10 Biggest supports in Scotland

Always discussing various size of support --------thought I would at Twitter an see the number of followers for the various main clubs. Here is top ten.

Tic= 290k
    Huns=190k
    Sheep=44.6k
    Vermin=40.8k
    Hibees=33.9k
    Arabs=27.6k
    1986=19.2k
    Caley=16.3k (surprise)
    Perth Sts =16.3k

On this basis we are the 5th biggest supported team in Scotland. What do we think ? Considering the past few years I don't think that is too bad !!!

@hibs.net private member California-Hibs's Avatar

PSN ID: BringTheCairds
    You're basing these numbers off of....Twitter?!

I don't even use Twitter, as don't many other Hibee friends I know.

Quote Originally Posted by JOD View Post
    Always discussing various size of support --------thought I would at Twitter an see the number of followers for the various main clubs. Here is top ten.

Tic= 290k
    Huns=190k
    Sheep=44.6k
    Vermin=40.8k
    Hibees=33.9k
    Arabs=27.6k
    1986=19.2k
    Caley=16.3k (surprise)
    Perth Sts =16.3k

On this basis we are the 5th biggest supported team in Scotland. What do we think ? Considering the past few years I don't think that is too bad !!!
    Surely attendance stats will confirm we have the 5th best crowds in the country - even in the second tier? And not having a go bud, but this "size" type of thing isn't what I'd expect from our side of Edinburgh.

@hibs.net private member Mr White's Avatar
    They missed a zero off the yams figure

Quote Originally Posted by California-Hibs View Post
    You're basing these numbers off of....Twitter?!

I don't even use Twitter, as don't many other Hibee friends I know.

Causes too much trouble out of nothing

@hibs.net private member & Biggest, Funniest Slaver on hibs.net 2012 Pedantic_Hibee's Avatar
    ICT get a big following due to the boy that does their Twitter.
    "Play for the name on the front of the jersey and the supporters will remember the name on the back"

Quote Originally Posted by Pedantic_Hibee View Post
    ICT get a big following due to the boy that does their Twitter.
    What's he so good at?

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    What's he so good at?
    I'm not sure I want to know.

@hibs.net private member FitbaFolkKen's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by peter douglas View Post
    I'm not sure I want to know.
    A lot of the followers came from the Celtic semi, story is here.

@hibs.net private member LancsHibs's Avatar
    What is this Twitter??

Quote Originally Posted by LancsHibs View Post
    What is this Twitter??
    It's just a Scottish fad

Saw thread title and assumed it was because we`re playing Morton tomorrow . Until only a few years ago they had a good support ( bigger than at least 4 of the Premiership teams now ) and I hope they help our funds by having at least 1000 at ER tomorrow .

Testimonial Due Stokesy's on fire's Avatar

Tic= 290k
    Huns=190k
    Sheep=44.6k
    Vermin=40.8k
    Hibees=33.9k
    Arabs=27.6k
    1986=19.2k
    Caley=16.3k (surprise)
    Perth Sts =16.3k

Yams hate to say it have loads more fans than the sheep. But twitters no measure of a support. The sheeps Twitter had less followers than Hibs up until they won a cup then they crawled out the woodwork. ICT account is banter I follow that for a laugh
    Last edited by Stokesy's on fire; 14-08-2015 at 09:22 PM.

@hibs.net private member Galahibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by mchibee View Post
    A lot of the followers came from the Celtic semi, story is here.
    That's brilliant!

Don't have twitter either.

What on earth has the amount of twitter followers got to do with a clubs support?

Jeez folks lighten up !!! I was only looking at Twitter to compare interest in our major clubs to see how we stood up and as in every club there will be supporters who havnae a clue what

social media is !!!

Some posters on here awfy sensitive nowadays. :-)))

@hibs.net private member Frazerbob's Avatar
    I would say those Twitter figures are a pretty accurate reflection of actual support size. I would possibly swap Aberdeen & Hearts and definitely swap St Johnstone and ICT, other than that, spot on. Where are Motherwell, Killie, Partick & Hamilton?

Jeez folks lighten up !!! I was only looking at Twitter to compare interest in our major clubs to see how we stood up and as in every club there will be supporters who havnae a clue what

social media is !!!

Some posters on here awfy sensitive nowadays. :-)))
    Good work ! Looking forward to your supermarket survey.

Quote Originally Posted by Frazerbob View Post
    I would say those Twitter figures are a pretty accurate reflection of actual support size. I would possibly swap Aberdeen & Hearts and definitely swap St Johnstone and ICT, other than that, spot on. Where are Motherwell, Killie, Partick & Hamilton?
    Would defo have thought Partick would have been top 10. Do they not have a few celeb fans and fans in the media who would follow them but not go to games?

Quote Originally Posted by stoneyburn hibs View Post
    Good work ! Looking forward to your supermarket survey.

being done as I type

:-) those little faces don't work on my PC :-(

Quote Originally Posted by Frazerbob View Post
    Oops missed Well=19.2k

Buddies=13.6k
    Killie=13.2k
    Partick=12.5k
    Bairns=10.4k

All others -10k

Staggies=2.4k pretty accurate reflection of supports I'd say.

These are all people who like the club aren't able to or don't go along to ever game?

They are the people in the queue for the next cup final ticket allocation.

@hibs.net private member LaMotta's Avatar

Tic= 290k
    Huns=190k
    Sheep=44.6k
    Vermin=40.8k
    Hibees=33.9k
    Arabs=27.6k
    1986=19.2k
    Caley=16.3k (surprise)
    Perth Sts =16.3k

Facebook page likes:

Celtic 1.368 million
    Rangers 491.5k
    Aberdeen 65.5k
    Hibernian 45.4k
    Dundee United 38.2k
    Heart of Midlothian 27k
    St Johnstone 22k
    Motherwell 20.4k
    Dunfermline 15.9k
    St mirren 14k
    Falkirk 9.7k
    ICT 7.8k
    Partick thistle 7.2k
    Raith Rovers 3.5k

Compare this to random English teams

Stoke 560k
    NUFC 1.69M
    Man United 66m
    Man City 19.4m
    Chelsea 43m
    Liverpool 25.9m
    Everton 2.1m
    Bournemouth 125k
    Norwich 562k
    Doncaster 125k
    Rotherham 27.7k
    Cardiff City 452k
    Swansea 948k

Is it true most tweeters are only able to use one hand?

The only numbers that really matter are the numbers passing through the turnstiles.

Quote Originally Posted by emerald green View Post
    The only numbers that really matter are the numbers passing through the turnstiles.
    In the old days maybe.

Nowadays even having a big support can only take you so far.

I'd hazard a guess that Hibs are as big a team as Swansea -in terms of core support- and check the difference in resources

@hibs.net private member Frazerbob's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CelticEnd View Post
    In the old days maybe.

Nowadays even having a big support can only take you so far.

I'd hazard a guess that Hibs are as big a team as Swansea -in terms of core support- and check the difference in resources
    30 years ago I would say we were very similar in size, us possibly slightly bigger....I used to go to The Vetch on occasion and they would have very similar crowds to us in the 80's. Now, they are FAR bigger than us, thanks to the growth in football down south and Swansea getting their act together in the nick of time.