Sunday 31st December 1972

What were you doing?

I honestly cant remember.

Probably had a wee sleep then up to the Tron with a few mates before scouring Leith for random parties.

One things for sure. I woke up somewhere, checked I had my match ticket and headed off to The Saville Dome, as it was known then :giggle:

At 3 pm the crowd ******g roared and the next 90 minutes of football was the stuff of song and legend.

Jimmy O’Rourke thought he was set
    When he put the ball in the jam tarts net
    Bye Bye jam tarts

Alan Gordon running through
    Cooly stroked in number two
    Bye Bye jam tarts

Bobby Seith thought that he was only dreaming
    When Arthur Duncan hammered number three in

The Hibees choir sang for more
    Alex Cropley made it four
    Bye Bye jam tarts

Hearts defenders on the skive
    Arthur Duncan made it five
    Bye Bye jam tarts

Paddy Stanton showed his tricks
    As Jimmy O’Rourke scored number 6
    Bye Bye jam tarts

Eddie Turnbull thought he was up in heaven
    When Alan Gordon knocked in number seven

The Hibees fans wanted eight
    But the jam tarts finally shut the gate
    jam tarts bye bye

@hibs.net private member BroxburnHibee's Avatar

Gamertag: CoolHibeesdaft PSN ID: Hibeesdaft
    I was in am bed probably - 4 years old
    Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, vodka in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming, "WOO HOO what a ride!"

Probably bumped of to bed,i was seven !!!!

Was having a discussion with god, desperately trying to convince him to allow Hibs to give Hearts a massive pumping the next day.

I was nearly 2. So no memories for me but my Dad and uncle who were both at game have relived the game in many occasions, usually after a few drinks or 10.

Quote Originally Posted by Jack View Post
    What were you doing?

Probably had a wee sleep then up to the Tron with a few mates before scouring Leith for random parties.

One things for sure. I woke up somewhere, checked I had my match ticket and headed off to The Saville Dome, as it was known then :giggle:

At 3 pm the crowd ******g roared and the next 90 minutes of football was the stuff of song and legend.

Bye Bye jam tarts

jam tarts bye bye
    Happy days Jack, happy days
    This is how it feels

@hibs.net private member eastterrace's Avatar
    went to my bed about 8 in the morning woke up at 11 am and had massive hangover so wasnt going to go to game but my mates talked me into it and as they say the rest is history.

What were you doing?

Bye Bye jam tarts

jam tarts bye bye
    Great stuff !

It was my 1st birthday

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    At ma Aunties, watching all the adults getting pished, desperately waiting for the big day

3pts away from home - i'm a happy glory hunter. jonty's Avatar

Gamertag: jonty Wii Code: 7580 5998 4272 1376
    I was -10 months. Or maybe I was 4 weeks late.

I lay claim to being a 0-7 child.

Quote Originally Posted by Desperate Dan View Post
    It was my 1st birthday
    You wernae that young surely?? ;-)

41 years to the day, 12000 kilometres away, I am wearing my 7-0 t shirt, in the hope that when doing my garden a Yam will drive by.

Quote Originally Posted by Aldo View Post
    You wernae that young surely?? ;-)

I was 10... wiz up drinkin' wi ma da.......

PSN ID: torto7062
    I was just a seed in my pappa's bollocks
    But i know he was gassed before during and
    After

Fathers a Jambo ( he's not mine mother was on the game when I was conceived, rather be a wino's offspring than a jambo's).
    He was at the game, only thing he has ever mentioned was him and a HIBS mate had a bet on for a nip per goal. Said Hibs b@@@@@d emptied me bottle. Lol. Oh and to answer the question I was 4 and father said even then he wasn't interested I'n taking me to the football as all I mentioned was HIBS. Thank goodness he never took me to see that shower I could / would have ended up emotionally and mentally scared. GGTTH

Big house party that went on all night. As a 12 year old I skimmed the odd drink, ate all the rubbish that was available,hibs house and lots of good drunken singing. remember getting dropped off next day outside my uncles at dalry. with some mates, some of whom were hearts fans of that era from my estate. Coming back was Euphoric. Really do remember all of the game but even now I don't remember the journey back. I just know I walked with a group of Hibbies to Regent Road and then got picked up.

Quote Originally Posted by Forza Fred View Post
    41 years to the day, 12000 kilometres away, I am wearing my 7-0 t shirt, in the hope that when doing my garden a Yam will drive by.
    Saw Gary's pic of you

What were you doing?

Bye Bye jam tarts

jam tarts bye bye
    Was 15 at the time and travelled through on train from fife Remember the above song used to love singing it .Remember going back to Edinburgh and waiting outside the North British hotel for the players to appear on the balcony .one of the best days of my life .Thought that was how it would always be .Always nice to reminisce at this time of year especially before a Derby Remember we used to take over 17 000 fans to Tynecastle and you were packed in like sardines and swaying with the crowd You could get crushed trying to track those lovely toilet facilities

Quote Originally Posted by Ronniekirk View Post
    Was 15 at the time and travelled through on train from fife Remember the above song used to love singing it .Remember going back to Edinburgh and waiting outside the North British hotel for the players to appear on the balcony .one of the best days of my life .Thought that was how it would always be .Always nice to reminisce at this time of year especially before a Derby Remember we used to take over 17 000 fans to Tynecastle and you were packed in like sardines and swaying with the crowd You could get crushed trying to track those lovely toilet facilities
    Happy days, and if anyone is feeling particularly nostalgic you can go down to tiny and still see the exact same toilets today - hopefully they will keep them in the same state when its a museum.

Gamertag: TheBull1875
    Was in a nightclub in Avonmouth. The local female nightfighters were going to march on the ship and demand to know from the skipper why he would not let a young Scots lad pay off and go home for Hogmanay. I pointed out it was a wee bit too late. :-)

@hibs.net private member ...WentToMowAnSPL's Avatar

Gamertag: satvis1
    I was 1 year old... Can't remember must have had a good night '
    "At the end of the day, we all aspire to bigger things in our lives but one thing I can truly say from my heart is if I never kick a ball for one of these bigger clubs I would be delighted to stay with Hibs for the rest of my career. That's how highly I regard this club." Ivan Sproule

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    I can't remember but the events of the following day are etched in my memory forever.

@hibs.net private member HiBremian's Avatar
    A few bevvies into the evening

Off to the Tron

Cannae remember the rest o' the night

Off to the asbestos factory with a wee bottle of malt in the pocket - after a few 0-0s, the mates insisted on a dram for each goal.

Cannae remember the rest o' the night

@hibs.net private member whiskyhibby's Avatar
    What were you doing?

Bye Bye jam tarts

jam tarts bye bye
    Great stuff, brings back some memories, one being that I was in my bed as a 7 year old in the huff as my dad wouldn't take me with him the next day to Tynie, even more pissed off when he came back late the next night after a few bevvies and told me the score :-))

What were you doing?

Bye Bye jam tarts

jam tarts bye bye
    match ticket 1973 ? Don't think so Jack.

Quote Originally Posted by AK86 View Post
    I'm fairly certain, I'm not going to fall out with anyone over it. There were quite a few ticketed matches around that time.
    Space to let

@hibs.net private member CyberSauzee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by AK86 View Post
    For the stand?

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CyberSauzee View Post
    For the stand?
    The stand that day was indeed all ticket. Rest of the ground was pay at the gate.