Page 324 of 429 FirstFirst ... 224274314322323324325326334374424 ... LastLast
Results 9,691 to 9,720 of 12857

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    I wondered if I was having a whoosh moment, but I still don't get it TBH.
    You said
    at 6'3" it's a nightmare when the rain comes on

It was then suggested that people less tall than you also get wet, just slightly later.

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    You said
    at 6'3" it's a nightmare when the rain comes on

It was then suggested that people less tall than you also get wet, just slightly later.
    I understand - obviously a whoosh moment for me.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    I understand - obviously a whoosh moment for me.
    It's very Milton Jones humour.

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    The absolute roaster who's had halloween decorations on their house for a full 2 weeks prior to the 31st. Its nothing more than showing off saying look at me, look at my house, who the **** puts a giant spider on a web across the front of their house. Horrendous stuff.
    There’s someone in my street like that. Something new has appeared every few days. The spiders web appeared last week.

I was shocked at some of the guisers. Hardly any of them even said anything just expected stuff to be doled out to them. A wee girl actually led with “give me sweets now” and the parents seemed cool with that!

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by overdrive View Post
    There’s someone in my street like that. Something new has appeared every few days. The spiders web appeared last week.

I was shocked at some of the guisers. Hardly any of them even said anything just expected stuff to be doled out to them. A wee girl actually led with “give me sweets now” and the parents seemed cool with that!

I was absolutely delighted that none of the little ****s came to my door although I live in a flat with secure entry so it was unlikely they'd get in anyway. I never have and never will entertain this halloween pish. It so commercialised now and not to mention Americanised. The bit in bold is quite ridiculous, parents should be ashamed.
    Last edited by Hermit Crab; 01-11-2021 at 10:05 AM.
    Hibs.nets negative posting legend and unofficial ticket agent.

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    I was absolutely delighted that none of the little ****s came to my door although I live in a flat with secure entry so it was unlikely they'd get in anyway. I never have and never entertain this halloween pish. It so commercialised now and not to mention Americanised. The bit in bold is quite ridiculous, parents should be ashamed.

your definitely mellowing . Just as well it was a secure door or the kids would have been queuing to see that friendly smile

Loads of people in my street had Halloween decorations up. I don't mind it really, it was good to see kids out enjoying themselves.

Kids is the key though. I've always been bemused by adults who are a bit too into it. I know a group, all in their 20s and 30s with no kids, who were dressed up and having a party on Saturday. WTF? Different even in your late teens/early 20s when it's one of the big club nights of the year but having a house party to dress up as ghosts and zombies. I don't get it.

Loads of people in my street had Halloween decorations up. I don't mind it really, it was good to see kids out enjoying themselves.

Kids is the key though. I've always been bemused by adults who are a bit too into it. I know a group, all in their 20s and 30s with no kids, who were dressed up and having a party on Saturday. WTF? Different even in your late teens/early 20s when it's one of the big club nights of the year but having a house party to dress up as ghosts and zombies. I don't get it.

Were they all wearing rangers tops?

Do their keys go in the bowl?

Quote Originally Posted by Killiehibbie View Post
    Do their keys go in the bowl?
    With the amount of pampas grass in gardens in the development that I've recently moved to, I wouldn't be surprised if those sort of parties were going on!

I can't wait to see what on Earth will be put up on people's houses and in their gardens at Christmas around here given the apparent Halloween decoration wars over the past few weeks.

One house has actually taken down the Halloween decorations today and replaced them with Christmas lights!

With the amount of pampas grass in gardens in the development that I've recently moved to, I wouldn't be surprised if those sort of parties were going on!

I can't wait to see what on Earth will be put up on people's houses and in their gardens at Christmas around here given the apparent Halloween decoration wars over the past few weeks.

One house has actually taken down the Halloween decorations today and replaced them with Christmas lights!

No way!!! Absolute roasters.

In TV documentaries when they show a little clip of whoever is being interviewed sitting down, checking their notes, chatting to a director etc.

It was something that I first remember seeing about 2 years ago and thinking it was quite clever. Now every single documentary I watch seems to have a little section like they in it.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar

Each to their own. If they're having fun then crack on.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    Each to their own. If they're having fun then crack on.
    Indeed, each to their own, life is too short, enjoy it while you can doing whatever makes you happy.

@hibs.net private member Alfiembra's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Indeed, each to their own, life is too short, enjoy it while you can doing whatever makes you happy.
    Having a vent and a moan on here makes me happy 😊

Quote Originally Posted by Alfiembra View Post
    Having a vent and a moan on here makes me happy 😊
    Me too 😁

The new authenticity guarantee with eBay is a right pain in the hole. I got shafted by it. Paid for two pairs of trainers and the boy never sent them and ended up in a battle to get my money back. He claimed he'd sent them and said the person at the authenticity place must have stolen them. Went back and forward for ages before I eventually got my money back. Still never got he trainers either. Far too much hassle.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Joe Biden pronouncing the "gow" in Glasgow like "cow".

On a similar theme, anyone that says Edinburrow!

Seemingly it's because they pronounce Moscow with the "cow" sound, it translates to Glasgow having the same sound at the end.

Can't say it bothers me at all, I've pronounced "Glasgow" far worse.....

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member Just Alf's Avatar

I get that

Mind you, I fair enjoyed the pub on Saturday night.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    On a similar theme, anyone that says Edinburrow!
    In my line of work I hear some weird and wonderful pronunciation but let’s be honest are we that great at pronouncing the places we go to? Americans can’t even pronounce words in their own language correctly, jaguar being one that springs to mind.

United we stand here....

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    In my line of work I hear some weird and wonderful pronunciation but let’s be honest are we that great at pronouncing the places we go to? Americans can’t even pronounce words in their own language correctly, jaguar being one that springs to mind.
    Worst one they do is Aluminium.

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    Worst one they do is Aluminium.
    To defend the Americans on that one they are actually using the original pronunciation of the word.

Aluminum and aluminium are both accepted as alternative spellings and pronunciations of the same element by the Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry.

Nucular on the other hand.........

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    To defend the Americans on that one they are actually using the original pronunciation of the word.

Aluminum and aluminium are both accepted as alternative spellings and pronunciations of the same element by the Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry.

Not quite… the (British) chemist who named aluminium first called it 'alumium', which was rejected for not being directly derived from Latin. The same guy then started using 'aluminum' a few years later, which some scientists still deemed not Latin enough and preferred 'aluminium'. The dominance of aluminum in the US (at least in non-scientific writing) is probably largely down to it being preferred in Webster's dictionary.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aluminium#Etymology

I read an article a few years ago which said that Americans were likely getting unfair accusations that they have changed the English language in terms of words and pronunciation, and that actually much of American English is just English at the point British people went across to America. It suggested that British English is actually the version that’s changed more.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    I read an article a few years ago which said that Americans were likely getting unfair accusations that they have changed the English language in terms of words and pronunciation, and that actually much of American English is just English at the point British people went across to America. It suggested that British English is actually the version that’s changed more.
    I blame idlewild 😉
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

The last point was exactly what I thought of when reading the original post 😂

I think all languages evolve over time, it’s just the odd blatantly wrong spelling or pronunciation that annoys me. It’s funny you mention British English and American English, up until around the turn of the century most people would learn English using British English, but now that’s completely changed and most learn American English, complete with accent.

United we stand here....

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    I think all languages evolve over time, it’s just the odd blatantly wrong spelling or pronunciation that annoys me. It’s funny you mention British English and American English, up until around the turn of the century most people would learn English using British English, but now that’s completely changed and most learn American English, complete with accent.
    Along with the use of the wrong word!!

OF instead of HAVE being a prime example.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.