everyone gets a game and no one plays longer than necessary to get the team through. I don't have a lot of time for egg-chucking, but those two games would have been real potential disasters for Scotland in the past, but they're through without damage and bonus points in both games. Scotland have a real chance of getting through this section, now.

Quote Originally Posted by Doddie View Post
    That worked well for England last night ....

World Cups are won by squads, not XV's. Coach seems to be making sure everyone gets a game and no one plays longer than necessary to get the team through. I don't have a lot of time for egg-chucking, but those two games would have been real potential disasters for Scotland in the past, but they're through without damage and bonus points in both games. Scotland have a real chance of getting through this section, now.

i'm willing to bet £5 on that :) alas, irrespective of whether we go through as winners or runners-up we would then play either Wales...Australia..or engerlundy
    Last edited by cabbageandribs1875; 27-09-2015 at 05:52 PM.

I'm a relative newbie to rugby apart from a few 6 nations games on tv,
    so In the position that they are in, who can explain why England are still 3rd favourite to win the tournament?
    ...scratching my head with that one.

http://www.oddschecker.com/rugby-uni...rld-cup/winner

Quote Originally Posted by seanshow View Post
    I'm a relative newbie to rugby apart from a few 6 nations games on tv,
    so In the position that they are in, who can explain why England are still 3rd favourite to win the tournament?
    ...scratching my head with that one.

http://www.oddschecker.com/rugby-uni...rld-cup/winner
    They have a decent record against Australia, who they have to beat next week. They were probably the better side last night. They are playing at home.

It's probably fair.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

The points system is mad. South Africa won one game but have seven points.
    Just bringing my earlier post forward. So did they get one point for their narrow defeat to Japan and six points for their victory against Samoa. Confused.

They got 2 points in the Japan game. 1 for scoring 4 tries and 1 for getting within 7 points.

They got 5 for the Samoa game.

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    They got 2 points in the Japan game. 1 for scoring 4 tries and 1 for getting within 7 points.

They got 5 for the Samoa game.

Thanks. Makes sense now. Didn't think you could get more than five points for winning a game. Still thinks it's a nonsense to get two points for losing.

The football analogy would be.....a team gets no credit for losing 6 -0, one credit for losing 6-3 and another for 6-5.

In the latter cases, they have contributed to the spectacle.

Last edited by CropleyWasGod; 28-09-2015 at 07:45 AM.

Just watched NZ V's Georgia. It wasn't a classic and so wasn't really much into it until, the commentator mentions "Scotland take on SA up in Newcastle at 16:30 tomorrow, and then after that ITS THE BIG ONE, England take on Australia". I found myself saying you arrogant dick, the world cup does not revolve around you. Our game is just as important than theirs as is who we're both playing.

New Zealand's handling is mince. They'll win the match at a canter but they don't look anywhere near the best in the competition.

Quote Originally Posted by fulshie View Post
    Just watched NZ V's Georgia. It wasn't a classic and so wasn't really much into it until, the commentator mentions "Scotland take on SA up in Newcastle at 16:30 tomorrow, and then after that ITS THE BIG ONE, England take on Australia". I found myself saying you arrogant dick, the world cup does not revolve around you. Our game is just as important than theirs as is who we're both playing.
    Think it's big for Engurland. If they don't win, they're oot.

I'm hoping for an upset this time round with New Zealand failing to win as they are expected to. Their arrogance and notion of devine right to win is pathetic. The degree of how ridiculously serious they take it was seen in 2007 when they were knocked out in the quarter finals by France. My daughter was working as a GP in New Zealand at that time and I remember her telling me that the number of people visiting her surgery in the days after the defeat was incredibly high. Apparently many people were so upset that returning to work was unthinkable. GP's were also advised to offer psychological councilling to any patients who were deemed to be particularly devastated by the result. It was like a national disaster.

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    New Zealand's handling is mince. They'll win the match at a canter but they don't look anywhere near the best in the competition.
    Think football World Cups. Think Germany :)

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    I'm hoping for an upset this time round with New Zealand failing to win as they are expected to. Their arrogance and notion of devine right to win is pathetic. The degree of how ridiculously serious they take it was seen in 2007 when they were knocked out in the quarter finals by France. My daughter was working as a GP in New Zealand at that time and I remember her telling me that the number of people visiting her surgery in the days after the defeat was incredibly high. Apparently many people were so upset that returning to work was unthinkable. GP's were also advised to offer psychological councilling to any patients who were deemed to be particularly devastated by the result. It was like a national disaster.
    Their arrogance as you call it is there due to decades and decades of hard work, training and playing harder, faster more skillful rugby than any other nation on the planet. They deserve to have a bit of arrogance as they are THE most successful sports team ever. I wish Scotland had the drive, determination and skill to be as " arrogant" as them, not just at rugby but at all sports. We won't win it unfortunately so I hope that the ABs do. Way better than England who are arrogant in the extreme with no real foundation for being so

Quote Originally Posted by weecounty hibby View Post
    Their arrogance as you call it is there due to decades and decades of hard work, training and playing harder, faster more skillful rugby than any other nation on the planet. They deserve to have a bit of arrogance as they are THE most successful sports team ever. I wish Scotland had the drive, determination and skill to be as " arrogant" as them, not just at rugby but at all sports. We won't win it unfortunately so I hope that the ABs do. Way better than England who are arrogant in the extreme with no real foundation for being so
    On reflection, I think my reference to arrogance and devine right was more related to the national fan base as opposed to the team itself, who I agree are a terrific team. My anecdote about the consequences of defeat on the moral of the nation still stands and I couldn't and still can't believe how the result of a sporting competition could have such a devastating effect on the lives of the inhabitants of a country.

so, unfortunately it was men v boys today against a country that we still won't beat within the next hundred years, now down to us only having to beat a side that were absolutely terrible v japan in the earlier game to advance to the QF..Samoa

Normally, I hate referees being the centre of attention.

Best bit of today, though, apart from the Scotland try of course..... was when the ref told off a brick s-house of a South African.......

who replied with "sorry, sir".

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Normally, I hate referees being the centre of attention.

Best bit of today, though, apart from the Scotland try of course..... was when the ref told off a brick s-house of a South African.......

who replied with "sorry, sir".

Didn't see the game as I was working but, the referee incident you refer to is superb.