The team that beat Killie 3-0 at Christmas...

Williams

Forster
    Nelson
    Hanlon
    McGivern

Cairney
    Robertson
    Craig
    Stevenson

Collins
    Cummings

The only one who we'd say isn't playing is Hanlon. There's question marks over a few (Cairney for example) but the spine of the team is there.

Nae excuses. They've done it once, they can do it again.

I'd be showing them a video of that game this week saying you've done it before so go do it again

Killie were on a good run then and we were worthy winners that day, lets hope history repeats itself.

@hibs.net private member Mr White's Avatar
    They'd just won 4 nil at tynecastle. They've just lost 5 nil there. It's a strange wee league.

Should Stanton really be dropped?

Quote Originally Posted by HibsNutter View Post
    Definitely. Since paul hanlon has recovered from injury way quicker than expected he's going to play his favoured role in holding midfield.

First Team Breakthrough Postman's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HibsNutter View Post
    What has he actually done recently to not be dropped? Definitely has potential but also not delivering right now

Quote Originally Posted by Postman View Post
    What has he actually done recently to not be dropped? Definitely has potential but also not delivering right now
    Last edited by Mr White; 08-05-2014 at 12:45 PM.

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    Scored the equaliser against partick.. Stanton has been one of our better players every week since he came in to the team.

@hibs.net private member Gettin' Auld's Avatar
    Scored against Partick? At least that laddie gives 100% every game and it looks like he actually cares.

Quote Originally Posted by Gettin' Auld View Post
    Scored against Partick? At least that laddie gives 100% every game and it looks like he actually cares.
    He does, but I don't think anyone is immune from the drop. He has been caught in possession badly a couple of times too that could have led to goals.

It might be an idea to drop him down to the bench and play the same team we played against Killie at ER.

I can see the reasoning in both starting him or having him on the bench 2bh

I think there is too much expectation on him right now and its too much for him at this stage of his career. He has been a major part of a team that is on the worst run I can remember yet its unthinkable that he doesn't get selected?

Don't worry, Hibs got this.

I beat Killie 4-1 in Football Manager last night. I emailed Butcher my 4-4-2 formation and secret tactics, I expect similar results.

I think there is too much expectation on him right now and its too much for him at this stage of his career. He has been a major part of a team that is on the worst run I can remember yet its unthinkable that he doesn't get selected?
    If you're using that as a criteria, you wouldn't have many players left to choose from as that applies to the majority of the team....

Quote Originally Posted by Gettin' Auld View Post
    If you're using that as a criteria, you wouldn't have many players left to choose from as that applies to the majority of the team....
    There are not 11 players at the club right now who are worthy of a place unfortunately and I do rate Stanton. Just feel that the current expectation of him whilst so young is doing him no good. Guys like him and Harris are simply not delivering and for me i'd go with older heads for this game, if available.

I mostly agree with you and i'd like us to select a team of experienced fighters, but we seem to be lacking in that department and needs must at the moment. I wouldn't select Harris, but i'd keep Stanton in the team.

Anyway, so long as we win on saturday that's all that matters.

@hibs.net private member Juice-Terry's Avatar
    Stanton was terrible at Dingwall. Just saying likesay.

Quote Originally Posted by dmc1875 View Post
    He does, but I don't think anyone is immune from the drop. He has been caught in possession badly a couple of times too that could have led to goals.

It might be an idea to drop him down to the bench and play the same team we played against Killie at ER.

I can see the reasoning in both starting him or having him on the bench 2bh
    Crazy.

Quote Originally Posted by Fraz1875 View Post
    Crazy.
    What exactly is crazy about suggesting starting the same team that did so well against Killie before?

All I said is I can see reasoning for both sides.

He's one of the last players we should be dropping. Sam is one of the first names on the team sheet for me. Been one of the main positives to come out of a horrific season.

He scored against Partick and we would probably be on a slightly worse state without his few goals. He always gives 110% and is Hibs through and through.
    Last edited by BOB MARLEYS DUG; 08-05-2014 at 01:46 PM.

Madness. However, you are entitled to your wrong opinion.

Get Stanton playing wide. I've been saying it for weeks! The last time we scored decent goals sammy delivered the ball from wide areas. (Haynes killie header, watmore against Partick) it also will take some of the pressure off him to produce and let him play higher up the park.

Robertson and Craig in the middle with Cairney on the right.

Quote Originally Posted by dmc1875 View Post
    What exactly is crazy about suggesting starting the same team that did so well against Killie before?

All I said is I can see reasoning for both sides.
    It's not as simple as that though is it. The situation is entirely different. These same players are not performing.

I don't think dropping our best performer over the last however many months in a relegation play-off decider is very smart. He is one of the few that can create and is prepared to take a shot on. To not see his name in the starting 11 on Saturday would be ludicrous, imo.

First Team Breakthrough Mathias Jack's Avatar

Gamertag: GazA1875

The team that beat Killie 3-0 at Christmas...

For the record, we're Killie's bogey team. In the last 10 games...won 6, drawn 3, lost 1

Gives me some kind of hope...

I see what people are saying with Stanton in that his form has dipped. But he's still the only one that looks like doing something.

Id have him beside Robertson. Stevenson LM and Watmore/Cairney RM. With Cummings and Handling up top. But this time play the ball into their ******g feet.

Quote Originally Posted by Bronson View Post
    Madness. However, you are entitled to your wrong opinion.
    You're right, its madness to think about resting one of the key creators in such a free scoring side...

Quote Originally Posted by Mathias Jack View Post
    For the record, we're Killie's bogey team. In the last 10 games...won 6, drawn 3, lost 1

Gives me some kind of hope...

True. Don't think we have lost to them in our last 5-6 games. That does give me a wee bit of hope.

You're right, its madness to think about resting one of the key creators in such a free scoring side...
    I can only imagine you haven't been to many games in a while, the boy's been the only good thing to happen this season and is probably one of our main goal threats since our strikers canny hit a barn door.

Stanton is undoubtedly a talented player, however...he was honking against PT [goal apart] he didn't contribute much. Followed up wit a poor display v RC

I thought Stanton was okay against RC.

Stevenson was the best player (IMO) against RC and was brilliant in the Christmas Killie game. He's a must pick!