Thread: Pet Peeves IV

Quote Originally Posted by CloudSquall View Post
    "While you're here....follow me on insta"

Get that crap directly tae F..

Does anyone actually then go and follow them? I never get that.

Quote Originally Posted by matty_f View Post

Does anyone actually then go and follow them? I never get that.
    it's a bit like footers advertising iffy football podcasts.

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    it's a bit like footers advertising iffy football podcasts.
    some right bell-ends out there, eh?!

“Tin pot”
    “A bit cringe”
    “Chronic patter”

That someone though Seaspiracy was a better name than Conspirisea for that particular documentary.

People who eat stuff like graze box nuts at their desk - noisiest random irritant in the office when it returns - should be banned. At least with crisps you know there’s an end on sight. Why do they need to be this load and also can we not invent crisp packets that rustle less? I’m sure there’s psychology behind this all.
    "We know the people who have invested so far are simple fans." Vladimir Romanov - Scotsman 10th December 2012
    "Romanov was like a breath of fresh air - laced with cyanide." Me.

That someone though Seaspiracy was a better name than Conspirisea for that particular documentary.
    😂👏

Grown adults that still go on about drinking alcohol in that “what am I like” way as if the vast majority of the adult population don’t like a good drink as well.

Quote Originally Posted by Viva_Palmeiras View Post
    People who eat stuff like graze box nuts at their desk - noisiest random irritant in the office when it returns - should be banned. At least with crisps you know there’s an end on sight. Why do they need to be this load and also can we not invent crisp packets that rustle less? I’m sure there’s psychology behind this all.
    I saw a thing about crisps a couple of weeks ago. Did you know that the "air" in the bags is actually azote (to keep the crisps fresh), with just enough being added to protect the crisps from being crushed but without each bag taking too much space and risking bursting. Not a peeve at all. Sorry.
    Last edited by Peevemor; 04-04-2021 at 05:55 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by WeeRussell View Post
    Grown adults that still go on about drinking alcohol in that “what am I like” way as if the vast majority of the adult population don’t like a good drink as well.
    Add to this, anyone that describes a drink a wee bit early in the day as “cheeky”.

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    Add to this, anyone that describes a drink a wee bit early in the day as “cheeky”.
    Agree.. and a lot of the time it doesn’t even have to be early... just a drink.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    We went for a nice quiet walk in the local woods today. Took my camera and caught a buzzard swoop down and grab a frog which it took up in the trees. Took a good position and got three or four photos that were good, but had a branch in the way. Tried to quietly shuffle a little further down so I could get a clear photo, only for some old bat to loudly go "Oh, what are you taking photos of today then?" and scared it away. When I said a buzzard she couldn't have been less interested.

Noise for the sake of noise spoiling others enjoyment of the nature around us. Absolutely infuriating.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    A "cheeky Nandos". Nandos is not cheeky.

Maybe a "dreary Nandos".

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    A "cheeky Nandos". Nandos is not cheeky.

Maybe a "dreary Nandos".
    These Just Eat emails you get every Tuesday - "Cheeky up your Tuesday".

I emailed them back to ask how I actually do that. Be slightly disrespectful but in a somewhat playful way? Show a lack of politeness in a manner that is amusing or appealing? I honestly have no idea!

Still awaiting their response...

On behalf of Mrs M....

Artificial turf in people's gardens.

Just get some real grass, people!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    On behalf of Mrs M....

Artificial turf in people's gardens.

Just get some real grass, people!!!!
    You/she obviously has never lived in a newbuild.

Quote Originally Posted by Future17 View Post
    You/she obviously has never lived in a newbuild.

Don't shoot the messenger

Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    Don't shoot the messenger

Tell her to get her own account then!

The Tour de France pelotons using the underpass and pavements at Milton Link at the weekend. Two weeks in a row I've nearly been mown down whilst pushing the buggy.

Tell her to get her own account then!

She'd be banned on the first day...

The Tour de France pelotons using the underpass and pavements at Milton Link at the weekend. Two weeks in a row I've nearly been mown down whilst pushing the buggy.
    Always.

I run that way and every single weekend I have to jump out of the way of a group of Chris Froome wannabes who don't seem to realise they are in an urban area rather than the French mountains.

Never any attempt to slow down and an apology is the stuff of dreams. Tbh they are so unconcerned with anyone else I doubt they would notice if they mowed down half the children in Magdalene.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post

I emailed them back to ask how I actually do that. Be slightly disrespectful but in a somewhat playful way? Show a lack of politeness in a manner that is amusing or appealing? I honestly have no idea!

Block!!!!
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post

Tescos at one point did "duffins" - half doughnut, half muffins.

After a few drinks I e-mailed their customer complaint line angry that they hadn't called them "muffnuts".

I got a reply the following morning essentially saying that I could call them that if I wanted to.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    Tescos at one point did "duffins" - half doughnut, half muffins.

After a few drinks I e-mailed their customer complaint line angry that they hadn't called them "muffnuts".

I got a reply the following morning essentially saying that I could call them that if I wanted to.
    Brilliant

Always.

I run that way and every single weekend I have to jump out of the way of a group of Chris Froome wannabes who don't seem to realise they are in an urban area rather than the French mountains.

Never any attempt to slow down and an apology is the stuff of dreams. Tbh they are so unconcerned with anyone else I doubt they would notice if they mowed down half the children in Magdalene.
    Agreed. Some of the looks I've had from them have been as if I'm pushing the buggy across the Champs Elysees.

Also, whilst I'm moaning...

Crossing the Asda car park on Saturday, three cars went straight across the zebra crossing whilst I was waiting to cross with the buggy. After some gesturing on my part, I crossed behind the third car which had stopped due to traffic ahead of it. The driver had his window down and as I glared at him he said, "well if you want to cross, you have to start walking".

Aye pal, I'll just shove the laddie into the road and hope pricks like you are paying attention.

Maybe a huge whoosh on my part but are you aware its made by the same people behind "cowspiracy"

Another Pet Peeve posted on behalf of Mrs M....

MEN!

No specific details were given... or are actually required.

I'm sure we all understand

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Always.

Someone is going to get seriously hurt down the prom by a cyclist going too fast.

I just hope it’s the cyclist and not a small kid who is maybe guilty of running side to side or on a scooter.

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Quote Originally Posted by Bangkok Hibby View Post
    Maybe a huge whoosh on my part but are you aware its made by the same people behind "cowspiracy"
    Doesn’t really matter.

Cowspiracy works better than conspiracow

Conspirasea works better than seaspiracy