Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar

Challenge Cup first round draw - Rangers v Hibernian

When is it?

Also, inb4 "who cares?", "diddy cup" etc etc.
    Last edited by Diclonius; 02-07-2014 at 01:25 PM.

Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub 5m @lewisrmiller Hi Lewis, that's when the 14/15 season is scheduled to start with a Challenge Cup tie. The draw is on Wednesday, GGTTH, HFC

Can't wait for the diddy cup draw

Quote Originally Posted by SteveHFC View Post
    Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub 5m @lewisrmiller Hi Lewis, that's when the 14/15 season is scheduled to start with a Challenge Cup tie. The draw is on Wednesday, GGTTH, HFC

Can't wait for the diddy cup draw
    Cheers.

With that settled, who could we actually face? Am I right in thinking there's no seeding and we're drawn against teams in our "half" of Scotland, giving us a 1 in 8 chance of playing either Hearts or Rangers?

Spartans at home please.

Quote Originally Posted by Rawr.rar View Post
    Cheers.

With that settled, who could we actually face? Am I right in thinking there's no seeding and we're drawn against teams in our "half" of Scotland, giving us a 1 in 8 chance of playing either Hearts or Rangers?
    Brora away

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    Hearts please.
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Forfeit. Pish cup.

Quote Originally Posted by .Sean. View Post
    Hearts please.
    Can see why but I think with the squad the way it is, a part time lower league side would be ideal.

Quote Originally Posted by Rawr.rar View Post
    Cheers.

The first two rounds are regionalised, split between north and east and also south and west.

That means we can't face Sevco until at least the quarter finals but we could play Hearts in the first round.

There's no seeding involved.

Our potential opponents depend on how they split up the teams.

Would like someone like Forfar or Arbroath etc so that it will be a decent run out but nothing too difficult

The Rangers may be able to put in an effort to win this due to their big squad, for us it's an unwelcome distraction.

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by silverhibee View Post

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    Forfeit. Pish cup.
    Agreed. Do we have to take part in this obscenity?

@hibs.net private member LaMotta's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Dashing Bob S View Post
    Agreed. Do we have to take part in this obscenity?
    Im not quite sure what would be worse. Winning it or not winning it?

Remember seeing a post on Facebook around the time Rangers lost the final to Raith Rovers along the lines of "the only thing more humiliating than being in the Challenge Cup is not winning the Challenge Cup."

Fairly apt.

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    Forfeit. Pish cup.
    Correct. It's shameful and embarrassing that we're going to be competing in this pish. Would rather we didn't enter all all.

Hope we go and win it.

Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    Hope we go and win it.
    This. A trophy is a trophy.

Obviously I'd rather not be in it but we are and winning any trophy that Hearts and Rangers are also competing for is fine by me.

I was going to give it a miss, I've changed my mind and I'm going to go to the games.

The draw for the challenge cup shows how far we have fallen. Utterly embarrassing, the reality of last season is now becoming this seasons nightmare.

Due to the timing, the first round will be useful as a practice match.

After that, we should just play the under 20s.

Hertz, buns and us are all in the same boat,we may not like it but thats how it is, semi finals could be all three of us if we dont meet earlier plus one other, looks like a couple of guid games in there. I reckon Hibs in the final against either buns or hertz would be a pretty guid day oot??

Quote Originally Posted by keekaboo View Post
    Due to the timing, the first round will be useful as a practice match.

After that, we should just play the under 20s.
    No, no we shouldn't... I think some people need a reality check.. We are now a division 1 side, which means were not 'too good' for the challenge cup! It's a trophy and I fully expect us to go all out to try and win it! Confidence will be massive this year and the more wins we rack up the better! If that means winning the challenge cup then absolutely brilliant!

If Hibs don't intend winning the thing, I assume any home games in that competition will be free entry?

WIN IT.

@hibs.net private member Leith Green's Avatar
    Have to be honest here, no interest whatsoever in this thing, complete embarrasment that we need to play in it, will not attend any of those matches regardless off how well we do in it

Guarantee that no one will be saying they "don't care" if we go out the cup to anyone who isn't Rangers - especially if we lose a derby. You can guarantee Hearts will be up for it and there will be no excuses not to win given by either our club or the members of this board.

We should aim to win every competition we enter and every competitive game we play, no matter what its stature is. Losers mentality will continue to prevail if we don't.

I remember reading that Brian Clough regarded some small, regional trophy (I forget which) as the most important cup he ever won at Nottingham Forest, because it instilled a winning mentality in the team and drove them on to bigger and better things. I'm genuinely excited at the prospect of playing in the Challenge Cup in the hope that it will do the same.

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibbysam View Post
    No, no we shouldn't... I think some people need a reality check.. We are now a division 1 side, which means were not 'too good' for the challenge cup! It's a trophy and I fully expect us to go all out to try and win it! Confidence will be massive this year and the more wins we rack up the better! If that means winning the challenge cup then absolutely brilliant!
    This. We should just look at it as another on the list of things we need to win.

(In order)

The Championship (or failing that)
    The Playoff
    Scottish Cup
    League Cup
    Challenge Cup

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Victor Park View Post
    Im not quite sure what would be worse. Winning it or not winning it?

Getting knocked out in the 1st round would be pretty bad.

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    I would go for it.

If we were to beat Hearts in the semi and the Cream Buns in the final the gate money would be no different from that of the League Cup or Scottish Cup.

We can't afford not to try and win it.