Thread: TB's take on it

TB's take on it

From the BBC

I've a feeling folk might concentrate on the 'fear' aspect but for me the most important point he makes is ...... "You can't repair what's been going on for quite some time here in four or five games. If I did that, it would be miraculous.
    This is how it feels

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    I think he's just talking about confidence.

Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    Good chance aye
    This is how it feels

@hibs.net private member Alfred E Newman's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    I'm not so sure. Sitting up in the stand today would enable him to see our problems in all their glory.
    Chronic lack of real pace throughout the team and inability to cross the ball with any accuracy are only two.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by malcolm-bogie View Post
    I'm not so sure. Sitting up in the stand today would enable him to see our problems in all their glory.
    Chronic lack of real pace throughout the team and inability to cross the ball with any accuracy are only two.
    Very true.

I said that very thing to my mate during the game. We lack pace and, as a result struggle to attack quickly. It was clear that our crosses weren't very good today and I'd like to see us trying to hit the bye line, but with no pace, that's not going to happen. We badly need Harris back, as well as one or two additions in January. Butcher will know what is needed by now I feel.

I think to some extent Terry is having some of the same issues Pat had....players who look great in training and somehow fail to bring that on match day (particularly at ER) Confidence or what ever it is.

Think about this - Our midfield was the poorest area of team today (Defence & Forwards OK) and yet OTJ who Terry knows well and was main stay of his team for some time is not even making the bench...so Terry must think those who are in team / on he bench are better? why is that not reflected on pitch?.

I think that had one of the multitude of chances in last Derby had gone in we would have seen whole season transformed via the confidence feel good produced...While Terry has brought something new and some changes I still feel we need that kind of break through to see the best of the squad..

We need to trust terry.He aint gonna change much in a couple of weeks,it will take time.
    Once harris and heffernan are back we should be seeing better performances

Well Lewis Stevenson as a winger isn't a way to sort that one!

Butcher's midfield isn't working - Craig is too deep, Stevenson lacks creativity and Cairney is too slow.

Simple solution is to have Thomson sitting with Craig and Harris (when back) flanking Robertson and supporting the strikers. Stevenson can move to LB or provide midfield depth along with Stanton and one of Taiwo or Tudur-Jones. I'd let the other one leave together with Cairney and bring in a genuine winger to compete with Craig and Harris.
    Mature, sensible signature required for responsible position. Good prospects for the right candidate. Apply within.

He's pissing a lot better with the cock he has than Fenlon did .. So to speak

Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post
    From the BBC

I've a feeling folk might concentrate on the 'fear' aspect but for me the most important point he makes is ...... "You can't repair what's been going on for quite some time here in four or five games. If I did that, it would be miraculous.
    I agree with him, I can see a difference but there's definitely hangovers from the previous regime that look like they're going tae take a while tae get rid of.

Quote Originally Posted by TQM View Post
    To be fair, he's not really. We're not scoring goals or picking up wins, we do attack more I suppose but we don't look like we are going to score.

I think Harris is a great wee player, but we're not half heaping some huge pressure on this lad! Everyone seems to think we're gonna become some sort of contender when he's back!
    Yes, it'll be good to see him back doing what he does best, but we still need someone to pop those crosses and channel balls in the net, and of course another micfielder on the other side, Harris isn't the 15-20 goals a season striker we need so badly.

@hibs.net private member The Modfather's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    Well Lewis Stevenson as a winger isn't a way to sort that one!
    Not easy trying to fit the square pegs Fenlon has left us with into the round holes is it.

Not really,

Fenlon beat partick, st mirren and st johnstone and took a point off celtic in the league as well. So butcher is 7 points down on him.

No player who goes out there should ever lack confidence. If they are, then something is seriously wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibercelona View Post
    No player who goes out there should ever lack confidence. If they are, then something is seriously wrong.
    Happens to bigger and better than us - look at Torres.

Liam Craig is the worst at the moment for me. The players are so careful to keep the ball that every pass is a cert after 2/3 touches, there's no risk taken to beat a man or take the ball in a tight area.

What we'd give for the quality of a Beuzelin or a Shiels and yet some posters here tell you they had 1 good game in 5. What's the ratio for current team?

Quote Originally Posted by matty_f View Post
    To be fair, he's not really. We're not scoring goals or picking up wins, we do attack more I suppose but we don't look like we are going to score.
    The only comparison can be games played as TB's not had the 4 or 5 windows PF had.

Is TB's first few games better or not than PF's?

@hibs.net private member cocopops1875's Avatar
    Utter Pish
    Doing the 2013 Edinburgh half Marathon for McMillan it would be awesome if anyone fancies sponsoring me, http://www.justgiving.com/colin-smith1875 ,go on make a fat man run

Quote Originally Posted by Tyler Durden View Post
    Happens to bigger and better than us - look at Torres.

Liam Craig is the worst at the moment for me. The players are so careful to keep the ball that every pass is a cert after 2/3 touches, there's no risk taken to beat a man or take the ball in a tight area.

What we'd give for the quality of a Beuzelin or a Shiels and yet some posters here tell you they had 1 good game in 5. What's the ratio for current team?
    Quote Originally Posted by cocopops1875 View Post
    Utter Pish
    I don't want any player going out there in a Hibs top who doesn't believe they can win games.

You should never go out onto that pitch lacking confidence or belief.

I don't want any player going out there in a Hibs top who doesn't believe they can win games.

We should also win every game scoring a minimum of 4 goals - I demand nothing less

Quote Originally Posted by Tyler Durden View Post
    We should also win every game scoring a minimum of 4 goals - I demand nothing less
    That's not what i'm saying.

But sending players out in a Hibs top who aren't confident and who are "afraid of winning"?

That just shouldn't happen.

@hibs.net private member ginger_rice's Avatar
    Heard TB on the radio yesterday he identified a lack of pace as something that needs addressing, also said he's looking to get some players in in important positions but wouldn't speculate on where, he also suggested that some "older" players may need to move on.
    "Football should always be played beautifully, you should play in an attacking way, it must be a spectacle". Johan Cruyff.

He's not though is he?

The only comparison can be games played as TB's not had the 4 or 5 windows PF had.

Is TB's first few games better or not than PF's?
    Easiest way is how they both did with this team.

Every team Butcher has played in the league we've had a worse result than the first time we played them.

When Fenlon left we were 6th and 5 points off second place. We are well adrift now. Granted Jimmy Nic had a couple of games in there too.

Every team Butcher has played in the league we've had a worse result than the first time we played them.

When Fenlon left we were 6th and 5 points off second place. We are well adrift now. Granted Jimmy Nic had a couple of games in there too.
    Haha. The man that wouldn't let it lie.

Butcher out, Fenlon in,

@hibs.net private member Heisenberg's Avatar
    Fenlon should have definitely been given another 2 years to make us even slower and more unbalanced, IMO. Butcher out, Fenlon in.

Its embarrassing to defend Fenlon, please, stop.

What should you do?