Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Films

Films

Just wondered what people had been too see at the flicks as of late?

I went and saw The Purge last night and thought it was very good.

Earth to Echo today and I was gutted it didn't live up to the expectation.

Transformers - good, knew what I was getting
    22 jump street - poor
    Dawn of the apes - very good

Any recommendations?

PSN ID: calhill19
    Quote Originally Posted by Gus View Post
    Just wondered what people had been too see at the flicks as of late?

I went and saw The Purge last night and thought it was very good.

Earth to Echo today and I was gutted it didn't live up to the expectation.

Transformers - good, knew what I was getting
    22 jump street - poor
    Dawn of the apes - very good

Any recommendations?

22 Jump Street was extremely good, lots of good references to movies making sequels which made it work perfectly.

Dawn of the Planet of Apes was amazing.

@hibs.net private member BroxburnHibee's Avatar

Gamertag: CoolHibeesdaft PSN ID: Hibeesdaft
    Yep I saw Planet of the apes last week - very good.

About time Andy Serskis' performances were rewarded IMO.
    Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, vodka in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming, "WOO HOO what a ride!"

Testimonial Due RoslinInstHibby's Avatar
    guardians of the galaxy is brilliant! a hell of a lot of fun!

@hibs.net private member bringbackbenny's Avatar
    BroxburnHibee, Mon 28 Jul 15:34

Yep I saw Planet of the apes last week - very good.

About time Andy Serskis' performances were rewarded IMO.
    Agree, amazingly talented.

The clip below is really funny gollum leaving a voicemail for Caesar

One show Gollum calling Ceasar by Andy Serkis

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    Off to see Guardians of the Galaxy tomorrow - not sure if I'm looking forward to it or not really - it has Nathan Fillion in it, so I'm optimistic
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

Booked tickets for The Inbetweeners 2 for Wednesday.

Loved the TV series, bit disappointed with the 1st film so not sure what to expect.

Testimonial Due RoslinInstHibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Sylar View Post
    Off to see Guardians of the Galaxy tomorrow - not sure if I'm looking forward to it or not really - it has Nathan Fillion in it, so I'm optimistic
    dont go see it if its only to see him.....you might be a tad disappointed

Loved the TV series, bit disappointed with the 1st film so not sure what to expect.
    if you've only seen the film once i'd say watch it again. I left the cinema a bit underwhelmd but realy enjoyed it on second viewing.

Went upto the pictures today and the only thing on at that time was The Nut Job. One of the worst films iv seen for a while, ended up dozing off at times

I hoping to go on Thursday - hooted at no1.

Inbetweeners 2 is absolutely top class. Constantly laughing the whole way through.

Definitely recommend Lets Be Cops. Again, couldnt stop laughing. Very good idea for a movie too and the banter between the 2 guys throughout is top class.

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Inbetweeners 2 is quality. The water slide bit had me about greeting I was laughing so much.

I actually went to the cinema to see this, which makes a change, but a perfect version is available to download on Pirate Bay.
    Last edited by easty; 29-08-2014 at 04:20 PM.

50/50. Amazing film.

Went to see lucy yesterday. It was enjoyable yet a bit mental.

They had a trailor for a film The Riot Club on before it. I'll be giving that one a big miss

Cinema marathon with the Wife today...

Guardians of the Galaxy (at last), Sin City 2 and Lucy

Guardians of the Galaxy - 6/10 - good fun but not a 'great' film. A sign, in my opinion, that Marvel are beginning to overreach.
    Sin City 2: A Dame to Kill For - 7/10 - not as good as the first, by a long-shot, but visually as stunning and well acted. Stories a bit disconnected and I was surprised when the credits started rolling.
    Lucy - 6/10 - good concept (not unique right enough) but not brilliantly executed. Don't think it could decide what it was trying to be but I though Scarlett Johansson was excellent (in so many ways )

I'll politely disagree with ad above me - I thought the trailer for The Riot Club looks very good. Also seen trailers for The Guest (which I thought looked like 'fun') and A Walk Amongst The Tombstones, which is the new (?) Liam Neeson film...I've probably seen it before right enough

PSN ID: Dave1875
    Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    Inbetweeners 2 is quality. The water slide bit had me about greeting I was laughing so much.

I actually went to the cinema to see this, which makes a change, but a perfect version is available to download on Pirate Bay.
    I watched this last night apart from a couple of scenes I thought it was pretty poor, massive fan of the series but don't think either film has been actually any good

Quote Originally Posted by Matty_Jack04 View Post
    I watched this last night apart from a couple of scenes I thought it was pretty poor, massive fan of the series but don't think either film has been actually any good
    I enjoyed the 2nd film, wasn't so keen on the 1st, but I took them as being stand alone films seperate from the tv series.

Whilst the TV series played on the naivety, ignorance, egos and social incompetence of teenage boys the films went down the American Pie style gross out humour with added bad sex jokes.

For me the TV series probably represented an exaggerated version of a lot of peoples teenage school years, the films were just films.

I hear Ricky Gervais is bringing back David Brent for a film coming next year - apart from that I can't say I'm looking forward to any new releases.

Quote Originally Posted by <3Morrissey View Post
    I hear Ricky Gervais is bringing back David Brent for a film coming next year - apart from that I can't say I'm looking forward to any new releases.
    I seen a list of sequels coming over the next couple years which i cant find now. new ghostbusters and Jurassic Park, might be absolute guff but still looking forward to them. The raid 3 was another stand out. also new james bond (thought the last one was excellent) and a finding nemo sequel

@hibs.net private member Godsahibby's Avatar
    Got a bit pissed off with the cinema of late. Nothing new or original all remakes or sequels. How many more versions of superman batman or any other comic character do we need to see. They are just getting *** lazy!!!!

I personally don't like American films that much. Some of the best films I've watched over the past few months have been directed by Shane Meadows < Dead Man's shoes, This is England, A room for Romeo Brass and Made of Stone (Stone Roses documentary). I can't decide whether to watch the second Inbetweeners film or not...

Quote Originally Posted by adhibs View Post
    I seen a list of sequels coming over the next couple years which i cant find now. new ghostbusters and Jurassic Park, might be absolute guff but still looking forward to them. The raid 3 was another stand out. also new james bond (thought the last one was excellent) and a finding nemo sequel
    I'm looking forward to the new Jurassic Park film, loved the first one when it came out.

Had there not been at least 2 sequels already?

I went to see into the Storm last night. Won't win any oscars that's for sure, it was your typical disaster movie but enjoyable. My 13 year old loved it, it's a great transition from animated Disney guff.

Had there not been at least 2 sequels already?
    Aye, they were both pretty rubbish. I'm hoping this one will buck that trend.

I didn't think they were that bad, they just weren't as good as the first. Got high hopes for this, love JP.

I thought anchorman 2 was absolutely pish. Watched it on Sky premier and turned off with 40 minutes to run.

@hibs.net private member SneakersO'Toole's Avatar
    The new Phillip Seymour Hoffman film looks immense. Its called "A Wanted Man".

Will definitely be going to see it when it comes out.

Dinnae watch American Psycho with Christian Bale -Utter garbage.