Tommy Preston RIP

It is with great sorrow to announce that Tam Preston passed away this morning.

TP was born Thomas Baxter Preston on the 3rd October 1932 in Longstone Edinburgh. He started his playing career with Juniper Thistle before moving to Edinburgh Thistle and then Newtongrange Star. He signed for Hibs on the 6th October 1953, he playing 313 games scoring 50 goals for Hibs.
    He made his first team debut against Celtic 61 years tomorrow the 17th April 1954. His first goal was against East Fife in the league cup on the 15th Aug 1954. While with Hibs he had many memorable games including scoring home and away against Barcelona.

I was speaking to Tam last year and he was saying that he had been down the bowling club and the Champions League game between Barcelona and Bayern Munich was on the tele, he turned to the guys he was playing dominos with and said ‘I don’t know what all the fuss is about, I have played and scored against them both!’ he then said he was chapping.

He was transferred to St Mirren in season 1964-65 but only played one game for them.

Tam like many ex-Hibs players ended up in the pub trade with his final pub being the Annefield in Newhaven which he ran with this partner Janet, Janet's sons still run the pub. Up until recently Tam was an active member of the Hibernian Former Players Association and went to Hibs games and was a regular guest in the director’s box.

@hibs.net private member Craig_HFC's Avatar
    RIP Tommy, a true gentleman.

@hibs.net private member offshorehibby's Avatar
    Truly sad news, one of the Hibs greats that i can say spent time in his company many times over the years.

RIP Tommy
    TOP CASH BACK
    The easy way to make money

how sad, RIP tommy

RIP Tommy.

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Very sad news.

RIP TP.

RIP Mr Preston.

Had the privilege to sit behind him for s season in the old Main Stand.

Always had time for a chat.

A true gent.

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    Sad news.

A true great.

@hibs.net private member Bishop Hibee's Avatar
    One of the greats who shaped the wonderful history of our club. RIP.
    "Washing one's hands of the conflict between the powerful and the powerless means to side with the powerful, not to be neutral.' - Paulo Freire

Very sad news this is, he was great friends with my dad and I got to know him very well when he had the Traveller's Tryst at the bus station.

I know we all can't live forever and Tommy has been suffering with ill health for a while now, still comes as a wee shock when you her it though.

R.I.P

My old man and his brother used to play with him in his Juvenile days.

Last time I saw him was just before the Livi final in 2004. He and my dad had a wee chat, and both had the same "bad feeling" about the game. Such is the cross auld Hibbies have to bear

RIP.

Sad news. My dad occasionally went down and had a pint and a natter with Tommy, he spoke very highly of him.

R.i.p

RIP, Lovely guy, great Hibs man.

Left by mutual consent! Fife-Hibee's Avatar
    R.I.P Tam, very sad to hear indeed !

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    Very sad news this is, he was great friends with my dad and I got to know him very well when he had the Traveller's Tryst at the bus station.

I know we all can't live forever and Tommy has been suffering with ill health for a while now, still comes as a wee shock when you her it though.

R.I.P
    That's where I used to encounter him, a wee stop off on the way home from work - a good host.

Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    That's where I used to encounter him, a wee stop off on the way home from work - a good host.

I used to clean the windows at the old bus station offices, my dad would pop off to see Tommy while I finished off cleaning said windows, I drove so it was always a coke for me.

RIP Tommy - thanks for the legacy.

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    I used to clean the windows at the old bus station offices, my dad would pop off to see Tommy while I finished off cleaning said windows, I drove so it was always a coke for me.
    Small world My office was 2 floors up, one window to the left of the Travellers Tryst!

Truly gutted to hear this. What a nice guy and always had time for a chat no matter what.

Gutted

@hibs.net private member Oscar T Grouch's Avatar
    RIP Tam, really sad news.

Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former.

RIP Tommy, met him a few times and as others have said always had time for a blether, lovely man.

RIP Tommy

Such a gentleman, always had time to speak to me and my dad at Easter road. Heard many a story from him. Let's win the holy grail for him!

RIP Tommy

aw Maurice, thats such a shame.

Last time i saw him he wasnt looking so well but always had a smile for me.

A Hibby till he died and such a nice man. RIP Tam. x

RIP Tommy. I met him loads of times and used to love listening to his stories about when he was playing.

United we stand here....

Rip 😔

http://youtu.be/3ahBCzv9erE

Quote Originally Posted by big-mo View Post
    It is with great sorrow to announce that Tam Preston passed away this morning.

TP was born Thomas Baxter Preston on the 3rd October 1932 in Longstone Edinburgh. He started his playing career with Juniper Thistle before moving to Edinburgh Thistle and then Newtongrange Star. He signed for Hibs on the 6th October 1953, he playing 313 games scoring 50 goals for Hibs.
    He made his first team debut against Celtic 61 years tomorrow the 17th April 1954. His first goal was against East Fife in the league cup on the 15th Aug 1954. While with Hibs he had many memorable games including scoring home and away against Barcelona.

I was speaking to Tam last year and he was saying that he had been down the bowling club and the Champions League game between Barcelona and Bayern Munich was on the tele, he turned to the guys he was playing dominos with and said ‘I don’t know what all the fuss is about, I have played and scored against them both!’ he then said he was chapping.

He was transferred to St Mirren in season 1964-65 but only played one game for them.

Tam like many ex-Hibs players ended up in the pub trade with his final pub being the Annefield in Newhaven which he ran with this partner Janet, Janet's sons still run the pub. Up until recently Tam was an active member of the Hibernian Former Players Association and went to Hibs games and was a regular guest in the director’s box.

Brilliant story thanks for sharing that. RIP

@hibs.net private member Seveno's Avatar
    A true Hibs legend.

RIP Tommy.