Page 316 of 427 FirstFirst ... 216266306314315316317318326366416 ... LastLast
Results 9,451 to 9,480 of 12789

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    Covid ads in general.
    It's like they think we are all a bunch of thickos who need to be spoken to on 'our level'.
    Unfortunately you cant do three or four adverts depending on intellect. In a GB population factoring in who is watching the telly, you have to go to the lowest common denominator (or Sun readers) if I can display some prejudice. The basic message is still "Dont be a dick"

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CloudSquall View Post
    My problem with Jane Godley is her type of humour is the type that everyone knows deep down is horrendously pish but weegies force themselves to laugh their heads of at it because it's Glaswegian and therefore it HAS to be funny.
    Glasgow was famously the toughest audience for many comedians. Morcombe and Wise often got a hard time. My favourite anecdote was about Mike and Bernie Winters. Some on this board might have to google them. Mike opened the show solo and was dying on his erse, Bernie came on to silence, broken by a lone voice"Christ, there's two of them..."

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

Folk who announce on social media that going out with their wife is a “date night”

Only made even worse when they call it a “Cheeky wee date night”

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Folk who announce on social media that going out with their wife is a “date night”

Only made even worse when they call it a “Cheeky wee date night”
    Aaaargghh!!! Cheeky wee anything is extremely cringeworthy. Was exclusively weedgie when I lived in Scotland but probably spreading like the virus.

Quote Originally Posted by Bangkok Hibby View Post
    Absolutely spot on. Lost count of the number of total half-wits promoted beyond their capabilities because they had a good education/degree.

Have we met?

@hibs.net private member Mikey_1875's Avatar
    Businesses that quote a price to the public without VAT.

Especially ones that don’t tell you this until the bill arrives.

Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    Have we met?

Haha I'll confidently say no. None were Hibbies 😄

Businesses that give an Edinburgh address but are in Dalkeith !

Scraping your car against a wall.

Whilst taking a tight turn in a multi storey car park in a hire car you refused to take the excess insurance on 😡

Have we 'veered off' to the Driving Pet Peeves?

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    Have we 'veered off' to the Driving Pet Peeves?
    This thread has become a car crash!
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Trying to find highlights of last night's match only to click on to a home made Subbuteo version.

Who would bother making that and why ?

Guilty as charged, I did the exact same thing in March.

From the inside of the car it sounded like I'd barely tapped the wall, when I got out and looked at the damage it looked as if I'd been in a destruction derby.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Kay Burley, I've never been a fan but listening to her whistling through her new set of gnashers is simply intolerable.

People moaning about paper straws from McDonald's, take the lid off and drink your coke like a bloody adult.

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    People moaning about paper straws from McDonald's, take the lid off and drink your coke like a bloody adult.
    Not the easiest thing to do in a moving car

Quote Originally Posted by J.S View Post
    Not the easiest thing to do in a moving car

Actually against the law to eat or drink in a moving vehicle.

Well someone needs to tell McDonalds drive thrus . First I've heard of that. My 2 year old grandson is already a law breaker
    Last edited by Jay; 09-09-2021 at 09:24 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by J.S View Post
    Well someone needs to tell McDonalds drive thrus . First I've heard of that. My 2 year old grandson is already a law breaker

Only if he was driving

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Is it? I didn't think it was...

Thought it was one of those ones you're allowed to do but if it results in dangerous driving you get done for that.
    Mon the Hibs.

Quote Originally Posted by danhibees1875 View Post
    Is it? I didn't think it was...

Thought it was one of those ones you're allowed to do but if it results in dangerous driving you get done for that.

Meant to have both hands free to control the vehicle, same as having a phone to your ear, it's distracting you whilst driving. TBH the police very seldom stop you for it but as you say you'll only get done for dangerous driving if you have an accident.

Only if he was driving
    Well that's not what you said

Older people who jump the queue and their attitude when they get pulled up for it.

Quote Originally Posted by Future17 View Post
    Older people who jump the queue and their attitude when they get pulled up for it.

My dad and i got a ticking off from US Homeland Security in Newark airport a few years ago for pulling up an older Scottish couple on the same flight home as us for exactly this. They tried giving us a deaf ear as they tried to slide their way into the queue, until they ended up with us standing right behind the, (as they still worked on getting into the queue), and eventually shuffled down the line towards the end

homeland security weren’t too chuffed at us being quite firm and vocal that they older couple should stop being ignorant and join the queue like everyone else

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Washing machine packed in. Replacement bring put in on Monday but needed a load done so took it to the laundrette.

Five quid to stick a load into a machine for a twenty minute cycle! Extortionate.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    Washing machine packed in. Replacement bring put in on Monday but needed a load done so took it to the laundrette.

Five quid to stick a load into a machine for a twenty minute cycle! Extortionate.
    80 pence here. Rip off Britain....again!

Expiry dates on food and medicine. I can spend a few minutes turning the item round and round to find it only to then struggle to read it usually when it is indented onto the item instead of printed in a different colour to the packaging.

Quote Originally Posted by Santa Cruz View Post
    Expiry dates on food and medicine. I can spend a few minutes turning the item round and round to find it only to then struggle to read it usually when it is indented onto the item instead of printed in a different colour to the packaging.
    I'm sure there's a reason for it but packaging that has 'for best before see.....'

Or you could have just printed it here.

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    I'm sure there's a reason for it but packaging that has 'for best before see.....'

Or you could have just printed it here.
    Totally! You always find that part first.

Then eventually find the date printed really faintly in a colour and size of font that makes it almost impossible to decipher!