Thread: Roy Keane

Roy Keane

Fantastic player. Total head case.
    Last edited by 3pm; 07-10-2014 at 05:40 PM.

Read about his fight with Peter Schmeichel earlier due to 'football differences'. Not sure I believe him when he claims he came out of that one on top.

Having read his book I've got nothing but admiration for him, if our players showed even half of his dedication we wouldn't be were we are now

United we stand here....

Read about his fight with Peter Schmeichel earlier due to 'football differences'. Not sure I believe him when he claims he came out of that one on top.
    The guy is nuts. I wouldn't put it past him!

Think he decided to retire very shortly after Scott Brown and Kevin Thomson ran rings around him at Easter Road.

Don't like him. Ending someone's football career and not feeling any sympathy for it.

Idiot. Never a manager. Would make Terry Butcher look like Shirley Temple.

Read his first autobiography which I thought at the time was quite good, now he's brought out a second autobiography!

I won't bother thanks.

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    Having read his book I've got nothing but admiration for him, if our players showed even half of his dedication we wouldn't be were we are now
    The problem with someone like Keane is that it's always someone elses fault.

It's why he'll never succeed as a manager and why he hates Alex Ferguson so much. Fergie knew Keane was finished and treated him the same as any other player and Keane resented that, he thought he was untouchable. I remember reading a story, it may even have come from Keane himself, that when Dwight Yorke signed for Man Utd he deliberately smashed the ball at him so he miscontrolled it then sneered that'Eric would have controlled that'. This was during a competitive match. Some might see that as making a point about being at a bigger and better club, I can't see how it's helpful.

Great player but I don't respect him as a person one bit.

@hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar
    He'd be a great .net poster

A few 50 pagers with him methinks!

The problem with someone like Keane is that it's always someone elses fault.

It's why he'll never succeed as a manager and why he hates Alex Ferguson so much. Fergie knew Keane was finished and treated him the same as any other player and Keane resented that, he thought he was untouchable. I remember reading a story, it may even have come from Keane himself, that when Dwight Yorke signed for Man Utd he deliberately smashed the ball at him so he miscontrolled it then sneered that'Eric would have controlled that'. This was during a competitive match. Some might see that as making a point about being at a bigger and better club, I can't see how it's helpful.

Great player but I don't respect him as a person one bit.
    Yeah i agree with that, I doubt he'll ever make a good manager, but as a player he was a complete winner who never accepted 2nd best. He wasn't the most technically gifted player, but he had the drive and determination to take a game by the scruff of the neck and turn a defeat into a victory.

United we stand here....

Thats one seriously psycho beard.

Deliberately maimed a fellow pro, Erse of a man and being a half decent footballer doesn't make it alright though. Plum of a manager, wasted plenty at Sunderland

Quote Originally Posted by Spike Mandela View Post
    He'd be a great .net poster

A few 50 pagers with him methinks!
    Agreed rather than the majority of lineker types on here.

Kind regards

@hibs.net private member SouthMoroccoStu's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by iwasthere1972 View Post
    Think he decided to retire very shortly after Scott Brown and Kevin Thomson ran rings around him at Easter Road.

Don't like him. Ending someone's football career and not feeling any sympathy for it.

Disappointed by the Roy Keane we saw at Celtic.

A shadow of the former great player.

Am I right (probably not) that jay shields absolutely nailed him in a game?

One of those people who could start a fight in an empty room.

Liked him as a player when I was growing up but he comes across as a total fanny every time he opens his mouth.

@hibs.net private member Leith Green's Avatar
    Roy Keane is the type who questions everyone and everything, but cannot handle coming under scrutiny himself. He strikes me as a manipulative bully , a horrible excuse for a man..

He is a complete thug.

Celtc minded.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Absolute roaster of a human being.

@hibs.net private member NORTHERNHIBBY's Avatar
    Really good footballer. I wonder if he is missing the attention of being a player?
    For as much as SAF brought him to Old Trafford and then helped to mould him into a player, I wonder if equally he would have been one of those that were emptied when Fergie took over, had he been there already.

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    One of my favourite players. Excellent player.

I dont have a problem with his attitude either. Hates to lose.

Quote Originally Posted by SouthMoroccoStu View Post
    Disappointed by the Roy Keane we saw at Celtic.

A shadow of the former great player.

Am I right (probably not) that jay shields absolutely nailed him in a game?
    I remember Mikey Stewart having his best game for Hibs against Keane at Easter Road. Something to prove maybe.

It was Jay Shields who played him off the park that day. I believe the headline was "Hibs Kids ran me ragged". Never rated him as a player but he's entertaining if nothing else nowadays

He's a total and utter fud. I know Deila is getting some severe stick just now but Roy Keane is an even worse manager than Alistair McCoist. " Celtic didn't show me that they really wanted me"....or words to that effect. What a heid case.

Absolute arse. Claims he went out to hurt a player and feels no sympathy for ending his career.

Will never forget Thomson and Brown running him senseless at ER

Fantastic player. Proved time and again that he was one of the best DM in the world in his prime. Never had a problem with his radge side Mick McCarthy was a twat. AIH incident has been made out to be a massive deal when it was him that started the whole situation reap what you sow.

me 'n him, stripped tae the waist outside ma hoose. he'd probably win overall but I know where the neighbour's stanes and bricks are. Ah JIST DINNAE LIKE HIM.

Although I don't like him as a person, I've always thought that people wrongly just remember him for his time at Manchester Utd. He was an extremely good player for Notts Forest before that. **** manager though.

@hibs.net private member Auckland Hibs's Avatar
    Top footballer on his day - however a total James Blunt of a man.

Ending someone's football career but doesn't regret doing it - can you get any lower??