Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by BroxburnHibee View Post
    I've been to 4 Opens and the last 3 times I used the rail service as it's much easier.

I love being there sampling the whole atmosphere. You obviously see more on the telly but it's pretty special when you're there.

Too pricey for my pocket nowadays though which is sad.
    I'm the same been to 4 Opens over the years and always enjoyed it. Likewise usually use public transport. Was at Gullane last weekend and thought £35 a day was well priced.

No way could I justify £80 for a day at St Andrews with all the additional extras that go with it as well.

As an aside I was in Ladbrokes earlier and they still had Paul Lawrie at 40/1 and a quick check suggests Hills have him at 50s.

With the weather forecast tomorrow and Saturday a strong first round looks crucial and he's 6 under. I think I might have a wee each way on him.

@hibs.net private member Frazerbob's Avatar
    I was planning to head down tomorrow with my 9 year old step son but putting it off to Sunday now in the hope the weather improves. £80 for both of us (kids go free) is actually no bad when you consider it's not that much less for the two of us to go to Hampden for the Scotland qualifiers. 2 hours at the football versus 12 hours at the golf.

One or two days at the Open every few years is worth the ticket price IMO.

@hibs.net private member Bishop Hibee's Avatar
    Play suspended due to rain. Summer football anyone?
    "Washing one's hands of the conflict between the powerful and the powerless means to side with the powerful, not to be neutral.' - Paulo Freire

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    Press conference scheduled for 9:30am.

Play to resume at 10am according to the Open website.

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    I saw an advert from Betfair earlier on Facebook that had 3/1 for Spieth to make the cut! I'm not a betting man but that seems like a license to print money!

£80 would definitely put me off going to be honest - I get that there's a pretty special atmosphere being there but you see much more on the TV these days.

Surely everyone won't get their round in today. How will that work for the rest of the weekend?

@hibs.net private member derekHFC's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Sylar View Post
    I saw an advert from Betfair earlier on Facebook that had 3/1 for Spieth to make the cut! I'm not a betting man but that seems like a license to print money!

£80 would definitely put me off going to be honest - I get that there's a pretty special atmosphere being there but you see much more on the TV these days.
    Suspect there'll be some conditions attached.

It will be for new members, probably £10 max stake and you may even have to stake 20x your £10 before you can withdraw.
    Someone once told me that hard work wouldn't kill me.

I thought: "Hell, why take the chance"!

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Crowds looking poor again today.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Wish Sky could cover the Open, BBC's coverage is pish. Same with Wimbledon, Eurosport's tennis coverage is excellent but the gig goes to the celebrity-obsessed Beeb.

And what kind of accent Hazel Irvine has I've no idea.

I wonder about Paul Lawrie, always had a good reputation for playing in bad weather. If he can hole the puts then he could go close.

Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    Wish Sky could cover the Open, BBC's coverage is pish. Same with Wimbledon, Eurosport's tennis coverage is excellent but the gig goes to the celebrity-obsessed Beeb.

I wonder about Paul Lawrie, always had a good reputation for playing in bad weather. If he can hole the puts then he could go close.
    You will get your wish soon. Sky have the rights from 2017, which despite their no doubt excellent coverage, is sad IMO.

Quote Originally Posted by Frazerbob View Post
    You will get your wish soon. Sky have the rights from 2017, which despite their no doubt excellent coverage, is sad IMO.
    Yeah I know it's not the way it should be but it's just selfish on my part!

The Beeb does my head in.

Quote Originally Posted by Steve20 View Post
    Surely everyone won't get their round in today. How will that work for the rest of the weekend?
    I can't possibly see all the players completing their round today. Some are not scheduled to start until after 6pm so they'll have to finish it of tomorrow morning.

Quote Originally Posted by silverhibee View Post
    76,200 before today (practise days and yesterday) which is a few thousand up on 2010. Surprised to hear that TBH.

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post
    I can't possibly see all the players completing their round today. Some are not scheduled to start until after 6pm so they'll have to finish it of tomorrow morning.
    Last tee time is 19:27, so not sure how they plan on completing the round.
    Weather dry here just now, but think there is more rain forecast for later this afternoon/evening.

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post

Personally, I just wish the BBC would revamp their format and up their game - I think it's great that I can sit here at work and watch the game on my second screen, something I wouldn't be able to do if it were on Sky. I wish more sport was available on free-to-air outlets.

Seems decent to me SdGP.

Over the years the Beeb deserve to be commended for their coverage of the Open Championship and when news broke that SKY had been awarded the broadcasting rights I was initially disappointed. However the R&A have stipulated that no more than 3 x 1 minute commercial breaks are to be allowed each hour so I daresay I can live with it. Whether the switch is a good thing for the game of golf is another matter.

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post
    Overheard stewards talking about tomorrow. Some of them were asked to come in earlier.

Quote Originally Posted by Sylar View Post
    Personally, I just wish the BBC would revamp their format and up their game - I think it's great that I can sit here at work and watch the game on my second screen, something I wouldn't be able to do if it were on Sky. I wish more sport was available on free-to-air outlets.
    Yeah I totally agree but I can't see it happening any time soon.

Good coverage for Marc Warren today, great round.

Quote Originally Posted by 3pm View Post
    Seems decent to me SdGP.
    You up watching 3.

As long as sky's coverage is nothing like the us open; I found it gimmicky and irritating.. Out of interest is the coverage along with the BBC or instead of?

Quote Originally Posted by liamh2202 View Post
    As long as sky's coverage is nothing like the us open; I found it gimmicky and irritating.. Out of interest is the coverage along with the BBC or instead of?
    As far as the US Open was concerned then I presume that Sky's coverage was to a large extent dependent on what was shown by the host US broadcaster. I can't remember which US TV company did have the broadcasting rights but I think they were relatively new to golf and the US Open was their first major tournament.

In this country, the R&A have awarded exclusive rights to SKY wef 2017 - their bid was more than double than the BBC so it's hardly surprising I suppose.

Overheard stewards talking about tomorrow. Some of them were asked to come in earlier.
    That's what is planned, I'm working for a Japanese TV station, and one of their guys has a fairly late tee time, so we will be in earlier tomorrow to cover the end of his second round.
    Can't see any of their guys making the cut, so could be a boring couple of final days sitting in the TV compound!

Maybe I spoke too soon, Matsuyama has just birdied the first 2 holes, so I may be kept busy after all!

You up watching 3.
    Was mate aye. It was a good day.

Quote Originally Posted by pogo View Post
    Maybe I spoke too soon, Matsuyama has just birdied the first 2 holes, so I may be kept busy after all!
    Now -6, WTF, this guy is killing me for a few bob, hope he has a howler in the morning and hits a few triple bogeys

Was mate aye. It was a good day.
    Good stuff, thinking about going up on Sunday with my lad, wait and see what weather is looking like first.

Looks a bit grim in the morning, similar to today. Good in the afternoon.

I put shorts on, the thinking being if it lashed down then wet shorts are not as bad as wet jeans. Was a good decision. Decent brolly, waterproof, decent top underneath and hat and job done.