Thread: Stuart Lovell

PSN ID: torto7062

Stuart Lovell

Had a nice wee chat with him today while watching the Liverpool game.
    Total Gent and spoke fondly of his time at Hibs...
    He had a bit if an insight about the going's on's at E.R.

And that insight was?

Quote Originally Posted by Torto7062 View Post
    Spill them then

Did you ask him to tell TB what is going on?

Quote Originally Posted by SmashinGlass View Post
    And that insight was?
    To be serialised in the Daily Sevco ;)
    "We know the people who have invested so far are simple fans." Vladimir Romanov - Scotsman 10th December 2012
    "Romanov was like a breath of fresh air - laced with cyanide." Me.

K.T is a very unhappy player....
    Petries transfer dealings....
    or lack of, just when the boat
    needed to be pushed out a
    wee bit more...darren barr
    wanted to sign for Us on less
    Money but Tasche didn't agree
    to wage demands so he signed for
    THEM
    He

K.T is a very unhappy player....
    Petries transfer dealings....
    or lack of, just when the boat
    needed to be pushed out a
    wee bit more...darren barr
    THEM
    He
    Good call by RP then as Barr is useless.

There are few ex-pro's now pundits alluding to things being wrong at ER, not too sure they are any more informed than guys on this board with ties to the club.

Did Jimmy Calderwood not talk about there being problems at ER, while sharing a studio with John Collins, and said something along the lines of that those in the game knew what was going on but he understood that John couldn't say, or something like that. Then talked vaguely about problems from above.

Then applied for the job.............................twice!

Quote Originally Posted by Coco Bryce View Post
    Yes but we signed Michael Hart instead...

@hibs.net private member hibees 7062's Avatar

Why was it his call? I thought the manager decided who is signed and how the money is spent within the budget and apparently with nae wage cap either. Isn't that what we're telt?

Whether the player subsequently turns out good or bad is neither here nor there, that would be the manager's fault.

Was Barr over and above the budget? If he wisnae why was it Petrie's call tae make if things are done how we are telt they are?
    Last edited by Saorsa; 13-04-2014 at 10:34 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by SloopJB View Post
    Is it the same for a manager? Whether he subsequently turns out to be good or bad is neither here nor there?
    No because that decision is made by the person who is supposed tae make it, i.e. Petrie, if that turns out wrong it's his fault.

Petrie appoints the manager, if the manager is crap that is Petrie's fault, he appointed him.

If the manager signs a player/s that he wants and they are crap that is the manager's fault, he signed them.

If the manager cannae get the players he wants within the budget because of interference from above and ends up with rubbish he disnae want then that is the fault of the person interfering, no the manager.

If the manager keeps ending up with 4th, 5th and 6th choice players or whatever is left at the end of the transfer windae instead of the ones he wants, he can hardly be blamed for that.
    Last edited by Saorsa; 13-04-2014 at 10:52 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by SloopJB View Post
    That all makes sense but do we know there is interference from above?
    Do all these stories just come from naewhere, are they just made up by ex-players/managers with an axe tae grind. Nae smoke without fire IMO but I suppose that depends on who or what you want tae believe. A bit odd that Hibs seem tae end up doing the same thing (and failing) every season when all the other variables have changed bar one. Signings mostly of leftovers at the end of the windae, hard tae believe that's the strategy of any, never mind every manager that's been here recently, no wanting their players signed up and in for a good pre-season. Everything bar one has changed and yet nothing has changed, that's why I'm looking at the one that hasnae.
    Last edited by Saorsa; 13-04-2014 at 11:42 PM.

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    Yeah, that one never came back to haunt us did it..

Quote Originally Posted by Rawr.rar View Post
    Yeah, that one never came back to haunt us did it..
    In what way did it?

Quote Originally Posted by peter douglas View Post
    In what way did it?
    1st goal in that cup final

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    Quote Originally Posted by Desperate Dan View Post
    Do all these stories just come from naewhere, are they just made up by ex-players/managers with an axe tae grind. Nae smoke without fire IMO but I suppose that depends on who or what you want tae believe. A bit odd that Hibs seem tae end up doing the same thing (and failing) every season when all the other variables have changed bar one. Signings mostly of leftovers at the end of the windae, hard tae believe that's the strategy of any never mind every manager that's been here recently, no wanting their players signed up and in for a good pre-season. Everything bar one has changed and yet nothing has changed, that's why I'm looking at the one that hasnae.

Seems entirely logical to me, Dan.

Know Archie well. Hope he didn't bring out his guitar as he loves a solo!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Half Pint View Post
    1st goal in that cup final
    If he wasn't there then I'm sure the guy playing in his position would have scored instead such was our crap start.

Who cares about the Thomson/ 10v12/ financial cheating/ tainted final anyway?

Do all these stories just come from naewhere, are they just made up by ex-players/managers with an axe tae grind. Nae smoke without fire IMO but I suppose that depends on who or what you want tae believe. A bit odd that Hibs seem tae end up doing the same thing (and failing) every season when all the other variables have changed bar one. Signings mostly of leftovers at the end of the windae, hard tae believe that's the strategy of any, never mind every manager that's been here recently, no wanting their players signed up and in for a good pre-season. Everything bar one has changed and yet nothing has changed, that's why I'm looking at the one that hasnae.
    We're notorious for end-of-window signings and you'd have to blame Rod for that as this trait has, more or less, continued under different managers. There's a reason for these players still being available at a late date - they're (usually) gash!

darren barr
    THEM

He
    Not exactly what I've been told. I'm lead to believe that the Club thought they had an agreement with Barr's people. Once they had the offer they trotted across the city and got double the money from THEM. This is how Vlad operated by continually paying players more than they were worth. We're not talking a couple of hundred quid on a basic wage here. Hearts gave him several thousand more per week, as they were doing with all their players. They even had Big Zal on English Premiership wages, then there was Kingston, and that Belgium guy they paid £750k for who played a couple of games and was never heard of again. The outcome was eventual Administration and potential Liquidation.

Quote Originally Posted by 0762 View Post
    Not exactly what I've been told. I'm lead to believe that the Club thought they had an agreement with Barr's people. Once they had the offer they trotted across the city and got double the money from THEM. This is how Vlad operated by continually paying players more than they were worth. We're not talking a couple of hundred quid on a basic wage here. Hearts gave him several thousand more per week, as they were doing with all their players. They even had Big Zal on English Premiership wages, then there was Kingston, and that Belgium guy they paid £750k for who played a couple of games and was never heard of again. The outcome was eventual Administration and potential Liquidation.
    Barr was wanting 1800 pw
    Hearts offered 2500pw
    Barrs agent told Yogi that
    2000pw would be enough and
    Barr would be a Hibby.
    Petrie offered 1200pw......

Also Burnley had Fletcher signed
    and Petrie never told Yogi for a
    week......

Barr was wanting 1800 pw
    Hearts offered 2500pw
    Barr would be a Hibby.

week......
    In a week Yogi could have read a newspaper and asked Petrie, sounds like pish to me

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Barr was wanting 1800 pw
    Hearts offered 2500pw
    Barr would be a Hibby.

week......
    If Yogi confirms that then I'll believe it, not going to take Stuart Lovells word for it though. He wasn't there was he?

The Fletcher thing must be nonsense. We all knew he was going.

Barr was wanting 1800 pw
    Hearts offered 2500pw
    Barr would be a Hibby.

week......
    Lovell told you this as well? At what point did Petrie offer £1200. If it was an opening gambit it has no relevance to the higher figures you quote. Offering that after Hearts had offered £2500 would be a waste of time so it's difficult to believe that happened.

Barr was wanting 1800 pw
    Hearts offered 2500pw
    Barr would be a Hibby.

week......

Not true.

Barr was wanting 1800 pw
    Hearts offered 2500pw
    Barr would be a Hibby.

week..

I have heard Pat Stanton has left the club and joined Celtic, but until its on the official website i'm not going to believe it.

No because that decision is made by the person who is supposed tae make it, i.e. Petrie, if that turns out wrong it's his fault.

Petrie appoints the manager, if the manager is crap that is Petrie's fault, he appointed him.

If the manager signs a player/s that he wants and they are crap that is the manager's fault, he signed them.

If the manager cannae get the players he wants within the budget because of interference from above and ends up with rubbish he disnae want then that is the fault of the person interfering, no the manager.

If the manager keeps ending up with 4th, 5th and 6th choice players or whatever is left at the end of the transfer windae instead of the ones he wants, he can hardly be blamed for that.
    Ach, I just blame RP for everything

Why was it his call? I thought the manager decided who is signed and how the money is spent within the budget and apparently with nae wage cap either. Isn't that what we're telt?

Whether the player subsequently turns out good or bad is neither here nor there, that would be the manager's fault.

Was Barr over and above the budget? If he wisnae why was it Petrie's call tae make if things are done how we are telt they are?
    It's one of those politician answers that Rodders likes to use at AGMs/Q&As etc to get out of a question without answering it. Technically, there isn't a formal wage cap. Given that Rodders negotiates all the contracts though, there doesn't have to be.

I know this 'the manager has a budget and the freedom to use it' line is used as a defence of Rodders' management of the club but it's 100% horse****.

Quote Originally Posted by Deansy View Post
    We're notorious for end-of-window signings and you'd have to blame Rod for that as this trait has, more or less, continued under different managers. There's a reason for these players still being available at a late date - they're (usually) gash!
    Exactly and as I said that disnae seem tae me tae be a strategy any manager (even crap ones), never mind all would use. That tae me is the strategy of someone who wants tae pick up as many players as possible on the cheap whether they're the ones the manager wants or not. The managers have changed, that has hasnae, and we keep ending up in the same place, I wonder why, well actually I dinnae.

Quote Originally Posted by Beefster View Post
    It's one of those politician answers that Rodders likes to use at AGMs/Q&As etc to get out of a question without answering it. Technically, there isn't a formal wage cap. Given that Rodders negotiates all the contracts though, there doesn't have to be.

I know this 'the manager has a budget and the freedom to use it' line is used as a defence of Rodders' management of the club but it's 100% horse****.
    Nae doubting that IMO.

Ach, I just blame RP for everything
    As far as I'm concerned he is responsible, firstly by appointing poor managers, then because we end up having tae buy the poorest players at the end of the transfer windae.
    Last edited by Saorsa; 14-04-2014 at 08:45 AM.