Quotes from players and managers

As it says on the tin, what are your favourite quotes from players/managers past or present that emphasise how great our club is?

I will kick off with Eddie Turnbull, "there's class, there's first class and then there's Hibs class".

The famous Bill Shankly
    He said, "when I die, I want to be the fittest man that ever died"

Turnbull to Alan Gordon:

"Your problem is that your brain is in your head."

Assorted yam managers- Mr romanov said it was okay.

@hibs.net private member hibees 7062's Avatar
    Mr romanov . Simple hertz fans

John Collins and pub team probably sums it up.

Your honour I thought she was sixteen

Your honour I thought I was offline at the time

If God had meant football to be played in the air he would have put grass in the sky"
    " Football hooligans ? Well, there are 92 club chairmen for a start."

Both Brian Clough
    "It was a little bit by the hand of God, another bit by the head of Maradona."
    Maradona

Journo: Has Scott Brown handed in a transfer request?

John Collins: He has. I read it, ripped it up and put it in the bin.

I couldn't be more chuffed if I was a badger at the start of the mating season - Ian Holloway

Scottish football needs more Celtic and Rangers fans like Custer needed more Indians ----- The late Tom Hart

Quote Originally Posted by TRC View Post
    If God had meant football to be played in the air he would have put grass in the sky"
    " Football hooligans ? Well, there are 92 club chairmen for a start."

Both Brian Clough
    "It was a little bit by the hand of God, another bit by the head of Maradona."
    Maradona
    Favourite Cloughie was

I wouldn't say I was the best manager in the business but I was in the top one.

Maybees Aye Maybees Naw

Quote Originally Posted by PatHead View Post
    Favourite Cloughie was

I wouldn't say I was the best manager in the business but I was in the top one.

Not sure if he said it but should of if he didn't Why the **** did I go to Leeds

Beckham on being asked if he was a volatile player

Well I can play in the centre, on the left or on the right.

My 'favourites':

"Sometimes it's good to concede an early goal"

"If you want entertainment go to the cinema"

"Fitba guys ken whit's gawn oan"

"Statistics are just like mini-skirts - they give you good ideas, but hide the most important thing."

Ebbe Skovdahl

Neil Lennon: "Deek, I hear your new bird is an airhead"

Derek Riordan: "Nah, she's blonde"
    Blobby Williamson: If hibs fans expect entertainment on a Saturday, then they should go to the cinema"
    John Collins: "The ball is round and it is meant to roll. You start at the back and play through the midfield, with lots of movements and other attributes like aggression, passion and commitment. Without those you don't become a good player and you don't have a good team."
    Colin Calderwood: "‘If someone offers you two bags of sweets, you look in both before you choose’"
    This whole interview makes my blood boil :http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/...hoose.14179944

Terry Buther: "Sometimes maybe it's a good thing if you lose an early goal because it takes away the threat of conceding because you have conceded - and then we lose a second goal."
    Pat Stanton: "When I was a lad aged 14, I went to train with Hibs. They were keen to sign me and after training one evening I was sent up to the boardroom to see the manager, Hugh Shaw, who had managed the Famous Five team. Mr Shaw said to me, 'did you enjoy training, Pat?' and I said, 'yes, I did.' He then said 'here' and handed me a 10 shilling note. I got the bus back home to Craigmillar and handed that note to my mother, who showed it to my dad, a proud Hibee. I thought nothing more of it.

"Many years later, when my father passed away, my mum handed me a folder of some of his collections – letters, football cards, other wee items – and then she said to me, 'do you know what this is?' Tucked away at the back was an old 10 shilling note. 'This is the same 10 shilling note you handed to us after you first trained with Hibs,' she said. 'That's what it meant to your dad.'
    Hibs are my club.

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    “I was born a Hibby and I'll die a Hibby”

Lawrie Reilly

Lambie to trainer treating player
    " what's the problem with him "
    he's concussed boss " Doesn't know who he is "
    Lambie " Tell him he's ****ing Pele just get him on.

Quote Originally Posted by SON OF PADDY View Post
    Lambie to trainer treating player
    " what's the problem with him "
    he's concussed boss " Doesn't know who he is "
    Lambie " Tell him he's ****ing Pele just get him on.
    Think the player was Roddie Grant.

Quote Originally Posted by TowerHibs View Post
    This whole interview makes my blood boil :http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/...hoose.14179944

Colin calderwood really is a joke of a man

John Robertson was the fastest player over one yard I have ever seen. You couldn't get the ball off him. Cloughie

Quote Originally Posted by Eyrie View Post
    Think the player was Roddie Grant.
    Thanks for that ! Couldn't remember the player involved.

QUOTE=GreenArmyyy!;4407360]As it says on the tin, what are your favourite quotes from players/managers past or present that emphasise how great our club is?

I will kick off with Eddie Turnbull, "there's class, there's first class and then there's Hibs class".[/QUOTE]

Ex Hibs Manager Dave Ewing, when being interviewed by West Coast press over upcoming Cup Tie with Rangers and totally pissed off about being told how mighty they were :-

'Rangers are Rubbish !!'

"When I was a player the only agent going around was 007... And he only ****ed women, not entire football clubs!!"

The great Brian Clough letting his feelings be known on the modern day football agent... Best manager EVER!!

@hibs.net private member Jim Herriot's Avatar
    Andy Goram, after being in a 7-a-side team that beat Hearts, was asked who he wanted in the next round.
    'Hearts again.'

Interviewer: What would you have been if you hadn't been a footballer?
    Peter Crouch: A virgin.

@hibs.net private member Sean1875's Avatar
    "I dunno"

- Scott Brown

Some of the Cloughie ones are brilliant.

"So Brian, what do you do if a player disagrees with something you say".

"Well we sit down, discuss the situation agree I was right and then move on".