Dundee release players, for supporting United

What do you all think

http://babb.telegraph.co.uk/2015/03/dundee-release-two-players-after-they-watch-rivals-dundee-united-in-scottish-league-cup-final/

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    Imagine of 2 of our young players went to watch them in a semi....

Unlikely to be the whole story imo billy

Quote Originally Posted by Ronniekirk View Post
    Unlikely to be the whole story imo billy
    Probably right, might have been told not to go, and defied orders

What do you all think
    Dundee don't think they're going to make the grade.

@hibs.net private member CraigHibee's Avatar
    harsh if this was the real reason for them being released

Suppose it depends on the rest of the story.

Had they gone and sat in neutral seating, say as the guest of another player, and informed the club then they might have been ok. If they have done a Lee Clark then they have really given Dundee little choice.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Never been able to put my finger on why but never liked Dundee FC.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    Never been able to put my finger on why but never liked Dundee FC.
    I used to be the same, till 1986.

Ah well, any excuse to post this:

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Don't need an excuse

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by ballengeich View Post
    Dundee don't think they're going to make the grade.
    The real crux of the matter.

If both players were worth big transfer fees they wouldn't have been released.

I take it they'll release Paul McGowan once he's jailed then?

Quote Originally Posted by Wheat Hound View Post
    I take it they'll release Paul McGowan once he's jailed then?
    Good question. They should release him now that he's admitted attacking a police officer. The THIRD time he's done this!

Has to be more to the story. Guy's from all teams go to see their team all the time. Plenty of players have been to see Hibs play when they were with another team.

They must be pish.

No morals in fitba. If they were any good they'd still be there.

Don't need an excuse
    Don't tell me what happened, first time I've seen this and it's 0-0. Some guy with a moustache coming on. I wonder if 'the famous' can win the league title?

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by DH1875 View Post
    Has to be more to the story. Guy's from all teams go to see their team all the time. Plenty of players have been to see Hibs play when they were with another team.
    I'm sure Tam McManus went to watch a Celtic game and the excuse that was released was that he was told to go and watch Henrik Larsson and learn from the experience.

Aye, and the tannoy played "Believe It If You Like".

This is nonsense, if that's the real reason then it's the most petty dismissal I've ever heard.

@hibs.net private member hibees 7062's Avatar
    They were pished

I think that there's no way that they would have been released just because they went to watch a football match and support a rival team.

There has to be more to it than that.

@hibs.net private member hibees 7062's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Trig View Post
    I think that there's no way that they would have been released just because they went to watch a football match and support a rival team.

There has to be more to it than that.
    Aye they were steaming

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibees 7062 View Post
    Aye they were steaming
    Did they pish themself's

Celtic supporter at work took a photo of Cifcti(spelling?) sitting in beside the Celtic support for the semi final he was suspended for. Thought it was strange but it was definitely him. Maybe a summer transfer in the offing!

2nd goal was a peach 🍑

My auld boy is a Dundee fan, so I've always had a soft spot for them. ☺

So if we make the cup final any pro thats a Hibs fan should be sacked if they turn up at the game?

Quote Originally Posted by stormchild View Post
    Celtic supporter at work took a photo of Cifcti(spelling?) sitting in beside the Celtic support for the semi final he was suspended for. Thought it was strange but it was definitely him. Maybe a summer transfer in the offing!
    he wasn't suspended for a semi final

Quote Originally Posted by DH1875 View Post
    So if we make the cup final any pro thats a Hibs fan should be sacked if they turn up at the game?
    I think it would only be an issue to hearts fans. If I knew that any of our players were going to watch hearts I wouldn't be happy about it.

United we stand here....

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    I think it would only be an issue to hearts fans. If I knew that any of our players were going to watch hearts I wouldn't be happy about it.
    Exactly.

If a picture emerged of a couple of young Hibs players in the Hearts end at a cup final (no s******ing at the back) then plenty folk would be going mental. There was a fair few on here getting worked up about a picture emerging of Jason Cummings 'doing a 5-1' way before he even signed for us. But when it's Dundee and Dundee Utd it's 'petty' or 'ridiculous'.

It's all about respect for your club. Going to support your local rivals in a cup final isn't on.

I wouldn't care it two 16 year old hearts fans , who happened to be youth players with Hibs , sat with their colours on in a final - it's their team

It wouldn't make them any less committed to their job at Hibs