Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    "Our 5 year anniversary "

Don't tell me you forgot?

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    But when it's said that something shouldn't be taken literally, it means that what's been said isn't 100% accurate.

Therefore if what you say is true, someone can say "He was literally dead on his feet - but don't take that literally"?

My brain hurts (not literally).
    You're probably not going to much like that 'loosen' and 'unloosen' have literally the same meaning.

Earworms. Got that ******* Nobody's Child ringing round ma heid all day.

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    Earworms. Got that ******* Nobody's Child ringing round ma heid all day.
    Is that my fault?

You're probably not going to much like that 'loosen' and 'unloosen' have literally the same meaning.
    Naw, I'm no' having that.

How about flammable and inflammable?

Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    How about flammable and inflammable?
    Aaaargh! My head's just literally exploded!

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Is that my fault?
    You and your ******* brothers on the ******* Sydney De*******vine thread.

You and your ******* brothers on the ******* Sydney Devine thread.
    Ahhh.... nobody wants you.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    This is a contentious one but when Alan Stubbs is interviewed after the cup final and he says "Every cloud has a silver lining, and today we got that silver lining".

He's a legend and if he punched me in the face I'd still applaud him, but that's now how that saying works, Alan.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    This is a contentious one but when Alan Stubbs is interviewed after the cup final and he says "Every cloud has a silver lining, and today we got that silver lining".

He's a legend and if he punched me in the face I'd still applaud him, but that's now how that saying works, Alan.
    He was referencing the fact that we had lost a prior cup final and critically not got promoted so the season as a whole was the cloud no?

Seems to me a quite apt description with a nice play on words at the same time.

Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    Gregg Wallace. No programme can’t be ruined by him shouting PHWOOOAAAR at a cheese and pickle sandwich.
    If you watch Masterchef and imagine Gregg Wallace as Peter Griffin from Family Guy, it’s uncanny how many times he makes similar expressions.

I'm not sure if I'm reading too many forums or social media posts of American persuasion but the increase in the use of the word "hustle" to describe any type of work is infuriating and should be met with a year in the gulags.

Throw in the LinkedIn "what side hustle have you developed during lockdown?" psots and I'm close to doing time.

Quote Originally Posted by CloudSquall View Post
    I'm not sure if I'm reading too many forums or social media posts of American persuasion but the increase in the use of the word "hustle" to describe any type of work is infuriating and should be met with a year in the gulags.

Throw in the LinkedIn "what side hustle have you developed during lockdown?" psots and I'm close to doing time.
    Van McCoy will be turning in his grave. 😀

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    People in supermarkets who block the entire aisle with their trolley when looking at things or worse, having a natter with someone.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Just watching that Zoo show on bbc 2, and they’re feeding the animals food that comes from a market that sells its food for human consumption. How in 21st century Scotland can we not have a system that means food that gets chucked out from supermarkets goes to animals? Fair play to the zoo for buying it though. £500 a day on fresh fruit and veg apparently.

UK commentators pronouncing LA as Los Angelees. Its "Los Angelis". I know this because I have an ex girlfriend and many friends who live in California. Its always bugged me this one.

Quote Originally Posted by Bangkok Hibby View Post
    UK commentators pronouncing LA as Los Angelees. Its "Los Angelis". I know this because I have an ex girlfriend and many friends who live in California. Its always bugged me this one.
    French people who know better than me how to spell my surname.

"M A C D..."

- No, it's M C D

"Vous êtes sûr (are you sure)?"

- Yes.

Then they type/write

"MC DON..."

- No, there's no space between the C & the D.

"Vous êtes sûr?"

- Yes

... and so on.

How do you pronounce San Francisco ?

The Cambridge dictionary actually gives distinctive pronunciations of Los Angeles for both British and American English. Either is acceptable.

"M A C D..."

- No, it's M C D

- Yes.

Then they type/write

"MC DON..."

"Vous êtes sûr?"

- Yes

... and so on.

Same in Germany.

I blame MacDonalds!

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Same in Germany.

I blame MacDonalds!

In Germany they pronounce it Meck-Doe-nalds, but I've kind of gotten used to that, what really grips my excrement is how they pronounce Douglas, the have a chain of perfumery of that name and pronounce it Dooglass, makes me want to scream.

@hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    Passive/aggressive comments....nae need!

Walking along a path that leads to a supermarket, family come towards me and as if I'm Moses, they part ways. Husband laden with bags one side, Wife with the oversized push chair the other. Conscious of social distancing I slow down my approach to allow them to pick a side, but they don't so I carefully pick my way through them. The guy then turns around and bellows a "nae borra pal!". I looked back and just shook my head. What exactly did they want me to do???

"M A C D..."

- No, it's M C D

- Yes.

Then they type/write

"MC DON..."

"Vous êtes sûr?"

- Yes

... and so on.

believe it or not I’ve had more than a few similar conversations in Scotland

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    On the name front, it was a pain in the backside when giving my ex-wife’s maiden name of Rhodes. Even where you spelled it out and suffixed it with “like the Greek island” it would inevitably appear as Rose or Ross or, even worse, Roads.

Edit: and currently it is a pain in the backside when giving my girlfriend’s first name of Paula. She’s about to complete on the sale of her flat and she pointed out to the solicitor that all the documentation has her down as Paul.

And that’s without mentioning my first name which is one where there are a few different spelling variations out there.
    Last edited by overdrive; 24-02-2021 at 07:24 PM.

Same in Germany.

I blame MacDonalds!

Nothing worse, well few things worse, well loads of things worse actually, than hearing young people talk about "maccy dees". Too lazy to learn to say "mccy dees" properly?

In France it's abbreviated to mack-doa.

How fitba commentators have started to use the word “delicious “ at every opportunity

The Cambridge dictionary actually gives distinctive pronunciations of Los Angeles for both British and American English. Either is acceptable.
    Not to a local it isn't.

How do you pronounce Paris? 😉