Page 45 of 85 FirstFirst ... 35434445464755 ... LastLast
Results 1,321 to 1,350 of 2537
    Torfin opening has today resulted in large gatherings buying their booze and using the external area of the Whiie Lady to consume it. It looks just like a normal Sunday session, social distancing non existent!

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Torfin opening has today resulted in large gatherings buying their booze and using the external area of the Whiie Lady to consume it. It looks just like a normal Sunday session, social distancing non existent!
    Appears to be a few pubs opened for takeaways and same is happening people drinking outside.

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    Leith Walk was like that on Saturday.

Bar Brig, Brass Monkey and Bier Hoose all doing takeaway beer and the street was heaving.

Haven’t been to it, but read that the Tower Restaurant in Chambers st is closing. Lease is coming to it’s end, and it’s not going to be viable post pandemic
    Won’t be last either unfortunately

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    Haven’t been to it, but read that the Tower Restaurant in Chambers st is closing. Lease is coming to it’s end, and it’s not going to be viable post pandemic
    Yeah sad to hear of a decent restaurant going, James Thompson has still got the Witchery and Prestonfield though and says they will continue.
    The Vitoria Group are planning to reopen all six of their restaurants in phases.

I was appalled to see that. They were grouped around the benches on St John's Road too and they left a flipping mess inevitably.

Honestly, people are just......................people.

Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    I was appalled to see that. They were grouped around the benches on St John's Road too and they left a flipping mess inevitably.

Honestly, people are just......................people.
    Benches, the graveyard, table outside Winstons, the biggest beer garden in Edinburgh 😉

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Went once and wasn't really blown away and opted not to go back, depite it being very handy for pre-Festival Thatre meals. There were no shortage of places handy for the Festival Theatre.

Stayed at Prestonfield House once and ate at Rhubarb there, and the whole experience was exceptional. I hope he manages to sustain it but it must be very difficult
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

@hibs.net private member Speedy's Avatar
    Have used the new pizza place in Corstorphine (Slice), it was really good.

The new Ting Thai on Lothian Road also very good. Same as the other one really.

Quote Originally Posted by Speedy View Post

I haven’t used Slice as I saw some horrendous looking pizzas on the local FB page so decided not to bother.

I did try Papa Johns for the first time a couple of weeks ago, it was pretty decent.
    Last edited by Scouse Hibee; 22-06-2020 at 08:29 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Speedy View Post

Passed by Slice the other day, will give it a try
    Thanks

@hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    I haven’t used Slice as I saw some horrendous looking pizzas on the local FB page so decided not to bother.

I did try Papa Johns for the first time a couple of weeks ago, it was pretty decent.
    I think I seemy similar pics, toppings barely covering 50% of the pizza base etc.

Has anyone tried Pizza Plus at Chesser. Noticed their wee delivery car buzzing about the manor so they're either decent or cheap!
    Last edited by speedy_gonzales; 23-06-2020 at 11:35 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by speedy_gonzales View Post
    I think I seem similar pics, toppings barely covering 50% of the pizza base etc.

Has anyone tried Pizza Plus at Chesser. Noticed their wee delivery car buzzing about the manor so they're either decent or cheap!
    Would say pizza plus is average thought the base seemed a bit like a frozen pizza one.

I used to like the St Johns chippy that was there. Nice folk.

Me too, actually preferred it the the Bar B Que despite it’s great reputation.

A friend has just taken over and refitted a chippy on Marchmont Road, now called “#Fish” look forward to trying it.

Had a great takeaway from Eastern Pavillion on Saturday night, replicated what we normally have in the restaurant even down to several pints of Cobra. 😁
    Last edited by Scouse Hibee; 24-06-2020 at 09:05 AM.

Me too, actually preferred it the the Bar B Que despite it’s great reputation.

A friend has just taken over and refitted a chippy on Marchmont Road, now called “#Fish” look forward to trying it.

Had a great takeaway from Eastern Pavillion on Saturday night, replicated what we normally have in the restaurant even down to several pints of Cobra. 😁
    It's a good place. We like the Spice Lounge Kitchen but you don't get a big plateful. It's certainly an improvement on The Rainbow!

It doesn't seem to be functioning at all at the moment.

It's a good place. We like the Spice Lounge Kitchen but you don't get a big plateful. It's certainly an improvement on The Rainbow!

Spice Lounge are doing takeaway.

50% off in June as its the anniversary of them opening

Might not be too long now, before we get out for a meal
    Where is everyone’s 1st choice to visit

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    La Garrigue on Jeffrey Street. It is a regular haunt for meeting up with former colleagues and some of us were due to catch up there in April. Hearty southern French food and a decent wine list and great views if you pick the right side of the table
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

Oh right! It always looks a bit run down when I go past on my "power walks". That's a good deal. They do a rare pint of Guinness in there in normal times.

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    New Chapter or Kanpai for me, cannae decide what kind of food I’m after.

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    New Chapter or Kanpai for me, cannae decide what kind of food I’m after.
    I fancy a Mexican, but absolutely adore Hard Rock Classic Chicken Wings, can’t beat them anywhere

I’ll be back to El Cartel first so it’ll be Mexican for me

Can’t see me rushing back anywhere to be honest, La Piazza is our go to Italian so probably there but not for some time.

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    I'm in no great rush to be honest.

I had a reservation at 6ByNico that was postponed and they offered a free cocktail as compensation (unnecessary given the circumstances) so depends if there's a requirement for that to be as part of their opening menu or not.

Vittoria's would usually be my go to restaurant but I've enjoyed a few la Favorita deliveries so at least I've been having something from their wider group.
    Mon the Hibs.

Got a burger from ‘Dirty’ on Duke Street tonight. All the beef is wagyu.

Possibly the best burger I’ve ever had. Absolutely unreal.

Quote Originally Posted by mvteng View Post

50% off in June as its the anniversary of them opening
    Delivery too by any chance? 🙏

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Delivery too by any chance? 🙏
    Yes mate they do delivery and you get the discount.

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by calumhibee1 View Post
    Got a burger from ‘Dirty’ on Duke Street tonight. All the beef is wagyu.

Possibly the best burger I’ve ever had. Absolutely unreal.
    Got one there last night too. Was excellent. Overdid it with the sides though. My only complaint was that we ordered two of the Dirty Hot Mess burgers but I’m not convinced that was what we got as there was zero spice to either of them. An absolutely amazing burger though.