going to work in saudi arabia

going to work in saudi miss the semi final ,poss final, all the playoff stuff.
    need plenty updates on here of whats happening. ofcouse i hope hibs do it all but will this be the year when im away.
    only HIBS , get it sorted petrie

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    Best of luck Lawrence!

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post
    Best of luck Lawrence!
    yeah yeah heard them all

Quote Originally Posted by livi hibs 1875 View Post
    yeah yeah heard them all
    Nae need Tae take the hump

The culture shock is the most difficult thing about working there - it's seriously harder to come to terms with than a visit to the Piggery.

Quote Originally Posted by HappyAsHellas View Post
    The culture shock is the most difficult thing about working there - it's seriously harder to come to terms with than a visit to the Piggery.

HA HA i know what you mean was there last year for 3 months , but once you get your head round the way it all works its no bad , plus Bahrain is not a bad weekend out

My auld boys uncle Bert was in hospital with Lawrence of Arabia.

Quote Originally Posted by HibbiesandtheBaddies View Post
    My auld boys uncle Bert was in hospital with Lawrence of Arabia.
    Bert of Arabia doesn't have the same ring to it though really ...

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    Bert of Arabia doesn't have the same ring to it though really ...
    Bert was a bit-part player

Quote Originally Posted by livi hibs 1875 View Post
    HA HA i know what you mean was there last year for 3 months , but once you get your head round the way it all works its no bad , plus Bahrain is not a bad weekend out
    Bahrain has all the qualities of a good weekend out of a damp weekend in wester hailes. Should you truly want a worthwhile experience I would suggest the dancing clubs/bars in Amman. A real eye opener, but not in a positive sense. The amphitheatre there is well worth a visit though which almost makes it worthwhile. Avoid Egypt at all costs - it's full of Egyptians. If you're going to support a local team in Saudi then it has to be Al Ahli - nothing else comes close.

First Team Regular WillowbraeHibby's Avatar
    Bahrain has all the qualities of a good weekend out of a damp weekend in wester hailes. Should you truly want a worthwhile experience I would suggest the dancing clubs/bars in Amman. A real eye opener, but not in a positive sense. The amphitheatre there is well worth a visit though which almost makes it worthwhile. Avoid Egypt at all costs - it's full of Egyptians. If you're going to support a local team in Saudi then it has to be Al Ahli - nothing else comes close.

Aqaba is decent for a night oot... Been drunk there a few times..

Really cheap Rolex watches out that way.

Are you allowed to drive a car in Saudi?

Quote Originally Posted by peter douglas View Post
    Really cheap Rolex watches out that way.
    green ones

Where are you going tone based when you get to the Magic Kingdom?

Quote Originally Posted by SaudiHibby View Post
    green ones
    I read that thread

Sort yourself out with a VPN and if you have Sky then sort out SkyGo. I have my BBC iPlayer set to Scotland location so it is almost like being at home except for missing live games.

Sheesh! As I typed the last post the Muezzin has started of calling all for midday prayer from the minaret of the mosque next to my apartment.

now after over 20 years working in the Middle East, the start of the singing still startles.

@hibs.net private member mutley's Avatar

PSN ID: mutley074
    I'm out in UAE (near Dubai) for 6 months from the end of May , not long back from Oman. Still humming and ha-ing on wether to renew my ST as I'll be back November ish, might hang on and buy half season later in the year

Quote Originally Posted by keekaboo View Post
    Are you allowed to drive a car in Saudi?
    As long as you're male, yes, the Saudi licence is quite cheap and easy to get.

Because alcohol is banned, there is no such think as drunk driving as the assumption is that nobody drinks alcohol. Dangerous driving maybe, but not drunk driving. Mind you the way the Saudis drive you'd suspect they were blootered. Stay well away from the roads on the 4th week of Ramadan as they are lethal.

For the football, get yourself a Bein Sports subscription, costs 800SAR (£150 per year), that will occupy you for a footie fix!!
    Driving is mad, but on the plus side, petrol costs 7.5p per litre.
    Enjoy it

Best of British over there.

I wouldn't visit Saudi Arabia if my life depended on it.

Quote Originally Posted by Trig View Post
    Best of British over there.

As soon as I saw you were the last person to post on this thread I thought "this could be good "

You didn't disappoint

Quote Originally Posted by Trig View Post
    I think you would.

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar
    Is it true you have to get an AIDS test to work in the Kingdom?

when you guys are at hampden , i might just pop over to yeman will be much of the same

First Team Regular WillowbraeHibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Bristolhibby View Post
    Is it true you have to get an AIDS test to work in the Kingdom?

I believe so. As in Oman, Iraq, etc, it is usually a formality to have a blood / AIDS test done. If you are going to reside for your job, then it is a medical which covers all that (Blood test etc).

Just my experience of it...

Quote Originally Posted by Turkish Green View Post
    Because alcohol is banned, there is no such think as drunk driving as the assumption is that nobody drinks alcohol. Dangerous driving maybe, but not drunk driving. Mind you the way the Saudis drive you'd suspect they were blootered. Stay well away from the roads on the 4th week of Ramadan as they are lethal.

Purely out of interest, why is that?