McFadden released by Motherwell

Just as it says on the tin, still a good player IMO, would be a terrific signing if we could snap him up. http://www.scotsman.com/sport/footba...club-1-3415690

Can see why they got rid tbf

Injured alot, high wage and only scored 5

Would take him if he got his fitness up and was reasonably cheap, I can see us spending a lot on players this summer if we stay up so it's so important were smart with who we spend our budget on, no room for players that might play half the season

Terry likes him. Can see him ending up here tbh.

When fully fit he's still a very good player.

Him and TB go back so who knows?

Bring him in Leanne

Not for me !!

to old simples

I think NcFadden still has a lot to offer but he was just never suitable for a Stuart McCall Motherwell team in my opinion, McCall has been very successful at 'Well but its also pretty basic, quick wingers on their natural sides and direct football to a big strapping striker (Higdon & Sutton) with a wee nippy nuisance (Ojamma & Arnier) buzzing around him.

McFadden needs to play either as the main striker which I always felt was his best position or just off the main striker, at Motherwell he's been used on the left far to much and it nulified what he brought to the team BUT to be fair to McCall, he stuck to the ethos of whats best for the team, not the individual. Sign of a good boss

Definitely on a pay as you play deal

Quote Originally Posted by happiehibbie View Post
    Not for me !!

to old simples
    Nonsense he's 31, still plenty to offer if he can stay fit!

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Slenj.=] View Post
    Terry likes him. Can see him ending up here tbh.
    So do the Hibs fans or some anyway, standing ovation from them.

Quote Originally Posted by silverhibee View Post
    So do the Hibs fans or some anyway, standing ovation from them.
    Aye , how dare football fans give credit where it's due to a decent fitba player. Weaklings, Viva Hate.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/foo...-Football.html

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/3201723.stm

http://www.express.co.uk/sport/footb...-Terry-Butcher

Butcher obviously has a lot of admiration for McFadden and if we manage to stay up then maybe Leanne Dempster could also have a massive part in possibly bringing him as she was the one who took him into Motherwell

Past his best, at his peak he was a cracking player and able to score a barrel load of goals in this league, but still would be an alright signing IMO.

I go to watch Scotland and McFadden has been my favourite player of the past 20 years.

I reckon he's exactly what we're looking for - always capable of that bit of magic that can unlock a defence, either for himself or to create for someone else. He is versatile too and could fill several positions if required to.

My brother was playing with him at a golf day a few weeks ago and he had a lot to say about the professionalism of Scottish players and talked a lot about the difference in attitudes between young players up here and down South. I reckon he'd be a cracking role model and figure of inspiration for the youth that we must have at the core of our team and squad going forward.

A big YES for me.

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    Aye , how dare football fans give credit where it's due to a decent fitba player. Weaklings, Viva Hate.
    Still puzzled about that night, he was okay but nothing special that night, the noise for Boyd last week was deafening.

Soft touches.

Malpas won't stand for any of that nonsense.

@hibs.net private member 500miles's Avatar
    Skill, imagination and a goal threat.

Hibs need that. McFadden would be a good signing if we could get 30 games a season out of him.

More chance of signing his brother Brian.

@hibs.net private member GordonHFC's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by 500miles View Post
    Skill, imagination and a goal threat.Hibs need that. McFadden would be a good signing if we could get 30 games a season out of him.
    Jeez. Now you're going back a bit.

Gamertag: Myjo5984 Wii Code: 3916 0145 9394 9493
    I would take him at Easter road, great player for cummins to learn from

As Daniel Bryan would say, yes yes yes. Cracking player. God forbid Hibs bring in a player who can get the fans out there seats.

Will always be remembered for scoring that goal against France. The one that resulted in the single best bit of commentary I've ever heard.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=aNh8-VQcbIY

Quote Originally Posted by McKenzie View Post
    As Daniel Bryan would say, yes yes yes. Cracking player. God forbid Hibs bring in a player who can get the fans out there seats.
    McFadden and Miller upfront next season

Doesn't have much pace ... so would need some pace around him ...... with his skill and eye for goal he would be ideal in the proverbial hole.

We have no pace in the team and to create 'the hole' you need two strikers putting pressure on the defence .... not likely if this season is any guide.

He also seems a bit injury prone these days. Still worth a punt though .... quality player.

Done deal too the famous, same with Boyd and Goodwillie.

Quote Originally Posted by Pray4Marc View Post

What about Billy McKay and Stevie May?

@hibs.net private member hibees 7062's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by SteveHFC View Post
    McFadden and Miller upfront next season

Quote Originally Posted by Nutmegged View Post
    I think NcFadden still has a lot to offer but he was just never suitable for a Stuart McCall Motherwell team in my opinion, McCall has been very successful at 'Well but its also pretty basic, quick wingers on their natural sides and direct football to a big strapping striker (Higdon & Sutton) with a wee nippy nuisance (Ojamma & Arnier) buzzing around him.

McFadden needs to play either as the main striker which I always felt was his best position or just off the main striker, at Motherwell he's been used on the left far to much and it nulified what he brought to the team BUT to be fair to McCall, he stuck to the ethos of whats best for the team, not the individual. Sign of a good boss
    Yes, agree with all of that. McFadden didn't really fit into the style of play that McCall seems to want. I'm not sure if he'd be a good signing or not TBH, he's older now, quite injury prone too. Some would argue he could still do job for us, probably quite justifiably, but from a personal point of view we would probably have been better going for him when he came back to Scotland a couple of seasons ago. He was a very good player at one time, no doubt, I just feel it would be a bit of a gamble, not sure if Hibs can really afford to take that gamble, but that's just my opinion.

Quote Originally Posted by silverhibee View Post
    Still puzzled about that night, he was okay but nothing special that night, the noise for Boyd last week was deafening.

Soft touches.

Malpas won't stand for any of that nonsense.
    It was the 3 - 3 saturday afternoon game this season, and he was easily the best player on the park

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Nutmegged View Post

Big man/wee man ...... Alan Gordon/Jimmy O'R ...... Toshack/Keegan ...... et al. A combination made in heaven. Simples.
    Let's ha'e nae mair o' this 'one up' cr@p.