PSN ID: torto7062

Alan Stubbs and Coaches Ice Bucket Challenge

This is superb
    Last edited by Torto7062; 22-08-2014 at 11:18 PM.

Hahaha wee Gav at the end Need to show that bit to my Dad, he and Gav are good pals

Quote Originally Posted by BOB MARLEYS DUG View Post
    Hahaha wee Gav at the end Need to show that bit to my Dad, he and Gav are good pals
    Aye he didnae like the last tub lol

Met Gav a few times mate. Top Guy

First Team Regular GREEN WARLORD's Avatar
    Brilliant 😃

Gamertag: TheBull1875
    When did this all start?

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    I've never heard of this gav guy, what does he do at the club?

Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    He looks like a fitness coach

Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    Don't know what he does now but about 8or 9 years ago he took the summer coaching -green shoots as is it now. He was a really nice guy, great laugh with the kids.

I've just been nominated by someone today, how do you opt out?

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    You gotta do it, no turning back now son.

Tell them it's just a stupid craze and you already give money to charity, thanks very much.

...or get them to read this...

"The Ice bucket Challenge, A Celebrity Wet T-Shirt Contest That Has Nothing To Do With Charity"

Quote Originally Posted by keekaboo View Post
    Tell them it's just a stupid craze and you already give money to charity, thanks

[URL="http://www.theg[/URL]
    Good man, thanks😄

Good man, thanks

You're welcome

smashy-and-nicey_thumb2.jpg

"It's all for Charidee!"

Gamertag: TheBull1875
    When it was doing the rounds with us a couple of months ago it was a tenner tothe nominated charity if you did it and twenty quid if you didn't.

Get RP to do it!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Lucius Apuleius View Post
    When it was doing the rounds with us a couple of months ago it was a tenner tothe nominated charity if you did it and twenty quid if you didn't.
    Its now £3 if you do it, a tenner if you don't

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    Tell them it's just a stupid craze and you already give money to charity, thanks very much.

"The Ice bucket Challenge, A Celebrity Wet T-Shirt Contest That Has Nothing To Do With Charity"
    I read that article through the week and it's utter hogwash IMO.

So far, this has raised the best part of £45 million (globally) for the ALS campaign - it doesn't matter what craze accompanies it or the method of raising awareness IMO, this has been a great thing

It was started by a campaign in the US in honour of Pete Frates and has been a superb motion in aid of a horrendous disease.
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

@hibs.net private member HibbyKeith's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Sylar View Post
    I read that article through the week and it's utter hogwash IMO.

So far, this has raised the best part of £45 million (globally) for the ALS campaign - it doesn't matter what craze accompanies it or the method of raising awareness IMO, this has been a great thing

It was started by a campaign in the US in honour of Pete Frates and has been a superb motion in aid of a horrendous disease.
    Have to agree, there will be directors or other charities sitting round a board room table trying to think up a viral craze of their own.

There are 45 million reasons why this one has been a huge success.

What a miserable get

There are 2 charities taking part, the ALS in USA and over here it's the McMillan Cancer Trust, I'm doing mine in a few minutes, £3 for cancer and a giggle at the same time.

Quote Originally Posted by SMAXXA View Post
    What a miserable get

So sorry to offend your sensibilities.

OK then, I give in, it's all for charidee and they're all wonderful people. It's not just a stupid craze that'll die out soon enough when the celebrities get bored of it and move on to the next one. Oh no, they're all in this for life and have genuinely given more than five minutes thought to the actual sufferers.

Also, the profile of the charity has been raised so much that everybody will dedicate their lives to finding a cure and a Nirvana moment will be reached by all on a plane of charitable giving.

Is that better?

OK then, I give in, it's all for charidee and they're all wonderful people. It's not just a stupid craze that'll die out soon enough when the celebrities get bored of it and move on to the next one. Oh no, they're all in this for life and have genuinely given more than five minutes thought to the actual sufferers.

Also, the profile of the charity has been raised so much that everybody will dedicate their lives to finding a cure and a Nirvana moment will be reached by all on a plane of charitable giving.

Is that better?

It's already dropped from a tenner to £3 and how did the Macmillan folk manage to get involved?

Quote Originally Posted by cam75 View Post
    Get RP to do it!!!
    Pour endless amounts of buckets of water over him until the **** drowns

Now THAT I would be willing to get behind and donate

Is that better?

Do you not think your cynicism is making you look just a wee bit silly here?

It might well be a 'stupid craze' and it might well die out soon but anything that's raised millions of pounds for an oft-overlooked disease can only be a good thing, surely?

The craze started relative to a number of athletes who knew Pete Frates around the Boston area - he was a highly promising young baseball starlet who was diagnosed at the age of 27 and Bostonian athletes all did it in his honour and to raise funds for the charity that his organisation backed. If it takes getting superstar athletes and Hollywood stars getting involved to fully spread awareness amongst a wider global audience, so what?

Yes, some people will do it for personal reasons (i.e., maybe someone else they've known who suffered from cancer/MND) and some will do it to simply be involved in the craze but again, who cares? I'm willing to wager that these people/celebrities involved in this 'craze' do more for a large number of charities/good causes than those lambasting them for jumping on a bandwagon.

Edit: http://time.com/3159673/als-ice-buck...nge-donations/

They've raised almost as much in the past couple of months as they did in the entirety of last year!
    Last edited by Sylar; 23-08-2014 at 11:11 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Sylar View Post
    Do you not think your cynicism is making you look just a wee bit silly here?

It might well be a 'stupid craze' and it might well die out soon but anything that's raised millions of pounds for an oft-overlooked disease can only be a good thing, surely?

The craze started relative to a number of athletes who knew Pete Frates around the Boston area - he was a highly promising young baseball starlet who was diagnosed at the age of 27 and Bostonian athletes all did it in his honour and to raise funds for the charity that his organisation backed. If it takes getting superstar athletes and Hollywood stars getting involved to fully spread awareness amongst a wider global audience, so what?

Yes, some people will do it for personal reasons (i.e., maybe someone else they've known who suffered from cancer/MND) and some will do it to simply be involved in the craze but again, who cares? I'm willing to wager that these people/celebrities involved in this 'craze' do more for a large number of charities/good causes than those lambasting them for jumping on a bandwagon.

Edit: http://time.com/3159673/als-ice-buck...nge-donations/

They've raised almost as much in the past couple of months as they did in the entirety of last year!
    I don't think his cynicism is making him look silly. I don't think he's against charitable organisations either. This mornings papers have headlines like "wetter together" and "drench warfare" as our politicians "have" to get in on the act as well. If that makes me a cynic then so be it, but I understand exactly what he's saying. What was the George Michael lyric again....."and charity is a coat we wear twice a year"....

MacMillan have raised enough to employ nine new nurses just from this challenge, no outlays just incoming money. Can't be a bad thing can it?

Quote Originally Posted by HappyAsHellas View Post
    I don't think his cynicism is making him look silly. I don't think he's against charitable organisations either. This mornings papers have headlines like "wetter together" and "drench warfare" as our politicians "have" to get in on the act as well. If that makes me a cynic then so be it, but I understand exactly what he's saying. What was the George Michael lyric again....."and charity is a coat we wear twice a year"....
    I never for a second suggested he/she was.

A lot of people out there don't ordinarily get involved with charities and if something like this makes them think about donating, even if it is only twice a year, that's a positive thing IMO as it's a donation the charity in question wouldn't have otherwise received.

It doesn't matter what vehicle is used and I'm willing to bet other charitable organisations are looking at what this has done and wondering what they can do to raise awareness for their campaigns.