Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar

FAO HAWKHILL BRANCH PEOPLE Of A Certain Vintage

Hibbyradge, Jonnyboy et al

Interesting photograph in the nostalgic 'Remember When' section of yesterdays EEN (16/11). Well, I hope its of interest.

It shows two young Hibby ladies, setting off for Hampden for the 72 LC Final. The one on the left of the photo, resplendent in her Hibs University Scarf, goes by the name of Maureen Mayworth and I am certain she used to be a regular on the bus in the 1970s. I say certain, because she used to get on with her old boy (Tom) around about Park Grove and the other Stevie and me would have to make room for them (probably would not have been civil to ask her to sit next to auld Wullie Y for three hours mind) and make our way to the radge end of the bus.

Any Hawkhill worthies see the photo or remember her or her pal (Tina Neil according to the EEN)? I will try and get a scan of it up later.

Quote Originally Posted by Hamilton Handling View Post
    Hibbyradge, Jonnyboy et al

Interesting photograph in the nostalgic 'Remember When' section of yesterdays EEN (16/11). Well, I hope its of interest.

It shows two young Hibby ladies, setting off for Hampden for the 72 LC Final. The one on the left of the photo, resplendent in her Hibs University Scarf, goes by the name of Maureen Mayworth and I am certain she used to be a regular on the bus in the 1970s. I say certain, because she used to get on with her old boy (Tom) around about Park Grove and the other Stevie and me would have to make room for them (probably would not have been civil to ask her to sit next to auld Wullie Y for three hours mind) and make our way to the radge end of the bus.

Any Hawkhill worthies see the photo or remember her or her pal (Tina Neil according to the EEN)? I will try and get a scan of it up later.
    I remember Maureen (MacAulay) and Tina travelling to most of the away games during the Tornadoes era.

I remember Maureen and her dad. They used to get on near the Maybury, iirc.

I didn't see the picture in the news though.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    I remember Maureen and her dad. They used to get on near the Maybury, iirc.

I didn't see the picture in the news though.
    Park Grove if we were heading North.
    I will try and get the picture up later - can't seem to find an online link.

Park Grove if we were heading North.
    I will try and get the picture up later - can't seem to find an online link.

I was on that bus as a wee laddie, we got the windows stoved in on the way back. I've still got some glass I took as as keep sake in a wee bottle somewhere.

Quote Originally Posted by c31 View Post
    I was on that bus as a wee laddie, we got the windows stoved in on the way back. I've still got some glass I took as as keep sake in a wee bottle somewhere.
    Our windows were tanned in a few times.

Which game are you referring to?

1972 LC Final -- which is what the thread is about..

i haven't see the photo but Maureen and her dad Tom stayed at Parkgrove for many a year.

Maureen Macaulay was a good friend of my sister's and traveled with her brother Raymond and his pal Ian McLauchan on Maude's bus regularly.

I also traveled at this time with my friends and traveled for many years with Hawkhill Branch .

Quote Originally Posted by c31 View Post
    1972 LC Final -- which is what the thread is about..
    Of course!

Of course!
    we did however get our windae panned in when we visited hunsville,,when the buses used to park at Saint Anthoneys ???[ it was a junior football club],,
    think it was the time when we won 2-1 with a Keith Wright double
    victor

Quote Originally Posted by BT58 View Post
    we did however get our windae panned in when we visited hunsville,,when the buses used to park at Saint Anthoneys ???[ it was a junior football club],,
    victor
    Queen of the South was another I think we either drew or lost a cup game that night. Ally Scott might have scored for us, but I could be confusing games.

A few of our lads got lifted for chasing the folk who had stoned the bus.

Quote Originally Posted by Stantons Angel View Post
    i haven't see the photo but Maureen and her dad Tom stayed at Parkgrove for many a year.

Maureen Macaulay was a good friend of my sister's and traveled with her brother Raymond and his pal Ian McLauchan on Maude's bus regularly.

I also traveled at this time with my friends and traveled for many years with Hawkhill Branch .
    Well, if Maureen McAuley and Maureen Mayworth are one and the same (?), I hope she is well and remembers enjoying the comfort of my seat with such regularity.

I will try and get the photo up as its definitely the Maureen Mayworth I am thinking of and I hope she remains a good Hibby!

Queen of the South was another I think we either drew or lost a cup game that night. Ally Scott might have scored for us, but I could be confusing games.

A few of our lads got lifted for chasing the folk who had stoned the bus.
    I think we drew and lost at ER?
    We certainly went out over two legs.
    Don't remember the arrests as my 13 year old erse would be under a seat.

victor
    We were also fortunate enough to partake in a swally or two at the same place!

do you know if auld wullie is still with us
    always remember him getting my fish supper at Stonehaven, we had just stopped off fae the dons game,,the lass asked if i wanted all on my supper
    to my horror when i got on bus and opened up,,YEUCK tomato sauce,,auld wullie gladly accepted it,,i think it was only on the bus that he got fed
    victor

I think we drew and lost at ER?
    We certainly went out over two legs.
    Don't remember the arrests as my 13 year old erse would be under a seat.
    Aye, we drew then lost at home.

Mad Mike and Graeme Jackson at least got nicked.

always remember him getting my fish supper at Stonehaven, we had just stopped off fae the dons game,,the lass asked if i wanted all on my supper
    to my horror when i got on bus and opened up,,YEUCK tomato sauce,,auld wullie gladly accepted it,,i think it was only on the bus that he got fed
    victor
    That was our first "Official Stop" on the way home.

Left by mutual consent! Phil D. Rolls's Avatar
    Were you allowed to talk to females on the Hawkhill bus. I used to get the impression that communication with each other was banned.

Aye, we drew then lost at home.

Mad Mike and Graeme Jackson at least got nicked.
    Mike was only recently telling me about Graeme Jackson's demise. I had no idea. One of quite a few that I consider role models to this day.

victor
    Stonehaven was a brilliant stop, as was Strathaven on other trips.

I would doubt that Wullie is kicking about still.

He did a wee spell minding the door at the Hibs Club during quiet midweeks, but I have not seen him in a few years and the last time I did he didn't look in the best fettle.
    Mind you, he never looked too great in 1976.

Him and his muckers were tremendous auld Hibbies though.

Quote Originally Posted by Filled Rolls View Post
    Were you allowed to talk to females on the Hawkhill bus. I used to get the impression that communication with each other was banned.
    We all had long hair back then so Maude didnae notice

I remember both Maureen and Tina well. Stalwarts on our bus back then

Ian McLauchlan still travels far and wide with the Hibs. I met him recently in Malmo

One other thing - Maude always sat next to a lovely elderly lady, Mrs Currie. Anyone remember her?
    This is how it feels

Mummy of 3 and hibee through and through MichelleHibs's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post
    We all had long hair back then so Maude didnae notice

I remember both Maureen and Tina well. Stalwarts on our bus back then

Ian McLauchlan still travels far and wide with the Hibs. I met him recently in Malmo

One other thing - Maude always sat next to a lovely elderly lady, Mrs Currie. Anyone remember her?
    That he does! Heard many a story from dad about the bus!!
    Cameron, Chloe and Lewis....
    The Most Precious Gifts in the World

Quote Originally Posted by MichelleHibs View Post
    That he does! Heard many a story from dad about the bus!!
    Any involving me are untrue Michelle
    This is how it feels

Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post
    Any involving me are untrue Michelle
    Haha!! Believe you thousands wouldn't :)

First Team Breakthrough Risboro Hibby's Avatar
    Our windows were tanned in a few times.

Which game are you referring to?
    I travelled every game with Hawkhill and Mrs Mac during the early seventies. I remember our bus getting stoned coming back from the 72 final. It meant we were late back and missed the open top bus parade and scenes outside the North British now Balmoral where the team showed off the cup

I remember Mrs Currie very well, she was a lovely, smiling wee woman who used to accompany Maude everywhere.

She passed away some 20 yrs back and was badly missed by Maude.

A friend is writing a book at the moment and i have given him some tales of their antics at games, memories of which should raise a smile from those involved.

They were both stalwarts of that bus travelling to all away games for many years, both gone but have left so many happy memories.

Its the done thing to scoff at travelling on that bus but there has been hundreds of kids who would not have
    been allowed to go to games away from home unless they were going on Maude's bus. that's the trust the parents placed in her with the safety of their sons and daughters. (mine included)

These are the adults of today and its nice that there are still so many with good memories of the days they used to travel with Hawkhill.

I remember Mrs Currie very well, she was a lovely, smiling wee woman who used to accompany Maude everywhere.

A friend is writing a book at the moment and i have given him some tales of their antics at games, memories of which should raise a smile from those involved.

They were both stalwarts of that bus travelling to all away games for many years, both gone but have left so many happy memories.

Its the done thing to scoff at travelling on that bus but there has been hundreds of kids who would not have
    been allowed to go to games away from home unless they were going on Maude's bus. that's the trust the parents placed in her with the safety of their sons and daughters. (mine included)

These are the adults of today and its nice that there are still so many with good memories of the days they used to travel with Hawkhill.

yip my dads often told me that! i remember Maude fondly from the hibs club.

good memories of auld Maud in the Hibs club. she nipped yer heid until you bought a raffle ticket, or anything relating to her branch or a charity. one of the greatest Hibernian fans though.was sad to hear about her getting hit by a car? in Corrie, a few years back but even sadder to hear she is now gone.

Too true, my Dad was a Hearts supporter, so I relied on a neighbour, who was a hibs steward to take me to the home games when I was very young. I was pretty street wise and soon made it on my own and not long after that I was allowed to travel and it was with Mrs Mac. I remember going to Liverpool as a 13 year old and heading straight to school when we got back on the Wednesday morning.
    Last edited by Ray_; 18-11-2013 at 07:56 AM.