England v NZ ODI Series

England currently 180-4, Root 104, another fine batting display from the young man.
    Last edited by HUTCHYHIBBY; 09-06-2015 at 02:49 PM.

Root got out straight after your post. :-)
    Cougars!!!

Some performance from Buttler too, out for 129. England finish on 408-9. First ODI score of over 400 in England. I've got a funny wee feeling that NZ could get close to doing this with no Anderson or Broad in the bowling attack on a great pitch.

Quote Originally Posted by HH81 View Post
    Root got out straight after your post. :-)
    Happened on the test match thread too! :-)

McCullum bowled out for 10.

Been a great afternoon and Yorkshire have just won too.

England can't lose from here can they?
    Cougars!!!

England are 1/20 with the only bookie I've just checked.

Quote Originally Posted by HH81 View Post
    Been a great afternoon and Yorkshire have just won too.

England can't lose from here can they?
    I very much doubt it, NZ now 185-6.

NZ 198 All Out.

I am probably about to tempt fate but this is shaping up nicely.

Quote Originally Posted by 3pm View Post
    I am probably about to tempt fate but this is shaping up nicely.
    Currently horsing it down in my town, about 15 miles from the Oval. If the rain is moving north we might be cut short!

Quote Originally Posted by Haymaker View Post
    Currently horsing it down in my town, about 15 miles from the Oval. If the rain is moving north we might be cut short!
    It's been good stuff!

It has. Game off though :(

Quote Originally Posted by Haymaker View Post
    It has. Game off though :(
    Got 16/1 on England with 57 balls left. Damn!

Yer arse.

Got 16/1 on England with 57 balls left. Damn!
    I got 16/1 just after the 4th wicket fell, at one point England were 10/11. If they'd kept going it would've been really close.

United we stand here....

Series at 2-2. Wee M59 is delighted as we are heading down to Durham for the series decider.

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    Series at 2-2. Wee M59 is delighted as we are heading down to Durham for the series decider.
    Should be a good day.

Asked the Auld Yin if he fancied it and said 'no' albeit a few months back. Going to The Open at St Andrews instead!

Went to Durham for The Ashes 3 years ago. Good day.

How good is this 1 day series? Fantastic entertainment. Joe Root is just fantastic, there are many records for him to break in all aspects of the game. What a series for Morgan too.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    How good is this 1 day series? Fantastic entertainment. Joe Root is just fantastic, there are many records for him to break in all aspects of the game. What a series for Morgan too.

Been a great series.

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?

I haven't been a fan of the short forms of the game over the years (still can't watch T20, tbh, though I can appreciate that it may appeal to some) but this series has been superb.

I've not decided whether it's because the two sides are so evenly matched, or because coaching attitudes to the one-day game have changed, the ODI series so far has been absolutely excellent.

Pleases me, too, that England came back to level the series this time after some of the criticism they received after the third match.

(Mind you, this is still no more than a taster for the Main Event starting July 8. That's what'll really count this summer.)

@hibs.net private member derekHFC's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Doddie View Post
    I haven't been a fan of the short forms of the game over the years (still can't watch T20, tbh, though I can appreciate that it may appeal to some) but this series has been superb.

I've not decided whether it's because the two sides are so evenly matched, or because coaching attitudes to the one-day game have changed, the ODI series so far has been absolutely excellent.

Pleases me, too, that England came back to level the series this time after some of the criticism they received after the third match.

(Mind you, this is still no more than a taster for the Main Event starting July 8. That's what'll really count this summer.)
    I'm not a fan of T20 either to be honest, but I think that's got a lot to do with the 50-over and test game being a lot more attacking now.

Players are playing T20 more frequently and changing mentality from T20 to 50-over or test regularly must be quite hard. A bit like playing 5s to 11's perhaps.
    Someone once told me that hard work wouldn't kill me.

I thought: "Hell, why take the chance"!

Rain delayed start but beer flowing well already here at Durham.

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    Rain delayed start but beer flowing well already here at Durham.
    Hard life! 👍

Very conservative run rate considering what's gone on in the last 4 games and what's at stake today.

England seemed to have bowled well too.

Hard life! 
    Loving it.

This bloody rain is annoying.
    Cougars!!!

All going pear shaped for England, I really dislike this DL method nonsense.

20-3, oh dear.
    Last edited by HUTCHYHIBBY; 20-06-2015 at 04:49 PM.

All going pear shaped for England, I really dislike this DL method nonsense.

20-3, oh dear.
    Shambles.

Not watching but assuming wickets down as a result of radge batting chasing the total?

Fantastic recovery from England 192-7, take a bow Bairstow, what a series!

3-2 England!
    Last edited by HUTCHYHIBBY; 20-06-2015 at 06:32 PM.