First Team Breakthrough 7-Heaven's Avatar

No Game This Weekend?

There's probably an obvious an answer but why don't we have a game this weekend?

International callups

First Team Breakthrough 7-Heaven's Avatar
    Thank you

Hate these breaks for internationals, waste of a Saturday imo, need my Hibs fix.

McGinn, Cummings (both u-21s) and Martin (u-19s) have all been selected for Scotland so teams can cancel a game if three of their players are away on international duty.

Quote Originally Posted by Grumpy Auld Git View Post
    Hate these breaks for internationals, waste of a Saturday imo, need my Hibs fix.
    Crap.

Don't even have Scotland to watch since they're playing tomorrow and Monday.

Really dreading this weekend.

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Trig View Post
    Crap.

I`ll miss watching Hibs alright on Saturday, but it`s surely not that much of a hardship for one weekend

@hibs.net private member I'm_cabbaged's Avatar
    Crap.

Go oot tae the pub, have a pint or ten, lose a fortune at the bookies, go home with a takeaway and fall oot with the Mrs. That'll sort ye oot 😀

Quote Originally Posted by Carheenlea View Post
    I`ll miss watching Hibs alright on Saturday, but it`s surely not that much of a hardship for one weekend
    Saturdays are boring for me when I don't have a game to go to. Going to the football is just what I do on a Saturday, I don't even like it too much when our game's on the Sunday so to not have any game at all during the weekend will be torture.

I'll have the tennis to watch from 4pm but up until then will be a bore.

Saturdays are boring for me when I don't have a game to go to. Going to the football is just what I do on a Saturday, I don't even like it too much when our game's on the Sunday so to not have any game at all during the weekend will be torture.

There's not even any OF&H on UK Gold for you on Sat or Sun, must be a while since that's happened!

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    There's not even any OF&H on UK Gold for you on Sat or Sun, must be a while since that's happened!
    I know, I reckon I'll just need to start drinking as soon as I get in tomorrow night and keep going until Sunday lunch time.

Sounds like a normal weekend to me!

Testimonial Due The Harp Awakes's Avatar
    I see it's only our game that's off v Falkirk. The 4 other Championship games go ahead as planned. Thought Sevco would have cancelled

Quote Originally Posted by The Harp Awakes View Post
    I see it's only our game that's off v Falkirk. The 4 other Championship games go ahead as planned. Thought Sevco would have cancelled
    They have decided to stop all their non selected players going instead .

Quote Originally Posted by The Harp Awakes View Post
    Warburton "negotiated" with several FAs to prevent several Sevco players from being called up by their country, so they don't have the required number of players (three) away on international duty to justify a postponement.

Could turn out to be quite a smart psychological move if they pick up the three points.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Could turn out to be quite a smart psychological move if they pick up the three points.
    Possibly, just need to hope Raith Rovers are a wee bit better than they were last week.

I would have preferred to play the game Martin wouldn't have been playing anyway. Dropping 9 points behind puts more pressure on us.

United we stand here....

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    I would have preferred to play the game Martin wouldn't have been playing anyway. Dropping 9 points behind puts more pressure on us.
    Cummings is away as well.

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    Cummings and McGinn are two vital members, not only of our squad, but also our first XI so playing without either of them would have been difficult, particularly away against a decent side like Falkirk which will be hard enough anyway, even with a full squad to choose from.

If we had been playing the likes of Alloa or Livingston on Saturday then perhaps we may have been tempted to play the match.

I'm not sure The Rangers are going to get any psychological advantage. We need to win each week it's as simple as that.

Quote Originally Posted by allezsauzee View Post
    I'm not sure The Rangers are going to get any psychological advantage. We need to win each week it's as simple as that.
    Excatly this.. 96 points still available so not worried how many any team goes ahead of us. 96 is achievable

Go and watch an amateur or youth game. Or East of Scotland or Junior match.

Plenty to go and see. Some fresh air and will kill a couple of hours.

Could give our new, and currently injured, players some extra time?

Quote Originally Posted by Northern Hibby View Post
    Could give our new, and currently injured, players some extra time?
    Hopefully.......
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

Cummings and McGinn are two vital members, not only of our squad, but also our first XI so playing without either of them would have been difficult, particularly away against a decent side like Falkirk which will be hard enough anyway, even with a full squad to choose from.

If we had been playing the likes of Alloa or Livingston on Saturday then perhaps we may have been tempted to play the match.
    Frightening how far we have fallen.
    Would like to see us playing this weekend regardless of the call-ups.

Quote Originally Posted by Tory Hibby View Post
    Go and watch an amateur or youth game. Or East of Scotland or Junior match.

Plenty to go and see. Some fresh air and will kill a couple of hours.
    Good post. Most Hibees don't go to away games. Follow the nearest team to your home when Hibs are away.

@hibs.net private member Alfred E Newman's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by number9dream View Post
    Would like to see us playing this weekend regardless of the call-ups.
    Never mind, no doubt there will be plenty bleak mid week fixtures in December and January to make up for these International weekends.

Quote Originally Posted by number9dream View Post
    [QUOTE=number9dream;4460178]

Isn't it exactly the opposite? We're the only non top tier team with enough players representing our country that necessitates the game being postponed. Surely that means we're on the way back up?
    Separately, is Henderson not away with Scotland also or does he not get selected now that he's actually playing?

@hibs.net private member & Biggest, Funniest Slaver on hibs.net 2012 Pedantic_Hibee's Avatar
    Get yourselves to Forrester Park to see Tranent Juniors.

Suns oot, taps aff.
    "Play for the name on the front of the jersey and the supporters will remember the name on the back"