Page 270 of 424 FirstFirst ... 170220260268269270271272280320370 ... LastLast
Results 8,071 to 8,100 of 12720

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    On the game show theme - Pointless.

When you're in the final round and the question is something like "Kinks songs", "You've Really Got Me" and "Waterloo Sunset" are obviously going to be high scorers. You'd be far better having a punt on an album track or if you don't know them, guessing that they might have covered a staple song from a decade before.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    Following on from the Halloween theme, whatever happened to bonfire night? When I was young the week leading up to bonfire night was spent with a piece of waste ground being used as a temporary site to build a huge pile of flammable furniture that was no longer required in people’s houses, we would pass every day and watch the pile get bigger and bigger ready for the big day. The day itself was a massive community event with everyone gathering round the bonfire with sparklers and some fireworks. These events passed of with minimal casualties and a great night was had by all. Now you have organised displays and the firefighters putting out fires all over the place. Get back to the old way of doing things, ffs some people don’t even call it bonfire night anymore.
    The local one when I was growing up was on the road in front of Saint Stephens Church at the bottom of Howe Street.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Following on from the Halloween theme, whatever happened to bonfire night? When I was young the week leading up to bonfire night was spent with a piece of waste ground being used as a temporary site to build a huge pile of flammable furniture that was no longer required in people’s houses, we would pass every day and watch the pile get bigger and bigger ready for the big day. The day itself was a massive community event with everyone gathering round the bonfire with sparklers and some fireworks. These events passed of with minimal casualties and a great night was had by all. Now you have organised displays and the firefighters putting out fires all over the place. Get back to the old way of doing things, ffs some people don’t even call it bonfire night anymore.

Health & Safety , plus neds who used set the bonfire alight before the big night . There's usually one here , but this year obviously it's cancelled due The covid regulations

On Sky Sports during the half time break when the come back for about 30 seconds then go off for more ads pretty pointless I'd say just show an extra couple of commercials instead

I can't speak for elsewhere but when I was growing up it was a minority that spoiled it for everyone.

You'd watch the bonfire pile growing, rival bonfires would nick things off other piles and early doors it was pretty family orientated with sparklers and so on. As the night progressed it was taken over by folk who were pished and they would start firing rockets across the road and aiming them at buses; one year someone got thrown on the fire when a fight broke out and was pretty seriously injured.

It ended up with an organised fireworks display being put together and the unofficial community bonfire disappeared.
    I think your probably right with that, I only remember them when I was a young child and it was a highlight of the year. A big fire and the sparklers, remembering not to touch the hot part. Dogs didn’t seem to be bothered by the fireworks during that time, we took the dog with us. Changed days.

United we stand here....

Pumpkins and trick or treating. When I was young carving an old turnip was a test of both physical strength and character and then we went guising.

See also the growing minority of people with no American roots wishing people happy thanksgiving.
    I ****ing hate all that nonsense.

Especially the pumpkin picking, it’s an absolute racket.

Halloween itself is a lot of ***** too.

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Used to love bonfire night when I was a bairn, there were multiple massive ones around Broomhouse every year.

We used to go to fireworks display (with bonfire) at Saughton enclosure. It was always mobbed. I think it was organised by the Council.

@hibs.net private member Future17's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by davy67 + View Post
    On Sky Sports during the half time break when the come back for about 30 seconds then go off for more ads pretty pointless I'd say just show an extra couple of commercials instead
    It's because they can charge more for "better" positions in ad breaks. The shorter the break the better.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    When people do something to hurt themselves and go "Ow", but feel compelled to add "ah" at the end - "Owwww-ah!".

Similarly when someone describes something as "cringe". It's "cringeworthy" or it's made you cringe.

Both hallmarks of the utter moron that shouldn't be allowed out of their houses.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

This “ring a bell for Santa” pish that seems to be gathering momentum at the moment.

Get to ****. I wasn’t a huge fan of the clap for NHS but at least that was for real people who were deserving of the recognition.

This is just contrived bull**** though.

Quote Originally Posted by matty_f View Post
    This “ring a bell for Santa” pish that seems to be gathering momentum at the moment.

Get to ****. I wasn’t a huge fan of the clap for NHS but at least that was for real people who were deserving of the recognition.

I’ve just seen that too.

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    The Internet.

Completely changed from the brilliant wild west it was 10 years ago.
    Now when you search for something , it's just links to sites selling stuff.
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

I'm torn on this one.

Evidently the ring a bell idea is contrived bull****. However for years people have bemoaned the loss of the 'real spirit of Christmas' and complained it's just commercialised nonsense. Is encouraging people to come together and do something as a community a bad idea?

We have a WhatsApp group in our street for most of the families with young kids. There have been some great ideas for what to do for Halloween next week and there are already tentative plans to have a socially distanced street carol service on our doorsteps on Christmas Eve. If a few of the bairns brought bells to ring then I'd probably find myself greeting rather than getting pissed off.

My peeve would be the people who tear the arse out of these things and take an idea and spoil it with one upsmanship. We saw it with the clap for key workers which became bang a pan which became lug a whole drum kit onto the street. No doubt the same thing will happen with whatever streets and neighbourhoods plan for Christmas. Some people just can't help themselves.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar

Had never heard of this before your post, so it's your fault. 😉

As far as I'm concerned the only time someone should ring a bell to celebrate is a cancer patient when they have finished treatment.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Waking up in the middle of a great dream and not being able to get back into it.

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Martyn Tyler dining out on his catchphrase And Its LIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIVVVVVVVVEEEEEEEEE every time he's commentating. Nips my heed that.
    Hibs.nets negative posting legend and unofficial ticket agent.

When you think of everything that you should have said or done 5 minutes after you needed to say or do it.

Generally in the sense of not knocking the **** out of someone when it was merited or losing the head when you should have just walked away.

Arguing with a 3 year old.

It was a dress up day at nursery today so she had the choice of being a witch or a pumpkin. Tried both costumes on this week and loved them. This morning:

'Let's get your pumpkin on'
    'No'
    'Come on you look funny'
    'I don't want to'
    ** 5 minute wait***
    'Ok are we going to put this pumpkin on then?'
    'NO!'
    'How about a witch?'
    'No, thank you'
    'You'll look silly if everyone else is dressed up'
    'I don't want to'
    ****Throws costumes on the floor and starts 'crying'*****
    'Right you can just wear your normal clothes then'
    ***Drive to nursery and see about 70% of the other kids dressed up***
    'Daddy I want to dress up'

@hibs.net private member Craig_HFC's Avatar
    Your finger going through the bag when you're picking up your dog's ****.

PERSEVERE
    Verb: pə:ːsɪ'ˈvɪə/
    To not give up.
    To go the distance.
    To stop at nothing.

I'm torn on this one.

Evidently the ring a bell idea is contrived bull****. However for years people have bemoaned the loss of the 'real spirit of Christmas' and complained it's just commercialised nonsense. Is encouraging people to come together and do something as a community a bad idea?

We have a WhatsApp group in our street for most of the families with young kids. There have been some great ideas for what to do for Halloween next week and there are already tentative plans to have a socially distanced street carol service on our doorsteps on Christmas Eve. If a few of the bairns brought bells to ring then I'd probably find myself greeting rather than getting pissed off.

My peeve would be the people who tear the arse out of these things and take an idea and spoil it with one upsmanship. We saw it with the clap for key workers which became bang a pan which became lug a whole drum kit onto the street. No doubt the same thing will happen with whatever streets and neighbourhoods plan for Christmas. Some people just can't help themselves.

I'm the same, I love the idea of the bairns out ringing bells at 6pm on Xmas Eve. The excitement for them would be so good to see and would bring back a bit of the old fashioned Xmas spirit. I've ordered my grandson a wee bell on a ribbon, like a cats collar bell but bigger.
    However the one upmanship is horrific, the NHS clapping around here ended up with buckets being hit or even at one point car horns being tooted. So this will be the only year I'll enjoy the bell ringing as I fully expect firework displays and brass bands next year.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar

It was a dress up day at nursery today so she had the choice of being a witch or a pumpkin. Tried both costumes on this week and loved them. This morning:

'No'
    'Come on you look funny'
    'I don't want to'
    ** 5 minute wait***
    'NO!'
    'How about a witch?'
    'No, thank you'
    'I don't want to'

I could change a few words in that and it would describe my ex deciding what to wear before going out.

@hibs.net private member hibee_girl's Avatar

'No'
    'Come on you look funny'
    'I don't want to'
    ** 5 minute wait***
    'NO!'
    'How about a witch?'
    'No, thank you'
    'I don't want to'

You’ve described every day of my work

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    Questions that dont really need asked or answered.
    E.g. Wife "Did you hear me leaving for work this morning "?
    WTF? Why do you care?

Wife "Did you phone your work when you were off"?
    Again WTF? I cant remember , why TF do you ask?

Wife "Did you have mayo on your subway yesterday"?
    Yes , yes i did have mayo but why TF are you interested?

This goes on endlessley :
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

Quote Originally Posted by sleeping giant View Post
    Questions that dont really need asked or answered.
    E.g. Wife "Did you hear me leaving for work this morning "?
    WTF? Why do you care?

Wife "Did you phone your work when you were off"?
    Again WTF? I cant remember , why TF do you ask?

Wife "Did you have mayo on your subway yesterday"?
    Yes , yes i did have mayo but why TF are you interested?

This goes on endlessley :
    You've just described every waking second of my life working from home.

And some of the ones where I'm sleeping and have been woken up for the question to be asked. That's not even a lie.

@hibs.net private member & Biggest, Funniest Slaver on hibs.net 2012 Pedantic_Hibee's Avatar
    You've just described every waking second of my life working from home.

And some of the ones where I'm sleeping and have been woken up for the question to be asked. That's not even a lie.
    “You’re not going out are you?”

“No, I often walk about the house wearing an overcoat and a woollen hat, of course I’m f****ng going out”
    "Play for the name on the front of the jersey and the supporters will remember the name on the back"

Quote Originally Posted by hibee_girl View Post
    You’ve described every day of my work
    You should probably stop trying to dress kids in pumpkins all year round then 🤣

@hibs.net private member hibee_girl's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    You should probably stop trying to dress kids in pumpkins all year round then 🤣
    That’s where I’ve been going wrong!

TV series that don't resolve themselves, but set things up for a second series. I find that really arrogant.

Latest example is Road Kill on the BBC.

@hibs.net private member Future17's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    I could change a few words in that and it would describe my ex deciding what to wear before going out.
    I really hope that included the phrase "let's get your pumpkin on".