Thread: Aston Villa

Aston Villa

Who are they playing today? Just passed a load of their fans in Queen Street station?????

Away at Everton...

Makes sense for them to be in Glasgow then.

That'll be the Glasgow villa branch.

Meanwhile doon the road Hamilton are pulling off a minor football miracle and cant pull in more than a couple of thousand.

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    Meanwhile doon the road Hamilton are pulling off a minor football miracle and cant pull in more than a couple of thousand.
    Very true. Glaswegians travelling to watch Villa is a strange one. Why Villa?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    I would guess they swapped one dump of a town for another but still like to follow their team.

Maybe Villa fans who work in Glasgow? They are a huge club and probably have quite a few fans who live in the weege!

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar

Lambert's mates with free tickets

Quote Originally Posted by SkintHibby View Post
    Maybe Villa fans who work in Glasgow? They are a huge club and probably have quite a few fans who live in the weege!
    Aye, they must be Brummies. I can't imagine there's a supporters branch of Glaswegians who travel to Brum for every home game, but you never know. As you say, it's a big club.

Quote Originally Posted by DH1875 View Post
    Who are they playing today? Just passed a load of their fans in Queen Street station?????
    How many of them were there roughly?

Good on them. Probably brummies who have moved up here. Enroute to a Hibs away game recently we passed the Aberdeen branch of the Portsmouth Supporters Club on their way down South. Now thats a treck.

Quote Originally Posted by Brooster View Post
    Good on them. Probably brummies who have moved up here. Enroute to a Hibs away game recently we passed the Aberdeen branch of the Portsmouth Supporters Club on their way down South. Now thats a treck.
    Aberdeen to Portsmouth? Now that's commitment. Wonder how often they make that trip.

I find Dingwall tough enough!

Pompey's Scottish branch go to a lot of the games in the north. Seen them at Bolton a few times and noticed their flag on the TV at York the other week.

On the day of the Falkirk semi, I bumped in to a couple of Preston fans at Glasgow Central who were on their way down to an away game at Carlisle.

Quote Originally Posted by emerald green View Post
    Two at least.

Quote Originally Posted by sahib View Post
    Two at least.
    Cheers. That clears things up nicely.

Quote Originally Posted by emerald green View Post
    Your talking well into double figures . Must have been a stag do or something. Either that or it's the scottish branch heading down south to Liverpool although to be fair, Birmingham aint that much further and dont know why they'd be in queen street and not central .

Quote Originally Posted by DH1875 View Post
    Your talking well into double figures . Must have been a stag do or something. Either that or it's the scottish branch heading down south to Liverpool although to be fair, Birmingham aint that much further and dont know why they'd be in queen street and not central .
    Thanks for that DH. I've always kept a lookout for Aston Villa's scores ever since they won the European Cup way back in 1982. (lost 3-0 yesterday).

They really are a "sleeping giant" of a club with a proud history, very much like our own club.