Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
    Goal all day long

Although its prob not deliberate, if someone scored against us with his hand in a cup final id be raging!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by HoboHarry View Post
    The goal should have stood. I'm not sure how anyone could say that was intentional hand ball.
    Does the rule even say it has to be delibrete or are the commentators making it up ?

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Itv commentators keep debating whether it was deliberate or not and saying if it's nit deliberate it should be given.

Is that not pish? Doesn't have to be deliberate for it to be a free kick?

Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    Itv commentators keep debating whether it was deliberate or not and saying if it's nit deliberate it should be given.

Exactly what I thought. You see unintentional handballs given as fouls every week

Quote Originally Posted by liamh2202 View Post
    Does the rule even say it has to be delibrete or are the commentators making it up ?
    Commentators are wrong I think.

Yep.

Touching the ball with your arm should not be a foul unless it is deemed to be deliberate.

When is xavi being unveiled at em?

Are these commentators having a laugh . handball all day long. Its time the rule was changed. If it hits your arm below the shoulder it should be a handball full stop. No silly caviats ,no opinions just black and white. Same with the offside rule .
    And we would descend into players kicking the ball at defenders trying to win a penalty. It was not deliberate and it should have been given.

@hibs.net private member GreenLake's Avatar
    Imagine being able to bring Xavi on as a sub.

Cannae believe I brushed past the telly on the way to get a cup of tea and Suarez fell down!! He really is a diving wee prick eh?!

Exactly what I thought. You see unintentional handballs given as fouls every week
    That's down to interpretation. It's always been that handballs have to be deliberate

So why is it not a penalty every time the ball hits a defenders arm in the box, even from close range? Interpretation of the goal/free kick could have gone either way. As someone said earlier, it should be black and white. Ball hits arm below the shoulder should be fee kick or pen every time.

Yes it does.

http://www.thefa.com/football-rules-...isconduct.aspx

Quote Originally Posted by HoboHarry View Post
    And we would descend into players kicking the ball at defenders trying to win a penalty. It was not deliberate and it should have been given.
    Then so be it? At least a decision would be clear , it would be up to defenders to keep their hands out of the way

@hibs.net private member GreenLake's Avatar
    Plenty of kicks on Suarez but he isn't biting.

Neither was Neymars "header". So why was it disallowed?

Then so be it? At least a decision would be clear , it would be up to defenders to keep their hands out of the way
    That's just daft.

Defenders would be playing with their arms behind their back all the time.

It's not about it being deliberate or not it's about the player getting an advantage from it and he did by scoring.

Correct decision to disallow goal.

Quote Originally Posted by weecounty hibby View Post
    That's why the commentators were asking that very question.

Ibwould rather have a penalty against me for a player deliberately winning it via a handball than losing a goal like the one tonight

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    I'm sure that a lot of these guys are fully paid up members of Equity as their antics beckons belief. Pathetic is the word.

Quote Originally Posted by weecounty hibby View Post
    Because the player got an unfair advantage. Regardless of it being deliberate or not

Quote Originally Posted by Aldo View Post
    It's not about it being deliberate or not it's about the player getting an advantage from it and he did by scoring.

Correct decision to disallow goal.
    The law doesn't say anything about gaining an advantage.

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    I'm not going to read through those rules but I'm pleased common sense won the day regardless of what was technically correct.

It wouldn't have gone in if he hadn't hit it against his own hand. It was a significant enough contact to warrant a free kick being given imo.

The law doesn't say anything about gaining an advantage.
    Does it not! Thought that was indeed the case. Mes bad!! :-)

That's just daft.

Defenders would be playing with their arms behind their back all the time.
    If its totally obvious you could cover that with the unspormanlike conduct rule

I'm not going to read through those rules but I'm pleased common sense won the day regardless of what was technically correct.

It wouldn't have gone in if he hadn't hit it against his own hand. It was a significant enough contact to warrant a free kick being given imo.
    It's half way down a very brief page FGS

Quote Originally Posted by Aldo View Post
    Because the player got an unfair advantage. Regardless of it being deliberate or not
    You will have to show us where it mentions that in the rules. It does mention it has to be deliberate though

It's half way down a very brief page FGS
    I've had half a dozen beers and I'm very very lazy.