Page 275 of 427 FirstFirst ... 175225265273274275276277285325375 ... LastLast
Results 8,221 to 8,250 of 12806

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    People who play the system, and who care about nowt but themselves.

Personal rant here - my dad rents out his flat, he's not a "rich landlord", far from it. He bought the 3 bed council flat he'd lived in for years, then when didn't need 3 rooms, moved out into a rented one bedroom place himself, and rented the ex council flat out.

It's basically been almost a year since he received a penny in rent. He's been going through the (painfully) slow system of trying to have her evicted, which is costing him more money to pay for solicitors. Court case this week found in his favour, but she now gets 30 days to appeal the verdict. So, she'll now be able to have her christmas in my dads flat, and buy gifts with the thousands of pounds of benefit money she's been given to pay her rent, which she's kept for herself. While my dad waits for a remortgage to come through, as he's having to borrow money to pay off the debt this has all got him into.

He'll never get a penny of the money back. It's an absolute joke.

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post

Personal rant here - my dad rents out his flat, he's not a "rich landlord", far from it. He bought the 3 bed council flat he'd lived in for years, then when didn't need 3 rooms, moved out into a rented one bedroom place himself, and rented the ex council flat out.

It's basically been almost a year since he received a penny in rent. He's been going through the (painfully) slow system of trying to have her evicted, which is costing him more money to pay for solicitors. Court case this week found in his favour, but she now gets 30 days to appeal the verdict. So, she'll now be able to have her christmas in my dads flat, and buy gifts with the thousands of pounds of benefit money she's been given to pay her rent, which she's kept for herself. While my dad waits for a remortgage to come through, as he's having to borrow money to pay off the debt this has all got him into.

Outrageous that something like that can drag on for so long.

People who run a washing up basin, do the dishes, empty the the basin into the sink, then put the basin back in to the sink so the bottom half of the outside gets covered in grease from the dirty water.

Mcdonalds, what is the fascination ?
    Cars queuing for probably 20-30 minutes.
    I label those people ****my.
    To specifically drive/walk for a ***** burger.

Wouldn't eat it for free

@hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by stoneyburn hibs View Post

Wouldn't eat it for free
    I don't get the hate for McDonald's, it is what it is.
    Never known anyone to queue for half an hour though!

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Quote Originally Posted by speedy_gonzales View Post
    Same.

I wouldn’t queue more than a few mins for it, and I definitely prefer Burger King, but McDonald’s is what it is. It’s fast food and doesn’t try to be anything else. You can get a cheeseburger for about £1. Fries for another £1. There’s not much to hate.

Quote Originally Posted by speedy_gonzales View Post
    Of course it is what it is, but to queue for bogging food I'll never ever understand

I doubt the people queueing for it think it's bogging, which is probably your answer.

Quote Originally Posted by Future17 View Post
    I doubt the people queueing for it think it's bogging, which is probably your answer.
    Aye probably.

Wouldn't eat it for free
    I pulled in to the drive in queue for the Alloa McDonald’s not realising there was probably 20/25 cars in front of me. I was only there 10 minutes. They’re a production line and it’s almost better to wait because the stuff you get will be fresher than if you’d rolled in and out in a couple minutes.

I wouldn’t go out my way for it, and wouldn’t do a journey especially for it, but it does what it says on the tin.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    The same people seen queuing at Primark. It's what they can afford.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    The same people seen queuing at Primark. It's what they can afford.
    Does that work for fast food?

McDonald's is cheap, but I'm pretty sure you can make better yourself for the same/less money. The same might also apply to Primark clothes right enough but you'd need a bit of skill at least there.

I used to never go to McDonald's, went once for convenience and found their chicken selects to pretty darn tasty! Their burgers are no good though, IMO.
    Mon the Hibs.

Burger King for a burger and then over the road to McDonalds for their fries.

Once a decade for me.

In my experience it’s queuing to get something for the wee one. For some reason kids absolutely love it, personally I very rarely get anything for myself.

United we stand here....

Some folk like McDonalds some don’t, I don’t see the issue myself, if people want to queue for stuff they like, let them.

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    In my experience it’s queuing to get something for the wee one. For some reason kids absolutely love it, personally I very rarely get anything for myself.
    Maybe. When my baby son went to Doctors for his jags, i told him he was going to McDonalds. Should be a while before he asks to go again.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Wellies. In the winter I need to change into them when I drive to somewhere to walk the dog - everywhere is really muddy. Trying to put them on with a sore back, dodgy knees, groin strain and pain in my left hand is a bloody nightmare, especially with a mad spaniel who's desperate to get going. Then you walk 20 paces and a stone gets into one and you have to do it all over again without falling over

Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    Wellies. In the winter I need to change into them when I drive to somewhere to walk the dog - everywhere is really muddy. Trying to put them on with a sore back, dodgy knees, groin strain and pain in my left hand is a bloody nightmare, especially with a mad spaniel who's desperate to get going. Then you walk 20 paces and a stone gets into one and you have to do it all over again without falling over
    If it wasnae for your wellies where would you be?

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY
    Wellies = one of the standout inventions in all history.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post

3pts away from home - i'm a happy glory hunter. jonty's Avatar

Gamertag: jonty Wii Code: 7580 5998 4272 1376
    Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    I pulled in to the drive in queue for the Alloa McDonald’s not realising there was probably 20/25 cars in front of me. I was only there 10 minutes. They’re a production line and it’s almost better to wait because the stuff you get will be fresher than if you’d rolled in and out in a couple minutes.

I wouldn’t go out my way for it, and wouldn’t do a journey especially for it, but it does what it says on the tin.
    I always order with pickle removed.
    That way its always freshly made.

3pts away from home - i'm a happy glory hunter. jonty's Avatar

Gamertag: jonty Wii Code: 7580 5998 4272 1376
    Pet peeve - when the mcdonalds order comes with pickle despite having the order label to have it without.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post

Wellies don't even smell now, that's the only good thing.

That's some leap the stone has to make to get into a pair of wellies

Quote Originally Posted by The_Exile View Post
    That's some leap the stone has to make to get into a pair of wellies
    It's a bloody miracle. Happens every time. Tiny wee stones of course...

Maybe. When my baby son went to Doctors for his jags, i told him he was going to McDonalds. Should be a while before he asks to go again.
    He'll thank you for it eventually.

Breggsit. Why can't they say Brexit

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    People becoming famous online for lip syncing to people like Trump or Gervais

@hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mon Dieu4 View Post
    People becoming famous online for lip syncing to people like Trump or Gervais
    You have to admit, the Gervais guy is pretty decent.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post

Not taking away from your dads story but I’m glad that I’m no longer renting. When I moved to Dundee I went to an agents near the Tay Bridge with a blue sign (just in case anyone knows anyone who is looking and who to avoid) and found a place. When I moved in it was filthy - used chip forks on the floor, smooshed crayons and hairs down the sofa. Was refused a cleaner coming in as “they’d already paid a good chunk of money to clean it”.

Left there after a year and they tried to keep hundreds of pounds of my deposit for things like a snib on a door missing (which it always was but didn’t think to mark down), paint splatters on a window left by a workman they had in, lots of stuff that was in their photos at the start of the tenancy, and for it requiring a professional clean. We genuinely left it spotless.

Went through the appeals process and it took hours to complete and weeks to be finalised. The documents I sent in got lost somewhere in the chain and I lost over £100 of my initial deposit for no apparent reason.

It’s genuinely disgusting how badly so many people in the rental market are treated, it appears only the letting agencies have a good time and get money for nothing.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction