SHC. Duncan Watmore

The Toulon tournament is on BT Sport (2) England are playing Morrocco, Duncan Watmore has scored one and set up the other for England. Currently 3-2 for Morrocco. He has filled out a bit since his time at Hibs, but stil very ginger!
    Last edited by Saturday Boy; 28-05-2015 at 06:27 PM. Reason: Predictive text 1, me nil

Wisnae a bad wee player Duncan reminded me of nick barmby a little

Didn't help with pish game plan Newport's finest played however

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Saturday Boy View Post
    The Toulon tournament is on BT Sport (2) England are playing Morrocco, Duncan Watmore has scored one and set up the other for England. Currently 3-2 for Morrocco. He has filled out a bit since his time at Hibs, but stil very ginger!
    What level or age group is the Toulon tournament?

@hibs.net private member Mr White's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    what level or age group is the toulon tournament?
    u20

Quote Originally Posted by eastmainsmsh View Post
    Wisnae a bad wee player Duncan reminded me of nick barmby a little

Didn't help with pish game plan Newport's finest played however
    Sure Butchered said he was like Stanley Matthews in an article, I thought he was more like Stanley Baxter
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

Apparently had a great season for Sunderland U-21s and shortlisted for player of the year for the league.

Hope he continues to do well.

Quote Originally Posted by Baldy Foghorn View Post
    Sure Butchered said he was like Stanley Matthews in an article, I thought he was more like Stanley Baxter
    He looked a great player imo but was hacked to bits on his debut against Raith. Think your comment's a bit disrespectful.

Quote Originally Posted by tamig View Post
    He looked a great player imo but was hacked to bits on his debut against Raith. Think your comment's a bit disrespectful.
    He was bang average IMO.

Opinions...

Quote Originally Posted by tamig View Post
    Opinions...
    Indeed

He was bang average IMO.
    I think you are being generous.

@hibs.net private member Bishop Hibee's Avatar
    Sorry Watmore is a great player. Scottish refs offered him no protection.
    "Washing one's hands of the conflict between the powerful and the powerless means to side with the powerful, not to be neutral.' - Paulo Freire

Quote Originally Posted by 3pm View Post
    I think you are being generous.
    He did manage a goal at Partick, which gives him the slightly higher appraisal

He was terrible at Easter Road, a little boy lost

Testimonial Due NadeAteMyLunch!'s Avatar
    He will go on to have a good career. I'm absolutely convinced of that

@hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar
    Why are people still surprised when they see players getting better as they get older? It is what happens as young players develop and learn and far to many people are too quick to judge and write off young talent as a dud.
    Last edited by Spike Mandela; 29-05-2015 at 08:08 PM.

@hibs.net private member Stevie Reid's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Spike Mandela View Post
    Why are people still surprised when they see players getting better as they get older? It is what happens as young players develop and learn and far to many people are too quick to judge and right off young talent as a dud.
    A point I've made many times on here myself. The amount of people on here who believe that players exist in stasis throughout their careers despite different coaching, team mates, and environment, is perplexing.

Duncan has just been named the U21 Premier league player of the year

Quote Originally Posted by MKHIBEE View Post
    surely not... i read on here that he's rubbish.

Thought he was good on his debut, unfortunately Raith kicked him off the park. had injuries on and off with us thereafter.

Unbelievable Jeff.

Testimonial Due NadeAteMyLunch!'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by itslegaltender View Post
    Thought he was good on his debut, unfortunately Raith kicked him off the park. had injuries on and off with us thereafter.
    His debut against Raith was the best Hibs debut I've ever seen. A truly depressing game with him as the only bright spark. He got kicked all over the place and was limping from about 75 mins on but kept going and nearly won us a pen in the last minute. The rest of his time was then hampered by injuries, ridiculous treatment on the pitch and our worst manager and coaching team to date.
    Read an interview with his Sunderland U21 coach today where he refers to him as a special talent and comments on his 'pace in abundance'. He certainly would have been a better option than Sinclair or Kennedy last season

Quote Originally Posted by Springbank View Post
    He was terrible at Easter Road, a little boy lost
    I was an older boy lost just watching us under Butcher ....

Seems spotting potential isn't your strong point...

Capture.jpg

*Very small image link above*
    Last edited by SquashedFrogg; 29-05-2015 at 06:52 PM.

@hibs.net private member Winston Ingram's Avatar

Duncan Watmore

@ABevington11: Congratulations to Duncan Watmore on being named @premierleague U21 player of the year. @SunderlandAFC @ianwatmore
    Decent accolade

I'm surprised at that but then again probably one of a number who were in the right place at the wrong time.

Not surprised at all, anybody that says he wasn't going to be a great player is nuts. He was battered senseless by the opposition up here but I have never seen a player sail past other players so easily.

He was a very good player. Just a pity we had a s*** management team of Butcher & Malpas at the time when we had him here.

Never fully recovered from injury picked up on debut otherwise he would have been a valuable player for us. Good luck to the guy.

Does that means the boots I won at auction are actually worth something now?

i bet the laddie is glad he doesn't walk around with bruises all over his legs anymore after his stint up here